Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Real Spanish Gazpacho from Spain Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Real Spanish Gazpacho from Spain

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2012

      My husband and I honeymooned in Spain, and had the most amazing gazpacho it a little cafe. In my very, very broken Spanish, I told the waitress that my new husband now loves their gazpacho more than he loves me, which made her and the rest of the staff laugh and, in very broken English, try to give me the recipe. This is the closest recipe I've found to match that memory, and my family thanks you for it :) Note to self, 1 lb of tomatoes is roughly 2.5 cups chopped, and half the recipe is all my food processor can handle before leaking badly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      Authentic, delicious gazpacho, but NO to the cumin. Best in the summer when all the ingredients are in season. I have an old Osterizer blender and it really blends the vegetables smooth. Also, I cut the olive oil in half, as I like it lighter. This is the real deal served in Spain, but I do not think they use cumin! Forget the recipes with 15 ingredients and V-8. Definitely not needed. It is a seasonal dish, do not bother in the winter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      This is the real thing! My daughter was in Valencia, Spain last summer and her "Spanish family" made fresh gazpacho using bread. I am so happy to have found this recipe. I just made it - the only change I made was I used half the Olive Oil quantity. The soup is now chilling and I am having a hard time waiting, it tasted amazing straight out of the food processor. I really can't wait to enjoy this soup. I also only made half the quantity because my food processor isn't big enough for the whole amount.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2014

      Question - could you add a jalapeno for a little heat? I have tried this recipe (minus the cumin) before and it was quite tasty. We do like a little heat tho and was wondering if anyone else has tried that?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2014

      I recently spent a month in Spain. Their Gazpacho is different from ours, and better. When I came home, I looked for an authentic recipe. I think this is it!<br/>However, <br/>1- I reduced the olive oil to 1/4 cup. Don't need the rest of the calories. Soup was delicious without all that extra oil. Don't know why anyone would want it in there.<br/>2-It changes color over night. Turns grey-brown, very unappetizing. Cut recipe to how much you can eat today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      My first try at Gazpacho and it is a great recipe. As noted by others, unless you have a large food processor, do a half batch at a time. I didn't have any cumin, so I substituted chili powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      This is a lovely and very authentic recipe. I would give 5 stars, but it's too heavy on the oil. (To be fair, I didn't even try it that way.) Some oil helps to disperse the flavor throughout the soup, but no need for this much. I used 1/4 cup and was very satisfied with the mouthfeel. I add a small can of V8 (low sodium) if it looks too thick. The bread is the ingredient so many Americans leave out, not knowing that that ingredient is what makes it kind of creamy and thick. ANY old bread would do as long as it's not too dark. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      This is a wonderful gazpacho! Truly reminiscent of a summer spent in Spain back in the late 60's! I've had so many others since then, including some at Spanish restaurants in the U.S., but they don't measure up. Like another reviewer, I only used about 1/3 cup of the olive oil and the mouthfeel was just perfect. The texture was smooth and silky, and the flavor... what can I say? Magnifico!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      I was looking for an authentic Spanish recipe for a Spanish tapas party for some friends from Spain. This was just like the gazpacho we had in Spain. I recommend using Spanish olive oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      Simply Amazing!

      Thanks for the perfect gazpacho recipe. My whole family absolutely loved it. Such a refereshing summer meal. My two year old was even asking for more. Perfect recipe for our garden grown tomatoes and cucumbers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Hello MumofJuan. I wanted to say hola from a fellow countrywoman. I would also like to ask what region you are from that uses cumin in their gazpacho. Never heard of it before. I am from Puerto de Santa Maria, Cadiz. But my mother recalls her father making delicious hot gazpacho which is not common in Andalucia either. He was from Extremadura. I look forward to more of your recipes on here. Hasta pronto!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      I really enjoyed this! It was wonderful on a hot spring evening. I used my stick blender, for ease of cleaning. Served with Canarygirls Pollo en Adobo, Crusty Spanish Rolls, and Artichokes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      How amazingly perfect for summer! The tomatoes are so gorgeous and red and delicious this time of year, I just had to make this soup! I only made two changes to the recipe, I used a sweet red pepper instead of a green one, I find those to be much sweeter, less bitter. And I know that it was advised in Step 10 to use Spanish olive oil, but I used some gorgeous local Israeli olive oil, so heavy with flavor! I whizzed the whole thing up with my Thunderstick and we had a lovely, cooling soup on a night so hot and muggy you would think we were living in a sauna. This soup certainly helped elliviate the problem. Thanks for posting, I am most certainly going to be making this over and over again this summer, and the next, and the next...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Real Spanish Gazpacho from Spain

    Serving Size: 1 (211 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.5
     
    Calories from Fat 328
    86%
    Total Fat 36.5 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 619.8 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes