Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Raw Food: Brownies or Chocolate Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Raw Food: Brownies or Chocolate Bars

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2009

      Excellent, I was surprised it tasted that good. Most raw foods I make are just okay to pretty good...but this is excellent! I made two batches, spread out in a pan, sprinkled chopped walnuts on top to look more like brownies. They still taste more like chewy fudge, than a brownie but that are great! I would make again in the future when wanting something chocolate. And would recommend this recipe for anyone looking for a raw food dessert or not wanting refined sugar, dairy or flour in their brownies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Great treat for a chocolate craving! So easy to throw together in the processor, and a very forgiving recipe - substitutes don't seem to hurt the end result at all. I used a mix of different nuts and added just a bit of vanilla. Made bite size balls (well, MY bite size!) and ended up with 17 of them. Thanks Miss!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Although it's not like grandma's brownies, it does curb the cravings for sweets and what's better than chocolate? I did alter it a bit, I used raw cashews (I had them on hand) and prunes instead of dates (again on hand) oh and instead of carob, I used 5Tbs of cocoa powder (again used what I had available). There is a lot of potential for wonderful additions to this recipe, next time I am going to try adding some cherries cuz we all know they go great with chocolate ;) I did coat the balls (mine were a tad too fudgey to treat as bownies) with coconut but am looking forward to more experimentations in the future. Thank you for giving me some more inspiration in the kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Fabulous. This always saves us when we need a treat. I add 1/2 a cup whole raisins and some rum extract to the mixture just before rolling into balls. My kids love them too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      I LOVE these! They're easy to make, delicious, and healthy. I made a few substitutions based on what I had on hand. Instead of dates I used a mixture of prunes and dried apricots. I used 5 tablespoons of carob powder and no cocoa powder, and I used the agave nectar option. After pressing it into a pan, I sprinkled it with coconut. My diabetic husband enjoyed these too since they're not too sweet. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      We just had these as a treat after dinner and they were fabulous! Bet you can't eat just one! Made as written, rolled into ball shapes then into coconut. Delish! Thank you MissLinguist for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I have made these many times for my toddler. I have seen different versions of this recipe. The simplest one is just equal parts dates and walnuts plus cacao powder. I personally did not like the carob in this one, but my son thinks these are a great treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      i didn't have all the right ingredients and it was STILL good. i encourage anyone to try it with substitutes if you don't have what it calls for. (the cocoa will be necessary, of course.) i used almonds instead of walnuts, and cocoa-coconut butter instead of coconut and honey. THANK YOU!!! will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Although I didn't really follow the recipe exactly, it was very nice. After discovering I didn't have any walnuts I used a few macadamias and raw hazelnuts instead. I also chose to use raw cocoa beans that I peeled and ground up in a coffee grinder. I wasn't sure what kind of coconut to use so I just used shredded. I also used maple syrup. I made 4 small logs out of it. thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I really liked this, although I liberally subbed ingredients because I forgot to buy dates! I used cranberries and raisins instead (which defeats the "raw" bit, but meh). Anyway, tasted almost exactly like a Fruit & Nut bar. Awesome, I'll definitely make these again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Really good...I was inspired by mliss29's photo and rolled out balls that I dipped in different things...some in cocoa, some in sesame and golden flax seeds, some in crushed coconut...made up a terrific "little box of chocolates" for a fabulously special treat...love, love, LOVE!!!!- Thanks MissLinguist!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      Yummy and easy! I ate almost the whole plate myself! I will definitely make these again! Thanks! Reviewed for My-3-Chefs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Raw Food: Brownies or Chocolate Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.8
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    60%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    carob powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes