9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I took someones advice with the green chiles and cheese and it was AMAZING! It should have it's own recipe on this website!!! I wasn't able to add the creole or the sweet cream corn and it still came out perfect. I cooked it at 425 but for only 20 minutes so it wasn't dried out at all and there was a nice crisp crust at the top ( I made the muffins ) and instead of grating the cheese I did chunks so I could get nice pockets of cheddar throughout the muffin. I strongly suggest adding the green chiles and cheese! You can always add more chiles and cheese and make it as strong as you like but the original idea has a nice hint of flavor that keeps it from over powering the whole thing. Quick Tip: If you are using a muffin pan and get to where you have used up all of you batter and some of the cups don't have batter in them, put water in the empty cups before placing in the oven to promote even cooking.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashlee is a great cook May 10, 2011

My variation on this Jiffy Mix box receipe is slightly spicy: Ingredients: 2 8-oz boxes Jiffy 2 large eggs 1/2 cup milk 4 oz can chopped green chilies 1 tsp creole seasoning 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese Making according to same recipe below. Do not drain chilis. I make this variation yearly for our chili cookoff at work and it's a big hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bflygirl January 28, 2009

bland. needs something to jazz it up

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dinazane_5507748 November 28, 2013

Made as stated with superb results. Not too pudding like and not too dry! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama December 24, 2011

I made this cornbread to go with a Spicy Beef Vegetable Stew and it complimented the dish so well. I added to the batter, a small can of green chilies, and about a 1/4 to 1/2 cup cheddar cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SapphiresBlue December 05, 2009

Holy Moly!! This cornbread is unbelievably delicious!! I made it just as written (used light sour cream) and it was HEAVENLY! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinBOberrin October 06, 2009

I enjoyed this cornbread. This will be made again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mightyro_cooking4u July 12, 2009

i love this style cornbread so much. i first had it at a mexican resturant a while ago. then my family started making it from scratch and its so light and fluffy and divine!! AMAZING!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pennyj44 June 30, 2009

I love this recipe even though I also make my mamma's from scratch cornbread as well. We love it as is, but we also love it with fried, crumbled bacon and shredded cheddar added in. If I'm in a hurry, I use the Oscar Mayer Real Bacon Bits. The amount depends on how much bacon you want in your cornbread, but we like alot so I usually use the whole package. It's quick and very delish. Especially good served with a pot of creamy potato soup. Really quick, really good comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarshHen September 22, 2008
Real Corn Cornbread (With Jiffy Mix)