10 Reviews

I have always prefered pork tamales over chicken. When I ran across this recipe, I decided to give it a try. They are DELICIOUS! I don't know if they're traditional or not but it really doesn't matter to me. We loved em and will be making them right along with the pork ones from now on. Thanks for the recipe, Manuel..it's a keeper to me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in Oklahoma January 05, 2007

This was a very good version of chicken tamales, thank you, Manuel. I lived 20 miles from the Mexican border for 23 years, and I have had probably 23 versions of "traditional" tamales, and made at least half that many variations myself. Tamale traditions vary greatly by region, as well as by cook, in Mexico. And if it weren't for this kind of diversity in cuisines, this site would not have a purpose, would it? Celebrate, don't criticize, diversity. We are all richer because of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moonshadow22 January 04, 2007

These are great, and they are traditional depending on who's tradition you are following. Maybe in her family it is there traditional tamales. So everyone get over yourselves and just rate the recipe's by taste not how your mama made them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
REEVES73 January 03, 2007

Reason we as latinas care about traditional is because you don't say it is and that it's real if it's not, that in itself is misleading. Tastewise it's good, but it's not what any of us grew up with- it's not "really traditional," but it is good, I'll give it that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamina.Lopez January 02, 2007

i am a mexican hispanic latino woman and i am going to give you a bad rating just to match all the other mexipantino ratings, viva la raza! GOD get over yourselves this recipe was great! who cares if it's not traditional!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mowo November 23, 2006

I am a mexican woman and have been making tamales with my mother and sisters for over 20 years and I have to say this is not the traditional tamale

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimbakatmeowmeow December 24, 2005

I am a hispanic woman and this is NOT a traditional tamale recipe. Pork is what is used in the traditional recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babygirl65 June 20, 2005

I am a mexican woman and i would not say this is the traditional way to make"real tamales.I would recommend that you try Karens Traditional Tamales (Pork) this is a bit more traditional.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maria Baron December 23, 2003

these are great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sabrina5000 December 19, 2003
Real Traditional Tamales