32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe - but one glaring omission is no salt. I added a half teaspoon (it would be a bland bread without the salt). I didn't have buttermilk, but soured milk worked just fine. Really fabulous, flavorful bread. This was my first try with Irish Soda Bread, which I usually find dry and too crumbly. The four of us scarfed nearly the whole loaf!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaRiti March 17, 2011

Oh my goodness! When I saw kittencal liked this recipe I knew I had to give it a try. As usual she's absolutely right...this recipe is for sure a keeper. It yields such a tender moist loaf and not at all heavy (a problem with many a soda bread recipe). I love this warm straight from the oven and later toasted,buttered along with a mug of tea. It also freezes beautifully. Thanks so much for this perfectly written recipe that gave me the ever elusive 5 star loaf of Irish soda bread. Hats off!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lockedhalo April 07, 2009

I love this bread, I made it using Greek yogurt as that is all I use, this rose beautiful with a wonderful flavor, I will for certain make this again many more times, what a great recipe, thanks for sharing DeSouter! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 15, 2009

Thanks for a tasty recipe for soda bread people a actually liked! I've made the bread twice in one week and shared the recipe multiple times. Had to think twice about letting people in on the secret of how easy it is! The second time I made it with Greek-style yogurt and had to add a bit more flour.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackiedog March 22, 2013

I have to agree with Wylder. I've spent plenty of time in Ireland. This is not a traditional Irish soda bread...Northern-white/farl. Southern-brown/cake. Albeit, this recipe may be good, it does not resemble the authentic soda breads in the least. This resembles more of a tea bread than a soda.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesliern72 March 17, 2011

This isn't "Real Irish Soda Bread" . That is, if by "real" you mean traditional. The traditional didn't even include half of these ingredients. Sorry if I'm being rude, but the original recipes are nothing like this one.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wylder May 13, 2009

FINALLY! YAHOO! After attempting for many years to have the best soda bread like Mom used to make, I have finally succeeded on St. Patrick's Day. Luck of the Irish. Mom when asked for her famous soda bread recipe would reply, "It's all in me head." We never did get the pinch of this or that written down. She is now 98 and abit of forgetfulness inhibits her to remember it all, so therefore I am thrilled to find this excellent. So everyone, do not look any further. It'll be gone by teatime tonite. It is so light and fluffy. Omitted the caraway and I could use a tad more raisins, but it will a staple in this Irish household.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazee4cookin March 17, 2011

I made this soda bread for a huge crowd on St. Patrick's Day! It got rave reviews and I couldn't stop eating it. It was sooo moist and flavorful without being overly sweet. In fact, I'm craving it now! Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kennedyfish June 26, 2010

After looking for days all over the internet, I chose this recipe. It is wonderful. I even found some recipes that were supposed to be "traditional". Well, they can keep them as they would not be eaten by us. We attended a St. Patrick>s Day dinner last night and I supplied this bread. It was a hit! We liked it so well, I am making it again tomorrow for the weekend. Why wait for St. Patrick's day? That is too far away. Thank you so much for posting. BTW, the only change I made was to add some salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bayousong March 18, 2010

I made this bread yesterday and it is absolutely the best soda bread I have ever eaten. I don't care if it is traditional or not. It is moist and delicious. We love it and it is the only soda bread I will make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
q.frances_11461000 March 18, 2010
Real Irish Soda Bread