13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is so good! I originally was embarking on this raw kale journey by myself, however, on the night I was making it I ended up at a neighbor's impromptu potluck! To my relief, everyone loved it & it really stole the show! Great, Simple, Healthy, Raw - I will be making this often. I used a full clove of garlic, dried and chopped up a slice of whole wheat bread drying it out lightly via a toaster oven and it was all wonderful. I even ended up only using store-bought grated cheese - I can imagine how yummy this would be with a nice quality, sharp pecorino or parmesan freshly microplaned at home. Yum. Also, we all loved the lemon zest in the dressing and really couldn't imagine this recipe without it! Thank you so much for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaia22 November 10, 2010

Sooooooooo Gooooood!!!!!! This is excellent, way beyond 5 stars!!! This is just about the same recipe for the Tuscan Kale Salad that I just had at Dr. Weil's restaurant, True Food Kitchen. Here is their recipe, http://www.foxrc.com/tfk_recipes/TFK_Kale_Salad.pdf The salty pecorino with the lemon juice gives the kale a fabulous flavor!!!! Love the addition of lemon zest in your recipe Japanese Delight!! I wish so much that I could find the black lacinato kale in the store because that's the kind that I had at the restaurant but I used regular green curly kale and it was still wonderful!!! I could eat a whole bowl of this salad, thanks so much for posting!!!! Will definitely make on a regular basis!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee June 08, 2009

Loved this with Ricotta Kale and spinach grudi.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound August 23, 2014

I would have given this only 4 stars because I found the dressing far too lemony. However, both my husband and daughter gobbled it up and raved and said I shouldn't change a thing. My 6 year old daughter (who's never even eaten salad before!) begged me to make kale salad every day and to take it for snack the next day. I'd say that turning a 6 year on to kale in a big way is worth the extra star! :-) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emcquaid February 20, 2014

One word: AWESOME!! I made this for a covered dish luncheon, sampled some and had to exercise GREAT restraint to not dig into that bowl all by myself!! Thank you so much, Japanese Delight, for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B May 16, 2013

Very good. Easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoannM139 March 03, 2013

Made this for our family reunion. It was a hit! Several people wanted the recipe. I also added pumpkin and sunflower seeds. Will make this again and again! Thanks for the great recipe Japanese Delight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bodivo August 06, 2012

This was awesome! One thing I did that made even better IMO was to add some chopped yellow bell pepper. Awesome! Even my husband who likes more meat heavy and processed foods requests it constantly. If you don't have lemon zest, and just have even bottled lemon juice it's still great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aquamaryne April 25, 2012

This was so simple to make & tasted fantastic! I used regular kale, kraft grated parmesan, and a whole clove of garlic (gave it a little bite). Left out the lemon zest due to laziness, but added chopped grape tomatoes. This recipe is a keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseDanaStar March 09, 2012

I love kale, and usually include it in a mix of greens in my salads. This is a very strong, stand-alone salad. The dressing is wonderful. I used fresh cheese, and then added some shaved pieces as a garnish. I think next time I may add some toasted almonds or pine nuts....maybe some dried cranberries. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 21, 2012
Raw Tuscan Kale Salad With Pecorino