8 Reviews

Delicious!! I was tempted to mod the recipe. It didn't seem like it would be cheesy. But, after reading others' reviews, I decided to trust the recipe. I'm glad I did! They do taste just like Cheez Itz, but better!
I made them for a raw food potluck: huge hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dannydk July 25, 2011

One of my first RAW recipes & I'm glad!! This household will be having these stocked at ALL TIMES! Thanks so much for sharing :) BTW; I didn't use the tomato & added turmeric; delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaycieLove May 01, 2011

Oh my!! These are so good my mouth does a happy dance each time I bite into one! It's a good thing that they're so good because they were a little difficult to make. I had to process it in several small batches in order to get it somewhat smooth. Also, it took the better part of two days for my little dehydrator to get them done. After 4 hours I cut them into 'pie wedges' (my dehydrator is round) with a pizza cutter and then cut each wedge in half across the middle. I didn't have any problems with my crackers crumbling at all that way. I did have one question, however...was I supposed to drain the nuts after I soaked them or was I supposed to process them liquid and all? I drained them and I was wondering if maybe that was why they were so difficult to process in one batch. Well - whatever because the end result was totally worth it. Thanks so much for giving me such a wonderful recipe for my first venture into raw crackers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brighid March 03, 2011

These are still in the dehydrator and I have been nibbling at the edges! I can't wait for them to be done, they're awesome already! Easy breezy ... and they do taste cheezy! Delish! Thank you vigilant20 for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B March 16, 2010

These were sooooo easy to make. I put them in the fruit roll-up trays that go with my Nesco. I filled the trays up even with the top and got about 1.5 trays-full. I was surprised that they really do taste kind of like a Cheezit. My kids think they look too weird and haven't tried them. lol. I'm thinking about getting a beef jerky extruder, so I can try making somewhat more uniform crackers. Maybe then the kids will bite. Thanks for the easy trek into raw crackers. A very good place to start!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 March 07, 2010

Another 5 stars from me! This was my first attempt at raw crackers, and I couldn't be more pleased. My only slight complaint is that I had no luck with the whole cutting and flipping after 8 hours thing. They were just breaking into pieces, so I decided to leave them alone. Wondering if I didn't spread them thin enough? Of course, after 24 hours, I had to break them into pieces, but they were still so good, if not remotely near rectangles lol. So there were alot of crumbs, which could be perceived as waste... or a great add to a salad, which they were! I had to restrain myself from adding nutritional yeast. I kindof got addicted to it when I first discovered it after going dairy free. But I decided to trust the recipe and find out if there was really any cheese semblance. Well! Not only did I notice it, but I took some to a playdate and had my friends try them. One of the first comments I got was, "Is there cheese in these?!" :D It is a mystery to me. I am new to raw and now so intrigued my the whole idea of "nut cheeses". Can't wait to experiment!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neomia December 13, 2009

These are so good! However I wish to know how many trays this will fill in a dehydrator or how thin to spread. I filled 3 sheets in my 4 tray and they were too thin I think. The taste was perfect, glad I was able to get a taste of them. They were so yummy that my lab broke into the dehydrator and finished them all off. Time to make another batch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamajenna October 09, 2009

Loved these...made for "Healthy Choices Tag" -this is my new favorite recipe and the easiest raw cracker I have ever tried- the only things a little different I did was add some jalapeno pepper with the red and tossed a bit of cracked pepper into the mix 'cause I felt like some heat that day ...really taste "cheesy", rich and buttery...fantastic, fabulous cracker-melt in your mouth good...definitely for everyone not just raw food fans...thanks vigilant20 !! ----->>>made for "Healthy Choices Tag" (this is my new favorite recipe and the easiest raw cracker I have ever tried)-YUM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free January 29, 2009
Raw Cheez Itz