Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Real Swedish Pancakes (Pannkakor) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Real Swedish Pancakes (Pannkakor)

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2002

      In defense of Andre's recipe....this was the second recipe that I tried this morning to satisfy my swedish husband's craving for Swedish Pancakes. The first recipe, even I knew, was completely off. They weren't thin rather slightly puffy. My husband looked at them and said, "Nope". I then found Andre's recipe on the internet. After tasting them, my husband said , "Bingo!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      Excellent recipe, just like I have always made them. You didn't mention that the traditional way to serve them is sprinkled with granulated sugar MM they melt in your mouth. I would diagree that the other recipes on Zaar do not resemble the original. Every country and every recipe has many variations and some of the others are very good too. I have cut back the luxury of frying them in butter (it is best) and I have cut out the whipped cream too. Love to serve them with fresh berries and lite sour cream. My guests thank you Andre as do I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      Well, I must say that I too am from sweden and in the south we have a differnt way of making them. We add the butter to the batter along with suger, more of a crepe style we also add a little nutmeg or allspice. Still use the berries on top.Served with some thick sliced bacon.You are not making consideration for regional differences.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2002

      I keep forgetting to review this recipe, we've been enjoying it for the past 3 Sunday's and are very happy with it. I have been serving them with lingonberry butter and granulated sugar, although my husband opt for maple syrup. To make the butter, I cream together lingonberry jam with some butter and chill it overnight. Thanks for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2002

      This was simple, quick and delicious. I did add a dash of nutmeg and a splash of vanilla, and served them with warmed jam. Lingonberries are difficult to get in my area. My husband is a finnicky eater but he loved these. This recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      These are tasty. I was shocked how thin the batter became after I added all that milk... can't believe a pancake actually came out of it. They are super easy to mix up but, as another reviewer stated, kind of a pain to stand over the stove frying them up. I tried the cast iron skillet. What a mess! Even the scraped mess was tasty but, after moving to non-stick skillet, I found them to be much better. (I used two at a time to speed things up.) Served with powdered sugar and syrup and some with jam. Berries would be wonderful if I had any. Thanks! My daughter asked for Swedish pancakes today and she was very happy with the result.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      I wanted to love these...I really did. But, I was sorely disappointed. My brother-in-law's family is from Sweden and I tried to find a replica recipe as I had misplaced his. I understand now that they cannot be replicated. I'm guessing that the main difference is that there is not butter in the batter. That is one thing that drew me in to these. I just found them WAY thicker than the ones I am used to and even a bit rubbery. :(

      I would be willing to try making them one more time to see if I just maybe did something wrong this first time around. I was so bummed last night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      These are great, just like my grandpa used to make them. Except, like Bergy said, that there should be granulated sugar on them. Other than that, dead-on authentic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2002

      Hello, I am swedish too and also live in south, I never heard of using nutmeg or allspice in pancakes before, none in my family does that, and i must add my dad's family have lived in south for atleast 20 generations...oh well. And i have never heard of sprinkling granulated sugar, but of course everything is different from family to family, it sounds lovely though. But i do know that here in south we make sometimes pancakes with yeast, jästa pannkakor, and they are thick and very yummy and filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      From Goteborg - These are not Swedish pancakes, and I wonder why the author says this is how the family makes them, and all other swedes make them. Trying to convince others? Wheat flour? No. White flour, and there is melted butter in a true Swedish pancake recipe. The pictures show burned pancakes. Also, to those who sprinkle granulated sugar, again no. Some lingonberry jam rolled into the pancake, and then sprinkled with powdered sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      This is really good! Much better than the American pancakes I usually have. :) I served them with butter and syrup though. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      We love thin batter for our pancakes, so Swedish Pancakes are our favorite! Served with butter and cinnamon and sugar and rolled up is our favorite way to eat them, but sometimes I have them with fresh strawberries and sugar, with whip cream on top. Just delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      Excellent recipe...made it for guests that love to have them at a restaurant. I increased it for 6 servings, and added 1 T sugar and a teaspoon sugar, and about 1/2-1 teaspoon cardamon. Served with ligonberries and lemon wedges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Incredible! Although I do admit that it took me a little practice to know exactly when and how to flip these, I had to throw out the first couple ones that I tried. I like that there's no sugar in them, they don't need it! We served these with homemade almond whipped cream and homemade raspberry jam. We doubled the batch and they disappeared fast, I barely got any for myself! My only complaint would be the time that it takes to cook the pancakes one at a time (I usually use a griddle, but I couldn't with these... had to use the pan)! However, they taste so good that it's worth the time! I didn't fry them in butter, just cooked them in a nonstick skillet occasionally sprayed with a little cooking spray, they still turned out delectable. Oh, did I mention they taste incredible? :) Thanks Andre!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      We <3 this recipe... In fact we are on vacation at my MIL's and I just spent the last 20 mins looking this up to make for breakfast- it's that good. We fill ours with fresh strawberries and top with powdered sugar. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I too come from a swedish family. my grandma used to do somewhat the same. she had a special thin spactula worn down from use to turn very thin pancakes. she put the butter in pan and just a touch of bacon grese also .this made them o sooo! good. we rolled them upith bluberry sause we made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This is such a yummy, simple recipe. The first few times I made it, it came out very lumpy. I now alternate adding the milk and flour, starting with the milk. This keeps the lumps from forming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Thanks for this delicious recipe! It was so much better than the boxed version I tried my first time making these!! I added the milk by the 1/2 cup and would add the first cup more slowly the second time making these as it took a bit to beat the lumps out (maybe it still will... who knows!). And - I used a non-stick pan so didn't need any butter. Would've tasted good, but better for my waistline!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This was a great recipe! And I plan to use it much more often! I have been looking for an authentic recipe for months, and Im so glad i finally found this!! I would recommend it to anybody!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Have made these several times now at DH's request. They're exactly what he remembers his grandma making. Good plain, or with any filling from jam to cream to fruit. Thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Real Swedish Pancakes (Pannkakor)

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.8
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    30%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 114.3 mg
    38%
    Sodium 692.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 13.1 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites