34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for lunch yesterday and definately a recipe to go into my Favorites of 2010. The ease and taste yummmmm. I used cream of mushroom soup (might try broccoli next time) and added some garlic powder and as a previous reviewer did I used fresh broccoli (cooked till almost tender) and mashed some of the broccoli with a potato masher but left some chunks of broccoli because we like to have some in the soup. Thank you for a good recipe. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag game. P.S. Didn't realize I made and reviewed this already and picked it for Let's Party December 2010 tag game. I made it last night and this time I minced some onion and added to the broccoli while it simmered. Definately a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf April 23, 2011

Yummy, Yummy. I was looking for a quick recipie to use up my broccoli. I always seem to have good intentions about using the whole head but rarely...ok...never do. So haveing this recipe in my box is great because it means less composted broccoli in our house, and I intend to freeze it into tupperware to take to work.

I used the cream of chicken, and instead of cheddar I used some gouda that was also not going to all get eaten this week either:0) MUCHO PERFECTO!

Yea! thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jgreenlaw April 22, 2011

Great recipie. I added sauteed onion and garlic plus substituted a jar of store-purchased alfredo sauce for the soup. It was great. I replaced 1/2cup of milk with 1/2cup of half-half cream too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
S Smith April 04, 2009

Very quick and easy to make. Even better with cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 February 26, 2013

What an easy and tasty recipe. Had a bunch of broccoli waiting in the crisper. Do or die time. Made a wonderful lunch with crisp breadsticks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCrawford August 15, 2012

I had fresh broccoli to use up, so I combined the water and butter and cooked the broccoli in it, then combined with the other ingredients. I used a can of cream of broccoli soup, and was out of milk so used fat free half & half. Also used Crystal Farms fat free cheddar. Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug February 27, 2012

This is a great, simple recipe! I've tried a few broccoli soup recipes, and this is my favorite (and the easiest) so far! I used Campbell's low fat cream of mushroom, and only blended it for a few seconds, so it was quite chunky. Served it with cheesy biscuits, and it made a great Saturday night dinner. Will definitely make this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy032 March 04, 2010

This was delicious. doubled recipe and picked 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of broccoli. For the cheese i used mix of cheddar and velveeta. Did imulsion blender to puree. Was excellent. Put in my Bread Bowls for Soup (Or for Anything)! bread bowls for anything. Is a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellyko October 25, 2009

Yum! Everyone loved it. Next time I will double the recipe. I used a frozen 16 oz bag of broc. and cream of mushroom soup. Oh, I skipped the cheese; but, I bet that would make it unbelievable!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tofulove September 26, 2009

You aren't joking when you say Really Easy -it is! I used one cup milk and 1/4 cup half and half. Otherwise, there is nothing else to change-DH & I both loved this comfort soup! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.R September 15, 2009
Really Easy Broccoli Soup