Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Real English Fish and Chips With Yorkshire Beer Batter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Real English Fish and Chips With Yorkshire Beer Batter

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2014

      I made this recipe a few nights ago. I halved the recipe for one person. I partially thawed fresh sole that I had in my freezer. I dredged the fish in flour and let the batter sit for about half an hour before cooking. I cooked it in my small Cuisenart Deep Fryer (apartment size for max. 2-3 people). I cooked it approx. 4 min. on one side, then turned it and cooked another 3 min. on the second side (at 325 degrees). I also made the home made Tartar recipe on this site (the one with the most reviews) (halved that recipe as well). The fish tasted excellent - it was moist and the batter not overdone. With the home made tartar sauce and I also purchased pure malt vinegar to go along with it (and made the home made fries as well). It was delicious and tasted just like the English Style Fish and Chips that you buy in the restaurants. I have saved this recipe as a "Keeper". For the Tartar sauce I used chopped dill pickle chopped fine. It was a very delicious meal. I had a little less than half a can of beer left so drank that with the meal. Would recommend this recipe to anyone who enjoys English style Fish and Chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Great recipe, works as advertised. Cod came out moist and tender inside a perfectly fried outside. Just follow the directions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      This is an excellent recipe but be careful of the temperature when going from the chips to the fish. Although I let the fryer cool down some, it wasn't enough and the fish cooked really fast. Next time, I'll monitor the hot oil more closely. For the fish, I used fresh Cod and Russet potatoes. Since I had some Shiner Bock handy, that's what I used for the beer. Everything was very tasty and the batter was light and crispy. Having grown up in a fishing town where we had Fish and Chip stores all over the city, I can tell you, this recipe turned out some really good F&C!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      Nice batter! We used a dark ale (as that's what I had on hand). Yes, the batter turned a brown color, but it was the beer! Yum. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      I had a feeling something was missing from my recipe. Something kept telling me to try some lemon juice in the batter. After finding this recipe. I definitely see that is was a missing piece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2013

      Just had this for dinner. Super easy and even without the need to chill the batter it turned out well. Mix, dip, fry that's all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      ey this is the real English Fish & Chips I tried it out and it is delicious, great job thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      freakin' crazy good. And malt vinegar is an awesome condiment. It was all gone faster than I could cook it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      Absolutely awesome recipe!! Crispy, flaky batter, just like in a fish and chip shop!! Thanks for sharing your mom's recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      Because 95 reviews aren't enough! This is an excellent recipe for true pub-style fish & chips. The batter holds to the fish nicely. Frying at 365 degrees produced a perfect crunch and color and the fish was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Absolutely wonderful beer batter recipe, I even found an english beer at the LCBO in my small town to make it authentic! I ended up making onion rings instead of french fries to use up the excess batter and those were delicious too. Hot enough oil makes a HUGE difference. Fish I used was cod and I just estimated the cooking time based on the color of the batter and it turned out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      What a terrific recipe! I just dumped in the ingredients without really measuring and it turned out great! How many recipes can you do that with???? Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      I honestly could not get this batter to stick to my fish, It looked fine until it came to flipping the fish. It would then just slip off the fish as I flipped it over. I was completely annoyed. I don't know; it was snowing yesterday maybe that is what it was! I wish it would have worked, as I do love a good fish and chip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Excelent recipe!! I tried the recipe for the first time during Lent and my family just loved it.

      Now, I do it anytime during the year. Thank you for sharing your mom's recipe. We are including this recipe to our "family recipes".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      A winner! Even the kids loved it. Used flounder and cod, American beer (could not find a single can of English beer at the liquor store) and 1/4 tsp of salt in the batter. Didn't have malt vinegar so used jazzed up balsamic vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      Excelente !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      Fantastic and absolutely right on !!! Does not disappoint !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      French Tart, I wish I had you in the kitchen all the time!!
      This is the best batter I have had. Just coated fresh flathead fillets (caught myself 2 hours ago) with this batter. What a delight!
      Flathead is an Australian fish with sweet white flesh, not many fish taste better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Amazingly easy. By far the best deep fry batter I have ever tried. I did let it sit in the frig overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      I'd love to give this higher marks because I love many of FT's recipes and photos but this one fell short on flavor for us. It made an incredibly beautiful golden and crispy crust on our fish, onion rings and zucchini strips but the batter needs to be seasoned heavily with salt and pepper to get any flavor. I had to make two batches to cover everything we cooked, 4 Tilapia fillets, 1 large onion, 1 regular zucchini. The first batch I added about a teaspoon of salt so when I realized I had to whip up a second batch I added about two teaspoons and it was still bland. I'm keeping it for future use but have to keep tweaking the seasonings. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Real English Fish and Chips With Yorkshire Beer Batter

    Serving Size: 1 (680 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 633.2
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    25%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 99.3 mg
    33%
    Sodium 463.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 94.4 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 52.7 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites