366 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious. I used this as a base and made it my own using celery, carrots, garlic, bbq sauce, a little half and half. My mom doesn't generally like "faux-meat" anything and she said she would eat this again (that's a huge compliment coming from her). I was concerned that this would dry out so I baked it in a water bath and it was plenty moist. Thanks for this recipe. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fish_hed April 04, 2010

strangely yummy! I put ketchup on top of mine the last 5 minutes, but think that marinara would be yummier

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Foodie for life! March 29, 2010

Super delicious! I didn't have parsley so I used oregano, which tasted lovely with the spaghetti sauce. Also, judging by some other reviews, I decided to put a little more sauce in. It turned out a bit crumbly but very tasty and the texture was great. Thanks so much for sharing--this one is going in our regular file! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Lawrence March 21, 2010

Make this as directed, except I used 1-16oz can of lentils instead of cooking them. DH loved this recipe and ask for it again. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. March 20, 2010

This was my first try at a real vegetarian recipe(I've recently made the switch from meat lover to veggie lover) and I was so pleased that it turned out great and was tasty! Great flavours, textures....Very Yummy. I did make a couple of changes as suggested by others who have tried this recipe before me. I used one clove of garlic instead of garlic powder. I added celery and mixed in some ketchup (along with putting some on top of the entire loaf once in the pan). I also added more pasta sauce then it called for as like others I like my loaf moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Deva March 16, 2010

This is a really good recipe but I wouldn't go as far as to say it tastes like meatloaf. I substituted the tomato sauce for pizza sauce because that was all I had on hand. I will definitely be making this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Girl. March 16, 2010

Great recipe, thanks!!! My meat-loving husband had thirds (!!!) tonight... I did the BBQ thing other reviewers suggested, but might try the spaghetti sauce next time. Also used fresh herbs instead of dried and added some grated carrot. My kids have said, they want this 'all the time'. No doubt a future regular at our dinner table!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hilke kocht! March 10, 2010

Love the slightly cheesy taste! Mine turned out nice and moist. Instead of quick oats I ground some rolled oats. I added celery and worcestershire sauce. Next time I'll add about 8 oz of sliced creminis and cook the onion, celery and mushrooms first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian In Atlanta March 09, 2010

I found this recipe to be dry and crumbly. I wanted to make something to put on sandwiches, but the only way I'm going to be able to serve this is with some gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Newton March 09, 2010
Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)