Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Real Traditional Tamales Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Real Traditional Tamales

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2007

    • on January 05, 2007

      I have always prefered pork tamales over chicken. When I ran across this recipe, I decided to give it a try. They are DELICIOUS! I don't know if they're traditional or not but it really doesn't matter to me. We loved em and will be making them right along with the pork ones from now on. Thanks for the recipe, Manuel..it's a keeper to me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      This was a very good version of chicken tamales, thank you, Manuel. I lived 20 miles from the Mexican border for 23 years, and I have had probably 23 versions of "traditional" tamales, and made at least half that many variations myself. Tamale traditions vary greatly by region, as well as by cook, in Mexico. And if it weren't for this kind of diversity in cuisines, this site would not have a purpose, would it? Celebrate, don't criticize, diversity. We are all richer because of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      These are great, and they are traditional depending on who's tradition you are following. Maybe in her family it is there traditional tamales. So everyone get over yourselves and just rate the recipe's by taste not how your mama made them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      Reason we as latinas care about traditional is because you don't say it is and that it's real if it's not, that in itself is misleading. Tastewise it's good, but it's not what any of us grew up with- it's not "really traditional," but it is good, I'll give it that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      i am a mexican hispanic latino woman and i am going to give you a bad rating just to match all the other mexipantino ratings, viva la raza! GOD get over yourselves this recipe was great! who cares if it's not traditional!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      I am a mexican woman and have been making tamales with my mother and sisters for over 20 years and I have to say this is not the traditional tamale

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      I am a hispanic woman and this is NOT a traditional tamale recipe. Pork is what is used in the traditional recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      I am a mexican woman and i would not say this is the traditional way to make"real tamales.I would recommend that you try Karens Traditional Tamales (Pork) this is a bit more traditional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      these are great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Real Traditional Tamales

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 692.3
     
    Calories from Fat 492
    71%
    Total Fat 54.7 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 20.6 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 66.0 mg
    22%
    Sodium 26.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.8 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites