Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Really Deep Dish Pizza Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Really Deep Dish Pizza

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2010

      I had been watching an episode on T.V about deep dish pizzas. I had to have one. This recipe was just what I was looking for. I made this last night for the family. The crust turned out great. I did make the crust in my bread machine. I used my cheesecake pan to make the pizza in instead of my cast iron. My DH said that it was a little watery but it still tasted great. That was not recipes' fault but mine because I wanted so many toppings. I used two types of cheese, mozzarella and provolone. I did not use pepperoni. Instead, I used Italian sausage and ground beef seasoned with season salt and garlic powder with chopped onion and minced garlic thrown in. Everyone was full and happy last night. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      I love this dough recipe. It's a regular in our house. I bake the dough for 12 to 15 minutes to thicken/firm it up. Then add the toppings then the cheese. Bake for 15 minutes then pull it out add sauce on top for pseudo sicilian style and bake for 5 more minutes. Wonderful. Thank you again for posting. On a side note I add italian herbs to the crust and garlic salt instead of reg salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      What a pizza! I made this in two 9 inch cake pans and ended up baking it for 30 minutes. I used all the toppings listed except for the shrooms and I added sausage and red bell peppers and used a home made sauce. My family devoured it! The crust is very flavorful and held up good considering the amount of toppings piled onto it. I am planning to make this often. Thanks so much for sharing this excellent pizza! ~~~UPDATE~~~ I make this all the time, but this time I made it a stuffed crust deep dish pizza by using sring cheese. It was perhaps the best pizza we have ever had, home made or bought. Again, many thanks for sharing!~~~~ANOTHER UPDATE~~~~Three years after I posted my first review of this recipe, this is STILL one of my family favorites. I strongly urge everyone to try this recipe!! Really! Go on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      I followed the directions except that I layered the dough with tomato sauce, then mozzerella, topped with red onion, spinach, and pepperoni, then another layer of mozzerella and kept it in the oven for about 10 minutes longer since I wanted the top layer of cheese to brown a bit. It was absolutely delicious so much so that my boyfriend wanted me to make it again for lunch today! Thank you for sharing this recipe! I can't wait to use other toppings with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      This dough recipe was awesome. I was a little leary at first that it would not cook all the way through. I left it in the oven for 30 min and then broiled to brown the cheese another 3-4 min. I would not season the ground beef with chili peper next time or use as much , maybe half a lb. This will be one of my fav crust to use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Excellent Pizza. I made this for my girls and myself for dinner and we ate almost the whole pizza. I made a small part of just onion, mushrooms and black olives for myself and the other part with just pepperoni for the girls. I had everything on hand to make this which is a plus also. We will make this again. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      This was AWESOME!! I would give it 10 stars if I could. I guess I'm only rating the crust and the concept because I totally changed the toppings, but still I was MMMMMMING all through dinner. I halved the crust recipe and used an 8x8 pan. After I pressed it into the pan, I sprinkled it with additional parmesan, italian seasoning and a little bit of red salt. For toppings, I used just a little pizza sauce (I was worried too much would make it too soupy), pepperoni and mushrooms. SO GOOD! I will be making this often - thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Wow. This is amazing pizza for a quarter the cost of delivery and half the cost of frozen. I will never buy premade again! Four stars because I changed it a bit. I used half whole grain flour/half all purpose. Also, I used my marinara sauce similar to the easy peesy one mentioned below. My only complaint is that this recipe calls for too much of everything. I didn't do the double layering thing, but I squished the sides of the dough up to the top of the pan while making for a nice crust and we were able to eat them like a normal pizza. I think I will reduce dough by a quarter next time. Also, I can't imagine using a whole pound of ground beef, three links of italian sausage for hubby was one too many. I ate a quarter of mine, my husband ate half of his and we were both STUFFED! We normally demolish two medium delivery pizzas, less is really more! I say again, outstanding dough made in pizza heaven and sooooo easy to make! Thanks for this recipe, will be using it for months to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      The dough was the best I'd ever made. Excellent recipe! This is a less-is-more recipe. One pizza fed what two usually do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This is a really good pizza dough, I added a little extra parmesan cheese and garlic powder to the dough, came out so good. Excellent recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      We liked this, but felt the crust was a little bland and more bread-like than we'd prefer. I made as directed, but baked it in two cake pans like Pam-I-Am so that we could top them differently. I used Easy Peasy Pizza Sauce on these. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      This turned out really nice. I made it exactly as your recipe stated. Even with all the toppings, I found it to be a little bland. I felt it could really have used some salt in the ground beef and my dh said some italian seasoning. Even with that, I think when I make it again (and I will), I would either use italian turkey sausage or mix it half/half with the ground beef. I used 2 round cake pans so I could make one for my dd w/out all the other toppings that she dislikes. I baked them on the bottom rack for about 10-12 mintues at first to make sure the bottom dough got done, and it did. Then I moved it up to the middle to finish off. It did smell heavenly cooking. It's a keeper with a few changes. Thanks! Pam

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      I made this one for my son and I. It was very easy and fast. I used a sausage instead of groundbeef wich made it a bit more spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      great dough .dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      We have made this pizza five times in the last few weeks, it is excellent! After the first time we made it we changed the toppings, we use italian sausage, pepperoni, olives and mushrooms and we are generous when we sprinkle on the fresh parmesan. This is a new family favorite, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Really Deep Dish Pizza

    Serving Size: 1 (326 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 634.7
     
    Calories from Fat 312
    49%
    Total Fat 34.6 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 101.0 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1230.6 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 35.6 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites