Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Real Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Real Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2011

      Great recipe - but one glaring omission is no salt. I added a half teaspoon (it would be a bland bread without the salt). I didn't have buttermilk, but soured milk worked just fine. Really fabulous, flavorful bread. This was my first try with Irish Soda Bread, which I usually find dry and too crumbly. The four of us scarfed nearly the whole loaf!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Oh my goodness! When I saw kittencal liked this recipe I knew I had to give it a try. As usual she's absolutely right...this recipe is for sure a keeper. It yields such a tender moist loaf and not at all heavy (a problem with many a soda bread recipe). I love this warm straight from the oven and later toasted,buttered along with a mug of tea. It also freezes beautifully. Thanks so much for this perfectly written recipe that gave me the ever elusive 5 star loaf of Irish soda bread. Hats off!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I love this bread, I made it using Greek yogurt as that is all I use, this rose beautiful with a wonderful flavor, I will for certain make this again many more times, what a great recipe, thanks for sharing DeSouter! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      Thanks for a tasty recipe for soda bread people a actually liked! I've made the bread twice in one week and shared the recipe multiple times. Had to think twice about letting people in on the secret of how easy it is! The second time I made it with Greek-style yogurt and had to add a bit more flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      I have to agree with Wylder. I've spent plenty of time in Ireland. This is not a traditional Irish soda bread...Northern-white/farl. Southern-brown/cake. Albeit, this recipe may be good, it does not resemble the authentic soda breads in the least. This resembles more of a tea bread than a soda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      This isn't "Real Irish Soda Bread" . That is, if by "real" you mean traditional. The traditional didn't even include half of these ingredients. Sorry if I'm being rude, but the original recipes are nothing like this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      FINALLY! YAHOO! After attempting for many years to have the best soda bread like Mom used to make, I have finally succeeded on St. Patrick's Day. Luck of the Irish. Mom when asked for her famous soda bread recipe would reply, "It's all in me head." We never did get the pinch of this or that written down. She is now 98 and abit of forgetfulness inhibits her to remember it all, so therefore I am thrilled to find this excellent. So everyone, do not look any further. It'll be gone by teatime tonite. It is so light and fluffy. Omitted the caraway and I could use a tad more raisins, but it will a staple in this Irish household.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      I made this soda bread for a huge crowd on St. Patrick's Day! It got rave reviews and I couldn't stop eating it. It was sooo moist and flavorful without being overly sweet. In fact, I'm craving it now! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      After looking for days all over the internet, I chose this recipe. It is wonderful. I even found some recipes that were supposed to be "traditional". Well, they can keep them as they would not be eaten by us. We attended a St. Patrick>s Day dinner last night and I supplied this bread. It was a hit! We liked it so well, I am making it again tomorrow for the weekend. Why wait for St. Patrick's day? That is too far away. Thank you so much for posting. BTW, the only change I made was to add some salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I made this bread yesterday and it is absolutely the best soda bread I have ever eaten. I don't care if it is traditional or not. It is moist and delicious. We love it and it is the only soda bread I will make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      I'm here to tell you THIS IS THE REAL DEAL!!! I made this for St. Pat's and we loved it. I used sour cream and followed the recipe exactly as written I had no trouble with this at all. Baking time was right on, taste and texture were great and it sliced like a dream. Added this to tried and true file and will make it many more times. Thanks for sharing DeSouter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I thought this recipe was very good, but it is definately not the recipe that I grew up with. This recipe is more moist and does not have the soda/salt flavor that I am used to. It's almost to cakey and a little too sweet. Maybe next time, I'd try 1 egg and 1 tsp cream of tartar. I used 1 cup of sour cream and substituted 2 tbs of olive oil for butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      I did not like this bread at all. Sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      I think if you title your recipe "REAL IRISH" then you are conveying to the reader that this is a real, traditional Irish Soda Bread. So for you to call out the reviewer for calling you on the carpet for this, I think you're both in error.<br/>This is an ok soda bread. It is not, however, real, traditional Irish Soda Bread.<br/>Caveat emptor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Here, Here De Souter! Pretty111 shame! I downloaded this recipe yesterday, and plan to make it for St. Paddy's. And will rate it AFTER I have made it and eaten it! Many old authentic traditional recipes have, of-course had more readily available ingredients added to them over the years, to make them more palatable. Having lived in Ireland many years ago, I never cared to try soda bread again! Believe me! But can't wait to try this! Keep up the good work DeSouter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      5 star

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This is really good; I didn't have caraway, so I mixed it up a little. (1/4 t ground coriander, 1/8 t ground nutmeg, 2 t. poppy seeds.) Also used 2 cups of whole wheat, 1 of white flour. I checked it after 45 minutes and it was done, and I think I could have taken it out earlier...it's a little bit dry. I will certainly make this again, though!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I loved this recipe! The addition of caraway was the perfect touch. I used currants in mine, and had bought them at Trader Joe's and they were more plump and tasty than other currants I have bought at the grocery store. I think they made this recipe go over the top as well. Wonderful with Irish butter! Thanks for sharing. ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      I enjoyed the texture of this bread. It was very moist Mine only took about 40 minutes before it was done. Nice recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      So good! I've tried several Irish soda bread recipes, and this is the most moist. I used 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 yogurt. I left out the fruit because I served the bread with soup, but I look forward to trying this with fruit, too. The dough was sticky and difficult to shape, but I think that the resulting rough outer texture of this bread was part of its appeal. Thanks for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Real Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.0
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    29%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 34.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 221.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes