Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Real Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Real Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      This is an excellent recipe and absolutely authentic just as I, my mother, grandmother and probably great-grandmother have been making it all these years. If lamb was used, often left-overs from the Sunday roast, it was called Shepherd's Pie (Sheepherd) and if beef then "Cottage Pie". It needs no extra bits added, and certainly NO baked beans - sacrilege.You could, of course experiment, but it would no longer be Shepherd's Pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2002

      Needs carots and celary. Leftover beef is also good. I have used hamburger as well. For a change dump in a can of baked beans. Put cheese on top. And dont forget the garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Geesh...I just recommended your bubble and squeak recipe and lol lol here I am making shepards pie...with lamb and left over gravy. Wish you would post some more no nonsense recipes. This too was plain and simply good eating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      The addition of carrots and/or parsnips or turnip is purely by taste, availability and personal choice and still authentic. Adding corn,celery, baked beans, etc is a mockery of 'traditional' Shepherd's Pie. My belief was that the difference between Shepherd's and Cottage Pie as that Shepherd's is done with mashed potato on top to resemble the poorer man's thatched cottage look, and Cottage Pie is done with layered sliced potatoes on top to resemble the more affluent tiled roof.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      Thanks for this recipe. Exactly what I was looking for. I did add some diced carrots to the mince, as well as a small amount of tomato puree and Worcester Sauce which gave it a bit more depth. Also, try serving with carrots and parsnips, boiled and roughly mashed together -takes the notion of comfort food to another level!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2002

      Great recipe, which is more british than some of the varieties of shepherds pie, that i have seen. I agree that it could do with some carrots, but maybe not the celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      This is definitely a traditional recipe. I think some chopped parsely goes well in the meat mixture. What sort of pie is it called if the base is pastry? Is it a potato pie? I can't remember. Both are good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2002

      To the person who generously rated my Shepherds Pie recipe with 3 stars and added the comment that it needs celery and carrots,maybe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Real Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1012.2
     
    Calories from Fat 482
    47%
    Total Fat 53.6 g
    82%
    Saturated Fat 23.2 g
    116%
    Cholesterol 165.8 mg
    55%
    Sodium 163.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.4 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 10.9 g
    43%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 47.4 g
    94%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Knorr lamb cube

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites