30 Reviews

Thanks Chef for your endorsement that garlic belongs in Bolognese. I've been mortified to read in the British press recently that Antonio Carluccio dismisses all Bolognese recipes containing garlic and herbs as inauthentic and invented for the UK market! That said, this recipe is pretty close to the one I've evolved over many years. An ex-boyfriend's Italian mother from the North of Italy used chopped Italian sausage along with the ground beef, this added some chilli heat and also a hint of fennel to the sauce so I was intrigued see chilli flakes featuring here too. I too use nutmeg but for nostalgia! I sometimes substitute freshly ground fennel seeds. I also find cooking slowly in the oven gives the sauce a dark mahogany colour and a richness that cooking on the hob sometimes misses. It's the Maillard reaction I believe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wee Nell March 17, 2010

I have been making this recipe since I found it 5 years ago. I just realized I've never given it a review which is quite the crime as it is my families and friends favorite dish. THIS is the BEST bolognese you will ever try! Hands down! I make the recipe exactly as instructed but with one change. I use ground sausage instead of ground pork. This first happened on accident (sending husband to the market) I went with it, and it was delicious. It is fabulous both ways but with the sausage it adds that extra kick. Oh and instead of using American bacon I use Pancetta chopped up. It's not as fatty and gives it a lovely authentic Italian flavor. A lot of reviews recommended using more tomatoes.. I would suggest just trying it like this. Bolognese is actually a meat sauce not a red sauce. The tomato infused beef is what us Americans have made the dish into, which is also good, but not this dish....which is excellent. If you want tomato sauce have meat ball marinara. If you want REAL bolognese try this dish. Thank you Chef for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kerry-Ann May 01, 2015

Delicious recipe! The bacon didn't quite work the way it was described -- the fat didn't cook off with the vegetables, so I fried the bacon separately, chopped it, and added it back in. I also added half a can of tomato paste to make it just a little more tomato-y. Quite smoky-tasting -- will try pancetta next time -- but once I added the homemade fettucine and grated parmesan, this was heavenly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Magpie63 May 15, 2011

My summer ambition has been to stop using so many premade items, and start learning to make sauces from scratch. This recipe made a solid bolognese sauce! I made a couple changes, like blending all the ingredients after the meat cooks through and the consumme evaporates. Made for a lovely consitency. Also added a can of cream of chicken to cut out some of the acidity of the tomatoes. I prefer a less robust taste, and this takes it some. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel M. August 04, 2015

Good recipe. You can make it better if you use half cup of heavy cream instead of milk

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tansu Aksu July 19, 2015

Easy and excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valonline July 15, 2015

This recipe led to one of the better Bolognese sauces that I have ever had. I occasionally have to work long hours overnight in my home office so I was looking for a recipe that would take a few hours to make to help pass some of the time. I followed this recipe as closely as possible (I eyeballed most of the herbs, spices, and wet ingredients) and let it simmer for around 3 hours. It was absolutely delicious and I would say that it could rival any Italian grandmother's recipe. Next time I make this I will add just a touch more salt though. All in all, this was a fantastic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alex H. June 21, 2015

This is a great basic recipe. I tweaked it a bit to suit my tastes, but this is my new go-to Bolognese from now on. Bravo. I doubled the garlic and added some chopped kalamata olives, but that's it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danny T. June 10, 2015

I am sorry, but I am 100 times more authentic than this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siegfried P. May 29, 2015

I didn't use fat, the grinded meat wasn't too lean anyway. Also I didn't use beef consomme. It tastes great anyway, very close to what I ate in a restaurant but not better or worse, just a little bit different.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iustinh July 03, 2014
"REAL" Italian Bolognese Sauce