16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had been watching an episode on T.V about deep dish pizzas. I had to have one. This recipe was just what I was looking for. I made this last night for the family. The crust turned out great. I did make the crust in my bread machine. I used my cheesecake pan to make the pizza in instead of my cast iron. My DH said that it was a little watery but it still tasted great. That was not recipes' fault but mine because I wanted so many toppings. I used two types of cheese, mozzarella and provolone. I did not use pepperoni. Instead, I used Italian sausage and ground beef seasoned with season salt and garlic powder with chopped onion and minced garlic thrown in. Everyone was full and happy last night. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agiolam June 13, 2010

I love this dough recipe. It's a regular in our house. I bake the dough for 12 to 15 minutes to thicken/firm it up. Then add the toppings then the cheese. Bake for 15 minutes then pull it out add sauce on top for pseudo sicilian style and bake for 5 more minutes. Wonderful. Thank you again for posting. On a side note I add italian herbs to the crust and garlic salt instead of reg salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
random witty name December 21, 2009

What a pizza! I made this in two 9 inch cake pans and ended up baking it for 30 minutes. I used all the toppings listed except for the shrooms and I added sausage and red bell peppers and used a home made sauce. My family devoured it! The crust is very flavorful and held up good considering the amount of toppings piled onto it. I am planning to make this often. Thanks so much for sharing this excellent pizza! ~~~UPDATE~~~ I make this all the time, but this time I made it a stuffed crust deep dish pizza by using sring cheese. It was perhaps the best pizza we have ever had, home made or bought. Again, many thanks for sharing!~~~~ANOTHER UPDATE~~~~Three years after I posted my first review of this recipe, this is STILL one of my family favorites. I strongly urge everyone to try this recipe!! Really! Go on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina June 07, 2013

I followed the directions except that I layered the dough with tomato sauce, then mozzerella, topped with red onion, spinach, and pepperoni, then another layer of mozzerella and kept it in the oven for about 10 minutes longer since I wanted the top layer of cheese to brown a bit. It was absolutely delicious so much so that my boyfriend wanted me to make it again for lunch today! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I can't wait to use other toppings with it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heejin November 20, 2009

This dough recipe was awesome. I was a little leary at first that it would not cook all the way through. I left it in the oven for 30 min and then broiled to brown the cheese another 3-4 min. I would not season the ground beef with chili peper next time or use as much , maybe half a lb. This will be one of my fav crust to use!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OSheri September 30, 2008

Excellent Pizza. I made this for my girls and myself for dinner and we ate almost the whole pizza. I made a small part of just onion, mushrooms and black olives for myself and the other part with just pepperoni for the girls. I had everything on hand to make this which is a plus also. We will make this again. thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 August 23, 2008

This was AWESOME!! I would give it 10 stars if I could. I guess I'm only rating the crust and the concept because I totally changed the toppings, but still I was MMMMMMING all through dinner. I halved the crust recipe and used an 8x8 pan. After I pressed it into the pan, I sprinkled it with additional parmesan, italian seasoning and a little bit of red salt. For toppings, I used just a little pizza sauce (I was worried too much would make it too soupy), pepperoni and mushrooms. SO GOOD! I will be making this often - thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shera_23 April 10, 2008

Wow. This is amazing pizza for a quarter the cost of delivery and half the cost of frozen. I will never buy premade again! Four stars because I changed it a bit. I used half whole grain flour/half all purpose. Also, I used my marinara sauce similar to the easy peesy one mentioned below. My only complaint is that this recipe calls for too much of everything. I didn't do the double layering thing, but I squished the sides of the dough up to the top of the pan while making for a nice crust and we were able to eat them like a normal pizza. I think I will reduce dough by a quarter next time. Also, I can't imagine using a whole pound of ground beef, three links of italian sausage for hubby was one too many. I ate a quarter of mine, my husband ate half of his and we were both STUFFED! We normally demolish two medium delivery pizzas, less is really more! I say again, outstanding dough made in pizza heaven and sooooo easy to make! Thanks for this recipe, will be using it for months to come!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faitherbee April 03, 2008

The dough was the best I'd ever made. Excellent recipe! This is a less-is-more recipe. One pizza fed what two usually do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emmi_imme March 31, 2008
Really Deep Dish Pizza