Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Rays of Sunshine - Homemade Candied Orange Peel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rays of Sunshine - Homemade Candied Orange Peel

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2011

      This was a great recipe! Instead of caster sugar, I just used regular granulated sugar and they turned out great! They weren't as hard as they sound! Now I don't have to waste any more orange peels!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      I made this and was so impressed, sure it was a bit fiddly and time consuming but worth it, I use to buy choc coated orange peel for a treat..now! I make my own. A great recipe and worth making for sure!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Oh my gosh, these are good. And they were a lot easier and quicker to make than I first expected them to be. I would like to try this again and use a mix of orange, lemon and grapefruit peels. Thanks, French Tart. We enjoyed making these as a family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      We used lemon peels instead, they turned out great, Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I'm swimming in oranges now and this is a good way to use up those peels. Lovely. Think I'll try with grapefruit too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      My Goodness, these are spectacular. Someone earlier describe them as being like those citrus jelly candies. She was right on the mark there. I have two Jars of Gold in my cupboard now. I used navel oranges, and their skins and pith were quite thick, so the process took longer, but well worth the wait. Thanks FT, For another fantastic recipe. I didn't take a photo. The ones already posted say it all. I'd like to say I made these for a particular event, but I didn't. I made them just for *ME*. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      What a beautiful, delicious finished product! I've had this recipe saved for a few months, biding my time until Christmas. My grandmother always makes ambrosia, which requires about 20-30 oranges, so I figured that would be the best time to try this out. I made a huge batch - quadrupling this recipe - and it turned out great. They're still drying right now...but that doesn't stop us from eating them! **I did find, with the large quantity that I made, that it was better to divide the mixture into 2 different pans ... and it STILL took much longer than 45-60 minutes to boil down. This is quite a process, but the results are worth the time. Thanks French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      This is the way my late husband's mother taught me to make candied orange peel and it is a Christmas tradition in our house. It tastes wonderful. Reminds me of those jellied orange slice candies here in the US that we ate as kids only better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      These taste wonderful. I hope to use them in recipes if I do not eat them first. I did not know how to measure a kilo. I used 4 large navel oranges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I never make anything that calls for candied orange peel, but I had a lot of oranges that I was about to juice, and I saw this recipe, so I saved the peels and candied them. They've been a big hit--lots of people have asked how I did it, so I've passed this recipe on. We're just nibbling on it--yum! (And it keeps getting better every day.) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Great recipe! I love the flavor! I did slice the oranges first, then cooked. I like to nibble for a yummy snack! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Very orange-y! I made these because I had oranges that weren't good for eating, but didn't want them to go to waste. They were easy to make but required a bit of a time commitment. Now if I can only think of something to do with them, because they're quite strong for munching on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Funny thing happened while eating an orange--thought of your homemade candied orange peel. So using one orange peelings, made some to use for Christmas baking. Ate a small sample--yum! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      These strips of oranges still have BITE in them! I like that. (: And they are pretty, too. I was asked today to make a wedding cake for a co-worker's wedding on New Year's Eve. I also need to make a fruit cake for the groom. These candied oranges may be just the ticket! Thanks, Frenchie! (:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rays of Sunshine - Homemade Candied Orange Peel

    Serving Size: 1 (1678 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1530.4
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    52%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 392.3 g
    130%
    Dietary Fiber 18.8 g
    75%
    Sugars 372.8 g
    1491%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes