28 Reviews

This is so, SO good, though I did make a couple of tweaks based on what some other reviewers have mentioned. I added 1 TBSP fresh lemon juice, kosher salt and ground black pepper to taste, and a handful (about 6) fresh basil leaves. Good golly!! I had to stop myself from shoveling it straight down my throat! :) Ended up using it as a "condiment" in some tilapia fish foil packets along with fresh spinach/zucc/squash/bell pepper and the flavor was fantastic! Can't wait to try this on pasta and as a dip for raw veggies and even tortilla chips. Would be great on bruschetta also. THANKS for sharing!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhondapalooza April 18, 2011

LOVED IT...kept it really raw and vegan by using nutritional yeast, lemon and ground walnuts as my "parm"...doubled everything but the oil added sea salt, and tri pepper and served with raw crackies and sprouted alphalpha as really green sammies ...super good ! ;) Thanks for a great recipe share...so versatile - gonna be pulling this out of my bag a tricks a lot!! ;)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free May 05, 2009

Excellent! We enjoyed ours over zucchini "spaghetti" and it was plumb wonderful! We love pesto, so this will become a staple in our house as a dressing for "pasta" and a veggie dip. Thank you so much for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B January 07, 2010

Easy, and very good. We served it over brown rice this evening. Made it as written the first time so that I could rate it. Warrants the 5-stars. In subsequent versions, we've added lemon juice--keeps it bright green and adds some citrus. We've also added basil.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DocComp August 16, 2009

This is delicious. I reduced the oil to 1/3 cup, and I added black pepper and the juice of half a lemon. It was very bright and flavourful on its own, but I found the flavour was much more muted when served on pasta and fish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lumberjackie June 22, 2010

this was very good!! I did about half the oil... used vegan Parmesan cheese... added some fresh basil... added some lemon juice... and some almond milk to make it more creamy/pourable ... oh, and just a little vegan mozzarella cheese... and used it for pasta! it was great!! And I dont even LIKE asparagus!! so that's sayin a WHOLE lot!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiphyvegan October 11, 2007

We got a ton of asparagus in our Bountiful Basket last week, and this recipe was a great easy way to use some of it in a new way. We are garlic lovers in this house, therefore this recipe was WELL received. Glad I tried it out just before St. Patty's, this will be a great easy green side to bring to a get-together this weekend (good thing mistletoe isn't a part of this holiday... I still taste the garlic a day later). I am very intrigued by the flavor of raw asparagus (I had never tried it raw before this) and will keep trying this recipe with my own twists and ad-libs depending on what we've got at home. And I agree with Leslie, we are also feeling cleansed. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejo801 March 14, 2014

Never would I have thought I'd actually enjoy eating the dreaded asparagus, but when it's dipped in this heavenly creation called pesto, It's to DIE for

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rather_tasty June 29, 2013

This was great way to use up excess asparagus! I added some basil and lemon juice plus pepper. It was a hit with all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka June 23, 2013

I never thought of using asaragus for a pesto. I cut the oil in half, used 1 large clove of garlic, zest of one lemon and about 3 T. of lemon juice, 1/4 cup of slivered almonds-toasted, and a dash of cayenne and salt. Tasted great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
c1ginn March 22, 2012
Raw Asparagus Pesto