24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks Chef for your endorsement that garlic belongs in Bolognese. I've been mortified to read in the British press recently that Antonio Carluccio dismisses all Bolognese recipes containing garlic and herbs as inauthentic and invented for the UK market! That said, this recipe is pretty close to the one I've evolved over many years. An ex-boyfriend's Italian mother from the North of Italy used chopped Italian sausage along with the ground beef, this added some chilli heat and also a hint of fennel to the sauce so I was intrigued see chilli flakes featuring here too. I too use nutmeg but for nostalgia! I sometimes substitute freshly ground fennel seeds. I also find cooking slowly in the oven gives the sauce a dark mahogany colour and a richness that cooking on the hob sometimes misses. It's the Maillard reaction I believe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wee Nell March 17, 2010

Delicious recipe! The bacon didn't quite work the way it was described -- the fat didn't cook off with the vegetables, so I fried the bacon separately, chopped it, and added it back in. I also added half a can of tomato paste to make it just a little more tomato-y. Quite smoky-tasting -- will try pancetta next time -- but once I added the homemade fettucine and grated parmesan, this was heavenly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Magpie63 May 15, 2011

I have been making this recipe since I found it 5 years ago. I just realized I've never given it a review which is quite the crime as it is my families and friends favorite dish. THIS is the BEST bolognese you will ever try! Hands down! I make the recipe exactly as instructed but with one change. I use ground sausage instead of ground pork. This first happened on accident (sending husband to the market) I went with it, and it was delicious. It is fabulous both ways but with the sausage it adds that extra kick. Oh and instead of using American bacon I use Pancetta chopped up. It's not as fatty and gives it a lovely authentic Italian flavor. A lot of reviews recommended using more tomatoes.. I would suggest just trying it like this. Bolognese is actually a meat sauce not a red sauce. The tomato infused beef is what us Americans have made the dish into, which is also good, but not this dish....which is excellent. If you want tomato sauce have meat ball marinara. If you want REAL bolognese try this dish. Thank you Chef for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kerry-Ann May 01, 2015

I didn't use fat, the grinded meat wasn't too lean anyway. Also I didn't use beef consomme. It tastes great anyway, very close to what I ate in a restaurant but not better or worse, just a little bit different.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iustinh July 03, 2014

Total solid keeper recipe that tripled well. Used the triple batch for a ginormous lasagne - all of which was completely consumed. Thanks for the keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend January 15, 2014

This has a very nice flavor profile. I didn't have sage so I substituted marjoram plus I used mild pork sausage. Other than that I stayed true. I will cut out fat next time (which is why only four stars) but I would highly recommend this. Nice job!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jeff S August 30, 2013

We made this tonight! It was perfecto:) Loved it! We used ribbon pasta! It works better to me with the sauce consistency. This will be my *bolognese" from now on! *****

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim8236 December 22, 2012

I always use this recipe to make bolognese sauce and its always delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildec October 12, 2012

I used regular American bacon for this, and found it to be REALLY salty. Other than that, I'd like to try radiatori for the pasta- I think it would hold the sauce better than the penne did. The flavors were good, and well developed, just a little salty from the the bacon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH September 17, 2012

Loved this sauce. Easy to do but gives so much flavor. Will have to make this one often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 18, 2012
"REAL" Italian Bolognese Sauce