Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Real Authentic Italian Tomato Sauce (No Can's Here) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Real Authentic Italian Tomato Sauce (No Can's Here)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2011

      I'm a southern girl and we grow our own tomatoes for canning. You can easily remove the skins by placing whole,uncored tomatoes into simmering water. After about a minute,plunge them into cold tap water. At this point,core them and slip the skins right off. Much easier than trying to handle a tomato from a hot pot of olive oil. BTW.....love love this recipe!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This sauce is exceptional and one of the few recipes for tomato sauce that is a real authentic Italian recipe. I am third generation Italian-American and this is almost as good as her homemade tomato sauce. So if a real authentic Italian tomato sauce recipe is what you are looking for, look no further.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      Yum - this is a sauce full of 'tomatoey' goodness! I also liked how the garlic and basil gave it the earthy flavours it needed :) I added some dried oregano flakes to suit my taste and the end result was a very tasty & aromatic sauce. Cooking it down only took an hour for me (I wonder if I was doing it correctly...) so I ended up finely dicing the garlic. I certainly would make this sauce again when I have the time - it has a wholesome texture and aroma that you don't get from ready-made sauces. It's worth trying!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      This is a wonderful recipe! Thank you for sharing. Fresh is always superior. I promise you will never again be satisfied with a store bought sauce & your in control of the salt etc. I make mine almost exactly the same only I make it in smaller quantities, quicker. I also like mine a bit juicier too reducing the time involved again. I sometimes use only 4 or 5 tomatoes (by the way - any fresh tomato tastes yummy) in an evening after work. One or two cloves of garlic, few fresh picked basil leaf's & presto - your done. Note: when tomatoes are in season I purchase & freeze them (as is) & run them under hot water to remove the skins or cook them too. They boil down to nothing & are good for you too. Enjoy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2014

      Has anyone canned this recipe? I am worried about freezing. I heard tomato sauce doesn't freeze well. Any suggestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      This is a great sauce! Adding the fresh basil at the end is perfect. Cooking it will cause flavor loss. This is a good slow cooker recipe I think. I guess I would make a big batch and divide it up and freeze to use when I needed it. I would leave the basil out and add it right before serving. I usually top my pizza right out of the oven with a basil chiffonade. Thanks for posting this. If anyone is interested, adding a little sugar will remove some of the acidic taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      This sauce is amazing, time consuming, yes, but the end product is well worth it, my first time making pizza I decided to go with this sauce while my dough didn't come out perfect everyone was raving about the sauce, as I have come to learn with Italian cuisine the fewer the ingredients the better the end product, just try to make sure everything you use is as fresh as possible and you will have an amazing pizza sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      This sauce is out of this world! I had the time to spend making this yesterday and started early in the day. This recipe is so easy, so natural and so authentic tasting! My only problem was, I should've started with double the amount of tomatoes so I would have more leftovers! Made this with Kittencalskitchen's meatballs and the finished product was belissimo!! Thanks, In Training, for a terrific, easy and authentic tasting sauce! This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      You are so right...This is the best sauce EVER. I used Polish Linguisa tomatoes from my garden along with a few other fresh tomatoes. Didn't need to cook it as long. It thicken quick. Did everything else as stated. I have been looking for a recipe like this for years. I believe that eating at home is the best restaurant in town. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Wow - Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is the best sauce I've ever had. After spending a lot of money on the only one or two brands of store-bought sauce that I will eat, I am now going to make this. I used very ripe and sweet tomatoes, and followed your recipe exactly. The taste was so sweet, fresh, and rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      Since eating fabulous arrabiata in Rome, I have searched the internet for an authentic recipe. I didn't have time to do the whole tomato thing with this recipe (I did use fresh tomatoes though!) but what I loved was the way to cook the garlic. It gives that rich, sweet garlicky flavour that I just could never get by frying chopped garlic. Thank you! I will try the recipe proper and am sure it will be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      excellent sauce... just like back home in southern italy! i added meatballs to mine and fresh basil at the end. and yes, it takes all day to make, but once it simmers, it's low maintenance. not bad at all, just takes planning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      I made this yesterday with your technique which was much too messy for me. Today I used the tomato peeler before starting the project and then cooked & stirred the tomatoes at the two 15 minute intervals adding crushed garlic, done with a press, about an hour before it was finished. Very intense flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Real Authentic Italian Tomato Sauce (No Can's Here)

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 123.0
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    54%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 16.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites