Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Real Simple Bean and Bacon Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Real Simple Bean and Bacon Soup

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2012

      Delicious! I served this with cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Used peppered bacon, and dry red beans I pre cooked. I also used the stock from par-boiling country style pork ribs the day before instead of water. This soup is great and easy to make. It got better the next day and better still a few days later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Yum, Yum! I love beans, and hence loved this soup! I made a few changes, using dried beans I cooked in a pressure cooker, using 4 cups of chicken broth instead of water, and then adding 4-5 TBS of potato flakes. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This was very good. A nice, easy alternative to traditional bean soup. You might want to wait on adding salt till the end. I suspected that the bacon might make it pretty salty so I left the salt out and then tasted it after it simmered a while and felt like it only needed a pinch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Delicious. I used veggie broth instead of water and added a few dashes of Frank's Red Hot at the end. Very yummy comfort soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Yum! This was a 5 star for me. It was a cold winter day here yesterday and all I wanted was some comfort. This did it! I didn't have celery so I just added extra carrots and onion. I also used cannellini beans and chicken broth that needed to be used up and it was fantastic. A couple shots of tabasco on top made it even better. The only problem was that we ate all of it in one sitting. I will be making this again very soon. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Great soup. I did add some extra spices. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Excellent and easy recipe. I added a little more garlic and black pepper, a diced carrot, some onion powder and a couple shots of tobasco -- just because we like soup a little more savory/spicy. Served with warm Ital bread. Very good soup that was great on a cold evening!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Very good, I also omitted the water and used chicken broth, added a chopped up potato and more bacon. Thanks will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      We found this to be very tasty. Very easy to make. Only change I made was I omited the water and added chicken broth for a more rickh taste. Excellent. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      We enjoyed this soup though the recipe was modified. Due to a kitchen emergency I had to refrigerate the ingredients and start over later. Used olive oil instead of bacon drippings to saute veggies. Also, used green pepper instead of celery. Yummy, stick to the ribs - great lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Very easy and pretty quick. Yummy hearty soup for a weeknight meal. Instead of water I used beef broth and left out the salt. Great served with a grilled cheese sandwich. Thanks for the recipe and I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      I made this on a bad headache day, and it was really good! Even my, "Eeww--bean soup?" husband liked it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      Very quick and easy with things you usually have around the house. Nice and thick, great for cooler weather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

    • on September 16, 2005

      Hey man, This is not like the bean and bacon soup I love and am used to,but it DOES have a delicious flavor.I liked it a lt.Easy to make too. Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      I also cut this in half,we loved it!!Made it twice now.Thanks Linda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2005

      Pedro, you got my vote. This was just delicious and so easy. I cut the recipe in half and now I wish I had made more. Many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Real Simple Bean and Bacon Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.0
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    24%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 477.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites