Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Real Southern Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Real Southern Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2003

      Great cornbread. I made it first in my 10" cast iron, but for 2 people I converted the recipe to fit my 4" skillet (1/6 of the recipe) - worked well. The proportions in the recipe are perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      My very first iron skillet cornbread - and it was 5 stars! Absolutely wonderful, and easy to make! The inside was so light, and the outside was so crunchy. I used the stone ground corn meal and added the baking soda to the buttermilk. No more mixes for me! Thanks again, PetitFour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2003

      Bravo, PetitFour. My family and I had your cornbread last night and it was incredible. Your directions were all inclusive and very easy to follow. The cornbread formed a nice golden brown crusty exterior and the inside was tender and moist but with a good crumb texture. I buttered it with real butter and enjoyed every bite. Thanks for sharing your recipe and expertise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      Really good recipe...but real Southern cornbread is made with white cornmeal, not yellow. Don't get me wrong, I'm from GA and my grandmother would roll over in her grave if she knew I secretly preferred yellow-but traditional southern cornbread is always white. They used to say white cornmeal is for people, yellow is for the animals. lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      I had a craving for comfort food this morning, and cornbread is definitely comfort for me.. much better than my mom's recipe, but next time I might increase the salt a bit, but I like things really salty! I also heated a piece with strawberry preserves and that was good too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      Excellent cornbread recipe. Thanks very much for sharing it. I have gotten lazy and not used my cast-iron skillet in a long time but it definitely makes a differnce when making cornbread. Your instructions were easy to follow and right on the money. I served it with mustard greens and purple-hull peas. Thanks from me and my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      Great tasting and great instructions. Will definitely plan meals around this great cornbread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      This is a great recipe! :) <br/><br/>I do want to address a comment made on here by Chef #1294037 regarding what is "Real Southern", what is not, and what classifies Real Southern cornbread. <br/><br/>"Really good recipe...but real Southern cornbread is made with white cornmeal, not yellow. Don't get me wrong, I'm from GA and my grandmother would roll over in her grave if she knew I secretly preferred yellow-but traditional southern cornbread is always white. They used to say white cornmeal is for people, yellow is for the animals. lol"<br/><br/>The South is not just Georgia, but several other states as well. I'm from Texas and yellow cornmeal is used for our authentic Southern cornbread. As Chef said, white might be what it is in Georgia, but the South is far more than just Georgia. <br/>My point is, this is an authentic recipe, because it's titled Southern not Georgian, and yellow is considered 'proper' in several other states besides just Texas. <br/><br/>It's important to know where the whole South is before declaring something is incorrect. I say this because many people might search because they want to know what is authentic for whatever reasons, educational, interest, special dinner, etc. <br/><br/>So thank you P4 for posting this recipe. It is very good, and it sure seemed Southern to me. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      Even though my husband was the only one to eat this cornbread (I'm back on Atkins and my kids are super picky), half of it is already gone! He had a large wedge with supper and took another large wedge in his lunch. He gives it 2 thumbs up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      Perfect texture and wonderful taste - what more could you want? I just used Blue Bonnet rather than real butter to melt in the pan, but this step definitely gives the cornbread that delicious, buttery taste - don't skip it! No more quickie packages for me - this will be my standard recipe. This is true Southern corn bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Yeah! I finally found someone else who knows what "southern" means in cornbread. I shake my head when I see all the "southern cornbread" recipes posted that say to use an 8 inch square pan! If it's not a cast iron skillet - it's not southern cornbread, sorry folks, that's just the way it is. Also, you should have a skillet specifically for cornbread and do NOT wash it in soapy water. Hot water only and dry thoroughly, then wipe with oil. Cooking anything else other than cornbread in it will ruin the taste of your cornbread, IMHO. Oh, this recipe is fantastic! I have used this same recipe for many, many years. Thanks for posting it P4! Edit: You can also throw in a handful of cracklins for a real southern treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I personally didn't care much for this cornbread. I felt it lacked real corn flavor. I used the iron skillet and it rose and cooked perfectly though I feel it would have in any baking pan. Wasn't too keen on the #13 comment. I've made tons of wonderful cornbread using glass, tin, etc. My BH wanted something different. Us Northerner's prefer moist cornbread, where my BH Southerner likes it a bit dry. We compromise each time we make it. This time he agreed with me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      This is my 1st time making HOMEMADE cornbread...oh so yummy...so moist. It wasnt difficult, I will be making this one again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2003

      PetitFour I know you probably don't need another 5 star review but I just had to add my comments. This was without a doubt the best cornbread I have ever eaten. The crust was absolutely wonderful and the inside moist. This will definitely go into my ultimate cookbook. I'm so glad I found this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      Absolutely the ONLY way to make cornbread is in a cast-iron skillet. And this recipe is delicious! Slightly sweet, not too much, with a lovely crunchy crust. I'm pregnant, and tonight a couple pieces of this and large glass of milk made a great meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2014

      This is my perfect dream-cornbread. The best I have ever made. The specific instruction on heating the skillet, adding the butter then pouring in the batter gave me a completely non-stick loaf with a crispy golden crust. Tender and moist on the inside. The other instruction, putting the baking soda into the buttermilk seems to have activated it or something. The whole thing is fluffy, light, moist and it didn't stick! Did I say that? no sticking! And for me, no need to add butter at all. Perfect. Thank you!!! Oh, one more thing, it fit my 8" skillet and puffed up nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2014

      Really great cornbread! It was my first time making cornbread and it turned out really good. Thanks so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      I made this a couple of weeks ago to go with chili. We enjoyed this very much. Decided to make it again today. As I was making it today, I realized that the last time I made this, I didn't notice baking powder in the ingredients. Still was good. Made it the "right" way and...WOW! Hope it lasts until dinner! So moist. I agree that this should absolutely be made in an iron skillet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2013

      Wonderful!!! Why the baking soda in the buttermilk. It seems to make a big difference. Gloria

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      I saw many recipes on corn bread but the picture of collard greens sold me to this particular recipe. I must say with the reassurance from my grandmother of the same ingredients but followed by these measurements it was a success. I am a Southern Bell out of Lousiana and I loved this recipe a thumbs up from me who Mom was a cook but being the youngest of six I stayed no where near the kitchen I let my three sisters deal with that. Just simply perfect, great taste, golden brown crust yet very moist on the inside definitely a plus 5 stars Kudos to you for sharing this recipe with world.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Real Southern Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.0
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    43%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 32.4 mg
    10%
    Sodium 303.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites