Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Average Rating:

    354 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 354

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2002

      The basic recipe is great. I added celery, red onion and mixed BBQ sauce with the tomato sauce to make it even better. I know sell it in my store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      I have made this about 5 times now. Every time it's happily eaten by vegetarians and carnivores alike. When I mash the lentils I use my blender and add water to get a mashed potato like consistency. I think this is why it turns out a little more moist. It also helps to put some sauce over the top when you have about twenty minutes left in cooking it. Thank you for the recipe.
      Update: Since writing this review I have tried the following things and they have turned out great.
      1.) I've occasionally added another egg, although I felt guilty about the extra fat.
      2.) I've added chopped celery,carrots, mushrooms as suggested by other reviewers.
      3.) In addition, and sometimes in place of the cheddar cheese , I added Parmesan cheese.
      4.) Per suggestion of my girlfriend, I use a hand mixer instead of the blender now. She said she preferred some lentils still in tact for texture. I usually cook the lentils until they are very easy to smash, so that the mixer can handle the load.
      I just thought I'd share how versatile and forgiving this recipe is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      very good recipe! I mash lentils in food processor and add an extra egg to keep loaf sticking together. i find the extra egg increased the moisture as well. my husband loves though not a vegetarian. have made it twice already :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      This is fantastic! I had to add a LOT more water (4 cups total) to get thing to come out right, but I'm using brown lentils (lots more fiber) and old fashioned rolled oats, not quick oats, so that may be the reason. I made some substitutions (like most other folks): I went vegan, replacing the eggs with milled flax seed & water and omitting the cheese, swapped 2/3rds cup ketchup for the spaghetti sauce, a small dash of extra virgin olive oil to help retain moisture in the fridge, and used "Italian Seasoning Mix" instead of just dried oregano (this was all on my second batch). Meatloaf is one thing I've hesitated to make since going vegetarian because I love "real" meatloaf so much, but this is better than any "real" meatloaf I've had (don't tell Mama!). This recipe would also probably hold up good enough to make meatballs or even crumbled "beef" replacement for other things ... probably wouldn't hold up too well in chili unless you add it just before serving, but would probably work for other things like no-meat Hamburger Helper. I'll try it out in those other areas ... if it works, that would be great, a much more reasonably priced beef alternative than the pre-packaged stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      Delicious!! I used Amy's lentil soup in place of lentils which cut the prep time down by half. I used a muffin pan and topped each mini loaf with a mixture of ketchup, honey and brown sugar during the last ten minutes of baking. This is by far the best veggie loaf I've ever eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      (really!) good 'meatloaf'. I also added the celery and bbq sauce, and it turned out really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Also makes great burgers! Prebake the patties for a few minutes and they will hold up on the grill fairly well, too. Like many other reviewers, even my carnivore friends loved them :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I used this recipe as a filling for stuffed cabbage. It turned out very well. 3 of 12 guests are vegetarian. I increased the lentils to 1-1/2 cups and added about a 1/2 cup of rice. I did not put the sauce in the mixture since stuffed cabbages are cooked in the sauce. I will make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      This recipe shines as a leftover dish. As a lentil-loaf sandwich, this is fantastic! Wheat bread, mayo and a slice of american cheese...yum, yum! I ate it for lunch for a week and couldn't get enough of it. :-P

      AND THAT'S NOT ALL: Another use for leftovers: Crumble up the lentil-loaf, toss with cooked rotini pasta, pasta sauce and shredded cheese. Bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes. Delicious!



      Substitutions: mix of red/yellow onion, added carrots (not recommended), pizza sauce instead of plain tomato.

      Recommendation: I find lentils come out better (less tough, easier to mash) if you boil them without salt. For dry lentils, boil 1 1/2 to 2 cups water (w/o salt!), add 1 cup dry lentils and bring to boil again. Reduce heat and simmer for 20-25 minutes. The lentils should have absorbed most of the water and will be fairly easy to mash with a spoon. You don't necessarily need to add any salt to this recipe, but add it back in with the eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      This is the most delicious thing ever! I made it 3 times in the past 2 weeks, because it's THAT good. It's very easy too. I used the Amy's lentil vegetable soup that someone else suggested in one of the reviews. I pour that into a bowl & mash it up. I used 3 big cloves of garlic instead of the onion. I also added barbecue sauce to the mixture (just a tablespoon). This method with the soup cuts the time down greatly. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      I love this recipe so much. I have been making it for a couple of years now and realized I had forgot to review it. First off, I am the only vegetarian in my household. My husband is a big meat eater and he loved this recipe. My aunt is on Weight Watchers so she likes when I cook vegetarian meals. Needless to say she said she would never eat real meatloaf again. I leave out the parsley, basil and spaghetti sauce. Instead I use ketchup and BBQ sauce. I love putting in onions, mushrooms and red peppers. As for previous reviewers, just keep an eye on your lentils while they cook. If you find that they are starting to soften quicker than expected, stop cooking and use them at that state. Everyone's stoves and ingredients differ so just keep an eye out.
      EDIT: I used the glaze from my recipe (http://www.food.com/recipe/holiday-glazed-meatloaf-446263) and it completed the dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      I made this but changed a few things. Instead of using dried lentils I used two cans of 15oz pre-cooked lentils and proceeded to step 6 in the recipe. I used 2 eggs and onion powder instead of onions since my daughter does not like to see onions in her food. I cooked it in a cast iron bread pan for exactly 45 minutes and it turned out perfect! It was moist and held it's shape nicely. My daughter drizzled hers with barbecue sauce and I just ate it plain. It is also good cold for breakfast the next morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This is delicious! I substituted yellow split peas for half of the lentils and omitted the cheese entirely. I usually soak the lentils for a few hours earlier in the day just to make the dinner prep time faster. Love this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      This was so awesome! Great recipe! I added some worcestershire sauce and a vegetable bouillon cube to the tomato sauce and topped it with ketchup about 20 minutes before it was done and man was it delicious! My kids were crazy about it and they can be pretty picky! Thanks so much for this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Great recipe! I used red lentils, 2 eggs and added celery, 2 tbsp of worcestershire sauce, 1/2 cup of whole wheat breat crumbs and 1/4 cup milk. I left out the tomato sauce. Baked it for 45 min and covered it in salsa for the last 15 min. Just as good as traditional meatloaf!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      I made this recipe tonight. It was delish with a capital D. I agree with adding BBQ sauce with the tomato sauce to give it more of a meatloaf flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      I'm really excited about this recipe. Made it tonight as written and it was very good. I'm not a vegitarian, but like to eat healthfully. I'm looking forward to adding grated carrots, celery and experimenting with seasonings. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Very good! I also put bbq sauce on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      This is the BEST vegetarian meatloaf I have ever eaten! I'm pitching out my old recipes and just keeping this one. I added chopped red pepper and ketchup to mine as suggested by other readers. And I also spread some ketchup on the top right before I baked it. Delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      Amazing!!! I completely forgot the egg and the cheese, so I guess if you wanted to make this a vegan recipe, you totally could. Either way, you HAVE to try this recipe. I'm not vegetarian or vegan and neither is my boyfriend, but we both LOVED it. I'll have to try to remember the egg and cheese next time, tho. Can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 18

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.9
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    25%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 69.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 812.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 17.7 g
    70%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites