365 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe so much. I have been making it for a couple of years now and realized I had forgot to review it. First off, I am the only vegetarian in my household. My husband is a big meat eater and he loved this recipe. My aunt is on Weight Watchers so she likes when I cook vegetarian meals. Needless to say she said she would never eat real meatloaf again. I leave out the parsley, basil and spaghetti sauce. Instead I use ketchup and BBQ sauce. I love putting in onions, mushrooms and red peppers. As for previous reviewers, just keep an eye on your lentils while they cook. If you find that they are starting to soften quicker than expected, stop cooking and use them at that state. Everyone's stoves and ingredients differ so just keep an eye out.
EDIT: I used the glaze from my recipe (http://www.food.com/recipe/holiday-glazed-meatloaf-446263) and it completed the dish!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Girl Kacey January 22, 2011

I made this but changed a few things. Instead of using dried lentils I used two cans of 15oz pre-cooked lentils and proceeded to step 6 in the recipe. I used 2 eggs and onion powder instead of onions since my daughter does not like to see onions in her food. I cooked it in a cast iron bread pan for exactly 45 minutes and it turned out perfect! It was moist and held it's shape nicely. My daughter drizzled hers with barbecue sauce and I just ate it plain. It is also good cold for breakfast the next morning.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Green Bird October 17, 2010

This is delicious! I substituted yellow split peas for half of the lentils and omitted the cheese entirely. I usually soak the lentils for a few hours earlier in the day just to make the dinner prep time faster. Love this recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yummycashews June 08, 2010

This was so awesome! Great recipe! I added some worcestershire sauce and a vegetable bouillon cube to the tomato sauce and topped it with ketchup about 20 minutes before it was done and man was it delicious! My kids were crazy about it and they can be pretty picky! Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karabre75 March 25, 2011

Great recipe! I used red lentils, 2 eggs and added celery, 2 tbsp of worcestershire sauce, 1/2 cup of whole wheat breat crumbs and 1/4 cup milk. I left out the tomato sauce. Baked it for 45 min and covered it in salsa for the last 15 min. Just as good as traditional meatloaf!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen M. December 17, 2010

I made this recipe tonight. It was delish with a capital D. I agree with adding BBQ sauce with the tomato sauce to give it more of a meatloaf flavor.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegalish October 01, 2011

I'm really excited about this recipe. Made it tonight as written and it was very good. I'm not a vegitarian, but like to eat healthfully. I'm looking forward to adding grated carrots, celery and experimenting with seasonings. Thanks so much for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview March 18, 2011

Very good! I also put bbq sauce on top.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirramar March 03, 2011

This is the BEST vegetarian meatloaf I have ever eaten! I'm pitching out my old recipes and just keeping this one. I added chopped red pepper and ketchup to mine as suggested by other readers. And I also spread some ketchup on the top right before I baked it. Delish!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlee #2 February 20, 2011

Amazing!!! I completely forgot the egg and the cheese, so I guess if you wanted to make this a vegan recipe, you totally could. Either way, you HAVE to try this recipe. I'm not vegetarian or vegan and neither is my boyfriend, but we both LOVED it. I'll have to try to remember the egg and cheese next time, tho. Can't wait!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcrsings October 12, 2012
Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)