Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Average Rating:

    357 Total Reviews

    Showing 301-320 of 357

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2007

    • on October 13, 2007

      I would rate this 4.5 stars if I could. This had great flavor, was very easy to put together, and is pretty healthy, too. I would have preferred a little more texture, as this came out too soft (almost mushy) for my taste. Maybe I cooked the lentils for too long, or didn't drain them well enough. I'll be making this again; maybe next time I'll add some chopped nuts or something. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I had to make a few changes to this - no cheese, no loaf pan - but it turned out to be pretty tasty. I wanted to cover it in ketchup like mom did with her meaty meatloaves, but didn't have enough. It doesn't taste like a meatloaf, but it is still delicious. I will be making this again after I buy that pesky loaf pan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      Wow!! What a delicious alternative to meatloaf. I followed the recipe exactly, but my loaf came out rather moist. I had a difficult time getting it out of my baking pan. No matter though, it tasted great. I served it with a homemade mushroom gravy and that just complimented it perfectly! Thanks Sara!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      This was really good. I made mine with red lentils and chili sauce instead of spaghetti or tomato. It was delicious. I will definitely make this for dinners with my non-veg family members. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      What can i say? This is absolutely the BEST!!! It was absolutely delicious!!!!!!!! It actually taste like a real meatloaf. However, i added the double amounf of sauce...half BBQ sauce half ketchup. You won't be disspointed with this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      10 stars!!! I will make this over and over and over again! I tried to get the meat eating guests to convince my husband that this DIDN'T taste like real meat. They REFUSED!!! It was moist, delicious, I had no idea that lentils could be so flavorful. Didn't even feel the oats in there but WOW WOW WOW!! I used mozerella cheese and it was delish! Went well with the sause which NO ONE COULD detect was in there. I guess the trick is picking out the right sause. I also used fresh garlic. I also put a splash more water in with the lentils and took them off the heat well under the time mentioned...as soon as they mushed easily with a fork. Oh, and I used extra sause. Maybe nearly twice as much as the recipe called for. I wanted to err on the side of moistness and it was a good move. I couldn't get enough of this. All the guests had seconds (though the vegetarians were a bit creeped out by its "authentic" taste) and it is already gone, despite the fact that it was supposed to last a few days for left overs. It didn't. Had it for shabbat dinner and by lunch time it was totally gone, and just as tasty reheated as the first bite. Probably would freeze like a dream. I cooked it at a super high heat at the end, leaving a bit mushy of a middle. But consistancy wise it was really terrific and the mushiness was just slight. I seemed to be the only person to notice. Really, I can't rave about this enough. An absolutly FANTASTIC recipe that I want to make tomorrow. I can't believe it is so healthy! WOW! WOW WOW WOW YUM YUM YUM!!! One of the top recipes at the Zaar!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      Great tasting!!! It turned out a little runny and I had to bake it for an extra 20 minutes.. but that may be because I doubled the sauce. Regardless, it turned out fantastic, and I will be making this often! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I LOVE this "meat"loaf! Its so easy to make, healthy, and really cheap too. I make it with BBQ sauce, and rolled oats,(not the quick cooking ones) and a huge bunch of fresh parsley - good for the veggos, & it always turns out great. We always have it with steamed green beans and carrots on the side :) Thank you so much for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      Excellent! I have made this twice now, and ALL people I have made it for(approx. 15) love it! As mentioned previously, I sub'ed bbq sauce for half of the tomato sauce. I also added celery. I then mixed some honey and bbq sauce and served it with the loaf. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      This was surprisingly yummy! It was easy to prepare and turned out to have such great flavour! My DH loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      This was a really good lentil loaf. I used red lentils and followed others suggestions to use half tomato sauce and half bbq sauce. Everyone in my family really enjoyed it, but agreed it was 4 stars. I think this would taste even better with chopped walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      I have had the hardest time finding a lentil loaf that my dear, carnivorous boyfriend would eat. This is the one. It was fantastic. I followed a suggestion by another reader and made a glaze of ketchup & honey to put on top before baking. Yummmmm! Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      thanks for a great recipe! i added 1/4 packet of onion soup which brought out really nice flavour. also, rather than meatloaf i think it tasted like a great lentil loaf. definitely making it again. good for the stomach^^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      This was great tasting and super easy! I followed the instructions just as they were listed and it was perfect. The spaghetti sauce gives it a nice italian kick. What a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This was a really good lentil loaf. I sauteed the onion and added green pepper as well. Instead of oats I uses a "hot cereal" mix (oats, barley, etc). I liked this even better the next day- I think maybe because the texture was a bit different. Next time I'll sub soy cheese for regular cheese and use a cornstarch/water mix instead of the egg. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This was *really good* as advertised! I also substituted ketchup for the tomato sauce. Because of my husband's restrictive diet I removed the salt and seasoning salt and substituted soy cheese for the real cheese. It was still good! Try it! Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Thanks for the "really good vegetarian meatloaf" recipe it was well...really good! Everyone loved it, my dad was a little put off by the name at first (being very much a fan of meat) but was soon won over by the taste! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      I loved this "meatloaf" that I made this for the second time, and this time I tried cutting down the liquid a bit as it was a bit too moist the last time. I used canned lentils and this time I made sure to squeeze as much liquid out of them as I could. I also used a really thick tomato sauce, around 1/4 cup, and 1/4 cup of thick BBQ sauce. I also sauteed my onions (with some garlic) before adding it to my mixture, and that really helped since the onions didn't really cook the first time, so they were still crunchy when the loaf was done. I also added some extra BBQ sauce and cheese on top, and it came out beautifully. This is definitely a favourite of mine, and it's great when there's no meat ready for the night, or when you just want something healthier but equally tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      I love when I find something easy, tasty, and uber-healthy to cook for my family! I made it pretty much exactly to the recipe, except I used rolled oats as I don't keep quick oats on hand. So to make up for this I used about 7 oz tomato sauce and added BBQ sauce to make 1 cup. Next time I will use 4 oz tomato sauce and 2 oz BBQ, as it was a little too moist and the BBQ didn't really "come through". I really enjoyed the texture of this. I used whole green lentils, would be interesting to know what type was originally intended by the recipe as it does make a difference to cooking times and consistency. Thanks, SaraFish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.9
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    25%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 69.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 812.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 17.7 g
    70%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites