Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Average Rating:

    354 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 354

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2011

      This was really good! Here's what I did after reading a lot of the reviews:
      I added 2 ribs of celery, diced; 1/2 Cup tomato paste (ketchup is too sweet for me); 2 eggs; 2 Tbsp Demitri's Bloody Mary mix and 3 cloves garlic. The mix looked like meat! I then cooked it in my cast iron pan in the oven for 45 minutes, but it needed longer so more like 55 minutes. Very yummy recipe, thank you so much! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      This was really good! My carnivore husband was very surprised to enjoy it so much. I used 1 1/2 lentils, because I wasn't sure I would have enough for the 5 of us, and I am glad I used more. There was barely any left! I kept the oats the same, and upped the sauce and seasoning. My lentils cooked for almost 45 mins, and they did not cook quite enough, a little too al dente. Next time I will make sure they are really well done for texture's sake (it was a little chewy). And I will add a little olive oil, because it was rather dry. But it was very nice to find a good loaf recipe that isn't dripping in fat, and its so much CHEAPER!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2011

      A really good base for a lentil loaf. Here are the changes I made: Used Ener-G egg replacer instead of egg and Daiya cheese instead of cow milk cheese (Vegan power activate!) Used a half onion and substituted the other half for a diced jalapeno, seeds included. Used tomato paste instead of sauce. Used the parsley and the basil, but replaced the black pepper with cayenne, and added red pepper flakes and some garlic salt. For the top, I used a mix of barbeque sauce, ketchup, and spicy brown mustard. Very good, Will definitely make again. Maybe next time using some Mama Nacho's Ultimate Vegan Queso. Or... I know! Some ghost pepper salsa used on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2004

      Having given up meat many years ago, one of the things I've missed the most is meat loaf. In my original meat loaf recipe I used cheese and oats, a package of Lipton's dried onion soup mix and ketchup so I replaced the onion that was called for with the soup mix and the tomato sauce with the ketchup. Not only did it look like meat loaf, but it tasted like the real thing. Next time I'm going to stay at the low end of the cooking time as it was a bit dry, but still delicious. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      This was great! I loved it! I did only use a third of an onion and 2 cloves of garlic instead of powder. Also I added a little bit of green bell, fresh jalapeño, and some Worcestershire sc. I will make again and probably add more bell and jalapeño. Soooo good!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      There is a reason this recipe gets so many great reviews...it's fantastic! A keeper! Even DH admitted he enjoyed it. I used red lentils and they cooked so perfectly that they barely needed mashing with a potato masher. I read other reviewers' comments first so I felt comfortable throwing in about 3 oz of shiitake mushrooms that needed using up (this worked really well) when I added the onions, added the extra egg for moisture (perfect), mixed a favorite BBQ sauce that needed using with 4.5 oz of tomato sauce, then used the rest of the originally 8 oz tomato sauce can over the top of the meatloaf 20 minutes into cooking. The result was a really delicious meatloaf with excellent consistency. Served with a salad. I will be making this many times to come. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Wow! I absolutely HAD to try this recipe since it has lentils in it, which I like a lot (even though I was getting bored with lentil soup). This recipe has plenty of protein. I recently went vegetarian - at age 50. This is a terrific recipe... I added more veggies to mine and used old fashioned oats since that's what I had on hand, worked just fine. I will be making this again, and again! Looks like it will freeze well too. So glad I found it and this site!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      This was unbelievably yummy!! My husband ate it and if he likes it, it must be good. Will maybe add a packet of onion soup next time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      I cooked it for the first time tonight. I modified the recipe a little: instead of the tomato sauce, I made a sauce with ketchup, organic soy sauce, organic molasses, and vegetable broth (to keep it moist). I used tinned lentils, 2 eggs instead of 1, 3 big cloves of garlic, fresh basil, and added a couple of veggie wieners, all of which I blended in the food processor. In the last 10 minutes of baking, I also drizzled some more sauce made with ketchup and honey on top. It was delicious by itself, but an alternative would be to cut down on the sodium in the sauce that goes in the meatloaf, but make a mushroom gravy to serve on the side. The meatloaf cooked evenly in a 9x5 inch loaf pan and is about 1.5 in. high. You could easily double the ingredients and make a full-size loaf (but it is very rich as it is which makes the smaller portions appealing). We had it with a Romaine heart salad and were very happy with it. Thank you for posting the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      Good basic recipe. Used tomatoe paste and a little liquid smoke, Used 1/4 c parmesan and reduced the cheddar and substituted fresh herbs for the dried as well as garlic for the garlic salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      I am taking a nutrition class and it recommended making lentil meatloaf. I have never had lentils before and am a big time meat eater. I typed vegetarian meatloaf into a search engine and this is what popped up. It is DELICIOUS!!! I am so excited to have found it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      I was skeptical, even after reading all the good reviews. But, this meatloaf is really tasty. I followed the recipe exactly except that I put some bbq sauce on top before I baked it. Yummy. I will make this recipe again and again. Can't wait to try it on a sandwich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      My whole family (which consists of a sixteen month old and husband) really enjoyed this recipe. My husband even said that he liked it better than our "regular" meat meatloaf.
      Very tasty, but I'll need to adjust the seasonings next time as I think it was lacking a bit in the flavor department.
      I cooked it for 45 minutes with some diced onions and marinara on top which really helped with the overall taste.
      Overall, a great vegetarian recipe that will be added to our regular rotation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      This recipe is so, so delicious. Even my super carnivorous, veggie hating boyfriend loved it and asked for seconds. Thank you so much for this excellent recipe!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      We all love this recipe. But, I do make a few changes. I use ketchup instead of spaghetti sauce, add 1 envelope of dry onion soup mix, and omit the seasoning salt and chopped onion. Wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      This was pretty tasty. Not sure that it tasted like meatloaf, but it was a dish I would make again. I think it would be great , as another reviewer suggested, as a filling for stuffed cabbage. I did add a handful of bread crumbs- the only change I made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      As with all recipes, I did make some amendments according to personal taste. I used cooked brown rice instead of the oats and added about 5 finely chopped cremini mushrooms. I also added garlic to the cooking lentils (green) and blended in food processor with a little extra water. I also used 2 eggs and a little extra tomato sauce (homemade of course!). Cooked in mini loaves and was super delish! Served with mashed potatoes and a drizzle of extra tomato sauce on top. My hubby (who was skeptical when I told him what I was making) has already had 2 servings :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      @ Pale Rose--what altitude are you at? That can affect your recipe. Are you using quick-cooking oats? That's another factor that's really important with this. The last solve I know of is to use rice (parboil it) instead of oats to absorb some of that excess moisture you are having trouble with. Cooking for longer results in the same problem we had with our mom's meatloaves as kids: it'll dry out. This is a REALLY great recipe and you deserve to have it come out the way that many of the other readers are experiencing it. I'm not sure what the final 'solve' will be for you, but I can honestly say that as an ex-chef, this is an example of "food magic" that I've always striven to achieve. Give it another try and let us know what worked for you-it'll help us all out. I'm sure you are not the only one who has experienced this, and it's gotta be frustrating to see all these high marks and not get the same result.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Loved it! I blended the lentils with a little water, which gave it a smooth texture. Easy to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      This was really yummy! I found the lentils a bit hard to mash well, but the end result was fantastic! I substituted the garlic powder for minced garlic, and also added a dash of Kitchen Bouquet, a dash of Gourmet Pepper Seasoning and a dash of Tabasco to the mix. In the last 10 minutes of baking, I basted the top with some brown sugar BBQ sauce for a traditional 'meat loaf' feel. It doesn't really taste like Meatloaf per se, but I think it's better. It is extremely filling and a little goes a long way! Thanks for sharing :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.9
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    25%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 69.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 812.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 17.7 g
    70%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites