Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Real English Fish and Chips With Yorkshire Beer Batter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Real English Fish and Chips With Yorkshire Beer Batter

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2011

      I have been looking for what seems like forever for a batter that is close to what I grew up with in English fish and chip shops. This is the closest I have ever tasted, and absolutely the best, and crunchiest outside of a professional fish shop!!! if I could vote this a 7 or an 8 star I would!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      Great recipe. Of all the beer batters I have made this is both the simplest and the best. The two step chip cook was also perfect. this recipe is getting laminated, for repeated use. thanks for sharing. The one change we made about halfway through was to put some salt and pepper in the flour, but not much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      I was a little disappointed with this recipe... the batter looked lovely and was the perfect consistency but to me it was lacking flavor... tasted quite bland. I am going to keep it as a base recipe and find some things to add to it for next time. I wonder if it was just my personal preference because DH thought it was excellent and was perfectly fine with eating both my portion and his! The chips were delicious though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      We loved this dish. I made this last night and we all really enjoyed this fish. The batter stayed on perfectly. I will use this recipe again. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Fantastic! I combined this recipe with Tyler Florence's Ultimate Fish and Chips, adding baking powder and using rice flour for dredging. The fam was impressed and can't wait to do it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I used this recipe tonight, it was a huge hit. I followed all the directions to a "T" with the fish and cooked Halibut. I sliced my potatoes into circular chips and fryed until the hint of golden brown, 3 to 4 minutes total flipping them, then drained on a napkin. Pre-heated the oven to 400 F. and layed the chips on a cookie sheet trying not to over lap them. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes. Served with sliced lemons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Nothing like trying a new recipe when you have 20 people coming over! But, our fish fry was a success thanks to this lovely recipe! We just did the fish, not the chips. We had three different varieties of fish (all local Hawaiian types), and they all tasted great. I was generous with the salt and pepper in the batter, but did not add lemon juice. I did let the batter sit for an hour. I made sure to have malt vinegar for guests to add to the finished fish. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Very tasty batter, and now I know how to make really good chips! The only problems I had were probably of my own fault. I don't have a deep fryer, and I don't think I had enough oil in my pan or had it hot enough. Some of the batter stuck to the bottom of the pan and came off, so I think that I just didn't have enough oil in the pan. The batter also didn't stay crispy, but I think that was a temperature issue as well. I would definitely use the recipe again and pay more attention to the oil. It had great flavor and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Delicious! The batter was crisp and golden, and didn't fall off at all. I used half beer and half water since I don't like beer. I also made onion rings, like someone suggested as I didn't have any potatoes. The onion rings could have used some spices in the batter, but the fish was great without any changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      So I was hoping my kids would finally eat some fish, but alas...what do they know? This was the second time I have used this recipe. The beer batter is terrific! My husband said this was better than any fish he'd had in the UK. We made the fries the first time we tried this and they were terrific, too. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Good recipe for a fish fry. My only "problem" with the recipe....I was a bit unclear about the directions for the "chips"...and then realized they are "fries." I didn't deep-fry instead I fried in a pan with just enough oil to almost cover...so I had to flip fish over half-way through. Tasted delish! Thanks, Karen, for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Wow! This batter was awesome! I used cheap Keystone Light beer and baking soda that's been around for years and it still turned out light and crispy. Not at all greasy, either. I used pollock instead of cod since it was half the price for twice as much at the grocery store. My fish was long and skinny so it cooked in about 3 minutes. I will use this recipe again. The husband is a fried fish fanatic and he loved this. I gives me an alternative to the cornmeal coated catfish I usually make. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      So delicious! I made my chips in the oven, tossed in oil at 400 degrees for 30 minutes, so I could serve everything hot. I also used halibut cheeks based on a recommendation from my seafood department, and they were AMAZING! I used Newcastle in my batter and it was excellent, both in batter and for drinking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      What can a 53rd reviewer possibly add? This was my first time ever using a beer batter - and I must say that it turned out better than I had hoped. I made them in a 12 QT pot, did 3 at a time, I made about 12 pieces and after keeping them warm in the oven they seemed a little too crispy. Not sure if they dried out, or if I deep fried them too long. Just a quick nuke under some saran wrap and they were softer. I am going to use this batter for some onion rings and some veggies in the near future. Thanks French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      great easy recipe! Hubby loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      This turned out great. Love the batter. So did my DH. Got the tarter sauce to go with this, but everyone only ended up using the malt vinegar or nothing, the flavor was so good. I used Yukon Gold potatoes. They came out really good. Once they were cut up I soaked them in a bowl of water. Then I let them dry on a cookie sheet, covered with some paper towels. Any that were still damp I patted dry. Delish...thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Easy and delicious. I used the batter for both fish and shrimp. My husband loved the potatoes! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      It was the perfect recipe for my family. It wasn't heavy at all and the batter expanded more than expected in a good way! Fantastic thank you so much!!! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      This was so good! I added garlic powder and chili powder to the batter- we like things with a kick- and my non fish eating bf loved it! i dont have a deep fryer so i just put some oil in a pot, heated it thoroughly, and fried the fish 3-4 min on each side. Didn't have potatos so served this with rice. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Real English Fish and Chips With Yorkshire Beer Batter

    Serving Size: 1 (680 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 633.2
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    25%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 99.3 mg
    33%
    Sodium 463.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.4 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 52.7 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites