Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "REAL" Italian Bolognese Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "REAL" Italian Bolognese Sauce

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2010

      Thanks Chef for your endorsement that garlic belongs in Bolognese. I've been mortified to read in the British press recently that Antonio Carluccio dismisses all Bolognese recipes containing garlic and herbs as inauthentic and invented for the UK market! That said, this recipe is pretty close to the one I've evolved over many years. An ex-boyfriend's Italian mother from the North of Italy used chopped Italian sausage along with the ground beef, this added some chilli heat and also a hint of fennel to the sauce so I was intrigued see chilli flakes featuring here too. I too use nutmeg but for nostalgia! I sometimes substitute freshly ground fennel seeds. I also find cooking slowly in the oven gives the sauce a dark mahogany colour and a richness that cooking on the hob sometimes misses. It's the Maillard reaction I believe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      Delicious recipe! The bacon didn't quite work the way it was described -- the fat didn't cook off with the vegetables, so I fried the bacon separately, chopped it, and added it back in. I also added half a can of tomato paste to make it just a little more tomato-y. Quite smoky-tasting -- will try pancetta next time -- but once I added the homemade fettucine and grated parmesan, this was heavenly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2014

      I didn't use fat, the grinded meat wasn't too lean anyway. Also I didn't use beef consomme. It tastes great anyway, very close to what I ate in a restaurant but not better or worse, just a little bit different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      Total solid keeper recipe that tripled well. Used the triple batch for a ginormous lasagne - all of which was completely consumed. Thanks for the keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      This has a very nice flavor profile. I didn't have sage so I substituted marjoram plus I used mild pork sausage. Other than that I stayed true. I will cut out fat next time (which is why only four stars) but I would highly recommend this. Nice job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      We made this tonight! It was perfecto:) Loved it! We used ribbon pasta! It works better to me with the sauce consistency. This will be my *bolognese" from now on! *****

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      I always use this recipe to make bolognese sauce and its always delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      I used regular American bacon for this, and found it to be REALLY salty. Other than that, I'd like to try radiatori for the pasta- I think it would hold the sauce better than the penne did. The flavors were good, and well developed, just a little salty from the the bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      Loved this sauce. Easy to do but gives so much flavor. Will have to make this one often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

    • on April 19, 2012

      This deserves 10 stars! I can honestly say this is the best pasta sauce I have ever made! Only one small change - I added a tbsp of tomato paste as suggested by another reviewer. Served over spaghetti squash! Made for PAC Spring '12.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      This is an incredible recipe. The flavors are so complex and it's such a hearty and tasty sauce. This is my now go to Bolognese recipe. The only change I made was instead of adding the salt, I added the rind of some left over Parmigiano-Reggiano and let it simmer with the sauce, then removed before serving. (I got this idea from Rachel Ray, and it adds a wonderful flavor to any pasta sauce). Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe. My family and I thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      This was amazing! This is going to be my meat sauce recipe forever. I think the sage gave it such an interesting twist, and I would've never thought to add milk. I usually add red wine to my sauce, but the white worked really well with this. Will try red wine next time just to see what the difference would be. The only change I made was to cut the red pepper flakes amt in half because my kids don't do spicy, but it still had an underlying spice that seemed perfect. Can't wait to have leftovers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      didnt use bacon or minced pork,used 1 tbls of margand+left out salt(my 2 yr old eats what i eat) whacked aubergene and courgette in it aswell as carrot and celery IT WAS FAB will defo try full recipe just for me and the wife! would never have put milk and nutmeg in a spag bol,genius!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Didn't have sage or bacon on hand, but still kicked @$$! 4 hrs on low heat, another hour in the oven with my herb bread. All my kids loved it tonight, can't wait for leftovers tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I have made this recipe 4 times now. Excellent hearty sauce. I do tweak it a tiny bit. I use mild italian sausage, instead of ground pork (keeping the oregano and sage as ingredients); and I add two bay leaves. I also add just a sprinkle of sugar to cut down on the acidity of the tomatoes. That is a southern thing! I have used both red and white wines, either is just as good. I choose not to add the milk. I like the red coloring. Overall, the most delicious bolognese recipe I have ever used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Loved loved loved this! There is nothing quite like a hearty bolognese sauce :) I stumbled upon a slight problem with mine - I am considering adding more beef consomme next time... or perhaps extra milk. It turned out slightly too thick and dry for our liking. But the flavor is devine. Mmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Thanks Classic Chef! This is probably the best bolognese sauce recipe I have ever made. Love the recipe! Taste great, will definitely make it over and over again! Only thing I altered was that I added in a heap of mushrooms (a mushroom lover) and instead of using the ground pork, I substituted it with a little extra bacon and it turned out great! Thanks a lot! From Sang (Melbourne, Australia)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Okay, so I really altered this a bit but...it received rave reviews so I will save it print it and use it again and again! I used the first 6 ingredients and for the meat I used my leftover Ravioli meat #27951, it was well seasoned. I added 1 beef bouillon cube, 1c red wine instead of white,plain tomato pieces and used the nutmeg..my milk product was the mixed in cheese from the ravioli filling...What can I say, it sure was all mixed up delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      What an awesome and easy recipe! I forgot to add the garlic, but I don't think I missed it. I also used a "meatloaf" mix of ground beef, pork and veal. The one step I messed up was the bacon. I had cut the bacon before I put it in with the onion mix and then had to fish out the fatty pieces, oops! Nonetheless, it was an awesome recipe with outstanding flavor. I will certainly be making this again!!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "REAL" Italian Bolognese Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (514 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1260.7
     
    Calories from Fat 568
    45%
    Total Fat 63.1 g
    97%
    Saturated Fat 23.9 g
    119%
    Cholesterol 172.9 mg
    57%
    Sodium 1716.2 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 115.5 g
    38%
    Dietary Fiber 17.8 g
    71%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 51.6 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites