109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Had long been searching for a traditional London fish and chips recipe. Full fat and all! Followed instructions exactly -- including the British beer. Extremely pleased with this and will make again. Easy delicious comfort food with a salute to England.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lightnessofbeing87 December 31, 2014

6-9-2104 As an update, we continue to use this recipe when ever we have fried fish. Remains the best I've found. As usual FT your recipe is a winner. This is the first time I've tried to deep fry fish and this was sooooo good. DGSs love fried anything, and this fit the bill for a quick and actually very easy dinner. I didn't use the chips, just the battered fish and we loved it. I followed the recipe and used my deep fryer to make. Tasted so much like the fish we remeber and love in England on our visit. I did use tilapia as that was all we had and it was great. Can't thank you enough for posting a recipe my DGSs enjoyed as much as we did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 June 09, 2014

@catfuzz and those who cannot get the batter to stick to the fish. Dredge the fish in flour first then the batter. Make sure the cooking oil is super hot so the fish will cook quickly and thus not be oily or greasy. If you don't want to use beer, seltzer water works very well. Also, I use cornstarch with the flour and that makes for a crunchier texture. If using beer or seltzer or soda water, it is best not to let the batter sit as the bubbles dissipate. Beer works best because it has much more carbonation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_Fortuna May 22, 2014

I made this recipe a few nights ago. I halved the recipe for one person. I partially thawed fresh sole that I had in my freezer. I dredged the fish in flour and let the batter sit for about half an hour before cooking. I cooked it in my small Cuisenart Deep Fryer (apartment size for max. 2-3 people). I cooked it approx. 4 min. on one side, then turned it and cooked another 3 min. on the second side (at 325 degrees). I also made the home made Tartar recipe on this site (the one with the most reviews) (halved that recipe as well). The fish tasted excellent - it was moist and the batter not overdone. With the home made tartar sauce and I also purchased pure malt vinegar to go along with it (and made the home made fries as well). It was delicious and tasted just like the English Style Fish and Chips that you buy in the restaurants. I have saved this recipe as a "Keeper". For the Tartar sauce I used chopped dill pickle chopped fine. It was a very delicious meal. I had a little less than half a can of beer left so drank that with the meal. Would recommend this recipe to anyone who enjoys English style Fish and Chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.cheryl April 09, 2014

Great recipe, works as advertised. Cod came out moist and tender inside a perfectly fried outside. Just follow the directions!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lawcmpbell March 26, 2014

This is an excellent recipe but be careful of the temperature when going from the chips to the fish. Although I let the fryer cool down some, it wasn't enough and the fish cooked really fast. Next time, I'll monitor the hot oil more closely. For the fish, I used fresh Cod and Russet potatoes. Since I had some Shiner Bock handy, that's what I used for the beer. Everything was very tasty and the batter was light and crispy. Having grown up in a fishing town where we had Fish and Chip stores all over the city, I can tell you, this recipe turned out some really good F&C!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TriniPop February 13, 2014

Nice batter! We used a dark ale (as that's what I had on hand). Yes, the batter turned a brown color, but it was the beer! Yum. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARathkamp July 27, 2013

I had a feeling something was missing from my recipe. Something kept telling me to try some lemon juice in the batter. After finding this recipe. I definitely see that is was a missing piece.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonic98 May 22, 2013

Just had this for dinner. Super easy and even without the need to chill the batter it turned out well. Mix, dip, fry that's all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bonnie Victoria May 15, 2013

ey this is the real English Fish & Chips I tried it out and it is delicious, great job thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
felsan April 04, 2013
Real English Fish and Chips With Yorkshire Beer Batter