24 Reviews

Fabulous! Made exactly as written, except for using Medjool dates which are more moist and sweeter than regular dates, and took it to a dinner party of omnivores. They all loved it and jokingly jousted for left overs! Thank you for a delicious, healthy dessert! I can see this in our regular rotation of favorites.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B February 17, 2010

Very good healthy dessert!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khai loves to eat December 11, 2009

Even with 4 of us, I decided to cut this recipe in half, & as tasty as it was, I'm glad I did, although my son would happily have taken any leftovers home with him, I'm sure! I really enjoyed the combo of apples, raisins & dates in this dessert, as well as the fact that it was healthily uncooked! Many thanks for a great tasting treat! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 19, 2009

I made just one serving in a ramekin as my nephew is not fond of apples. I used a golden delicious apple and it came out beautifully. It was great to make a dessert without using the oven, very nice indeed. Thanks Sam, for posting another keeper recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 20, 2008

Honeycrisp apples are on sale now, so used them for this and halved the recipe. Because they were so sweet, I also used dried cranberries and wish I had doubled it because it was such a good combo. I could have gone without the dates and it still would have been good. Thanks for sharing, will definately make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtney Elizabeth September 25, 2008

Really good! I used Gala apples and I let it sit a couple hours before trying it. I went right back for another serving! Thanks! Reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 September 25, 2008

very yummy. From the other reviews I expected it to be good but I was honestly suprised at how yummy and simple it was. I served it to meat and three veg kind of people and they thought it was lovely. My husband who doesn't like dates (well at least he doesn't think he does) loved it. Thanks for posting. Very good and nutritious recipe. I am already thinking of possible variations like cherries or pear and apple etc.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canthelpmyself August 28, 2008

Wow, I made this a while ago and just realized I forgot to rate it! One word, though: AMAZING!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child June 26, 2008

I just made this recipe for my kids. It is simple to make. I used mcintosh and gala apples. Next time I'll use only mcintosh apples as I liked the softer consistency they have. Also, I'll try less cinnamon. This recipe is a wonderful fall treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just MJ November 25, 2007

Wow, what an amazing dessert!! This was a BIG hit with my family. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and used gala apples. I've added it to our annual Christmas party menu. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Harriet~ September 22, 2007
Raw Apple Crumble (No Bake)