Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Raw Asparagus Pesto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Raw Asparagus Pesto

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2011

      This is so, SO good, though I did make a couple of tweaks based on what some other reviewers have mentioned. I added 1 TBSP fresh lemon juice, kosher salt and ground black pepper to taste, and a handful (about 6) fresh basil leaves. Good golly!! I had to stop myself from shoveling it straight down my throat! :) Ended up using it as a "condiment" in some tilapia fish foil packets along with fresh spinach/zucc/squash/bell pepper and the flavor was fantastic! Can't wait to try this on pasta and as a dip for raw veggies and even tortilla chips. Would be great on bruschetta also. THANKS for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      LOVED IT...kept it really raw and vegan by using nutritional yeast, lemon and ground walnuts as my "parm"...doubled everything but the oil added sea salt, and tri pepper and served with raw crackies and sprouted alphalpha as really green sammies ...super good ! ;) Thanks for a great recipe share...so versatile - gonna be pulling this out of my bag a tricks a lot!! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Excellent! We enjoyed ours over zucchini "spaghetti" and it was plumb wonderful! We love pesto, so this will become a staple in our house as a dressing for "pasta" and a veggie dip. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Easy, and very good. We served it over brown rice this evening. Made it as written the first time so that I could rate it. Warrants the 5-stars. In subsequent versions, we've added lemon juice--keeps it bright green and adds some citrus. We've also added basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This is delicious. I reduced the oil to 1/3 cup, and I added black pepper and the juice of half a lemon. It was very bright and flavourful on its own, but I found the flavour was much more muted when served on pasta and fish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      this was very good!! I did about half the oil... used vegan Parmesan cheese... added some fresh basil... added some lemon juice... and some almond milk to make it more creamy/pourable ... oh, and just a little vegan mozzarella cheese... and used it for pasta! it was great!! And I dont even LIKE asparagus!! so that's sayin a WHOLE lot!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2014

      We got a ton of asparagus in our Bountiful Basket last week, and this recipe was a great easy way to use some of it in a new way. We are garlic lovers in this house, therefore this recipe was WELL received. Glad I tried it out just before St. Patty's, this will be a great easy green side to bring to a get-together this weekend (good thing mistletoe isn't a part of this holiday... I still taste the garlic a day later). I am very intrigued by the flavor of raw asparagus (I had never tried it raw before this) and will keep trying this recipe with my own twists and ad-libs depending on what we've got at home. And I agree with Leslie, we are also feeling cleansed. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

      Never would I have thought I'd actually enjoy eating the dreaded asparagus, but when it's dipped in this heavenly creation called pesto, It's to DIE for

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      This was great way to use up excess asparagus! I added some basil and lemon juice plus pepper. It was a hit with all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

      I never thought of using asaragus for a pesto. I cut the oil in half, used 1 large clove of garlic, zest of one lemon and about 3 T. of lemon juice, 1/4 cup of slivered almonds-toasted, and a dash of cayenne and salt. Tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Really enjoyed this recipe! What a good idea for asparagus. I will cut back on the oil next time as others have said and I might try to make a recipe with basil and asparagus sometime. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      I'm bummed. I like the concept of this recipe, but I just didn't think the flavors went well together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      I made this as directed except I used 4 cloves of garlic and added salt to taste. This as a dip with roasted garlic triscuits is great and will be one of my go to snacks from now on. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      We loved it; I did it with a lots of garlic and it turned out to be great.

      Sure a keeper, now I don't have to worry about rough Asparagus stems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      Wonderful! This is perfect food! I added only salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      This is a delicious recipe. I would recommend a few changes. First I say 2 large cloves of garlic or 3 small cloves, I used three large and it was quite garlicy. I also cut the oil to 1/3 c. and added 2 TBSP lemon juice. I didn't have fresh parmesan so I used dried and it turned out fine. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Awesome - had just a little over a cup of fresh asparagus, so made this. Ate it with tortilla chips. Thanks for a new way to use up asparagus. Just had to add a note. My dh who hates asparagus tried this and liked it. I kind of forgot to tell him it was made with asparagus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I thought this was an excellent pesto. I added some pine nuts and a dash of salt and pepper. My husband and I both ate more than our fill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I had 25 guests for Easter and not one person liked it. I ended up throwing it away. The taste combo was awful. I even tried adding a bit of fresh basil as others suggested but it did not help. Sorry. At first I thought it was just me, but I asked everyone to try it with either fresh vegies or crackers and they all gave it a thumbs down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      This is delicious. I doubled the recipe, added kosher salt and served it over home made pasta. A little lighter on the olive oil. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Raw Asparagus Pesto

    Serving Size: 1 (39 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.1
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    92%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 3.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 64.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes