97 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! What a great recipe! I cleaned out the kitchen sink with this. I added all sorts of fresh veggies I had in the fridge, including green beans, asparagus, celery, poatoes. I went a little overboard and had to press down on the lid of the crock pot to get it to close. It made a lot! I froze quite a bit of the leftovers for future use. So far I have had this with pasta, as a pizza base, and on a toasted baguette as an open faced sandwich. This recipe is so versatile you can so soooo much with it, and it is delicious!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toohot4u August 19, 2010

Really liked this. I thought it was a little boring just eating it plain, but it makes the best sandwiches ever. I buttered up some dutch crunch rolls and toasted them in the oven, then melted some mozzarella on one side and added the ratatouille. It was pretty messy because the ratatouille is so juicy, but it was amazing! I think I could eat those sandwiches every day.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicolepierce1989 August 11, 2010

My DH & DD loved this recipie. I did have a few additions and two substitution. In place of the fresh tomatoes I used 2 28oz cans of diced, and I added diced celery, carrots and zucchini. I didn't have red pepper flakes so I used chili powder instead. This recipie was a great base to start with and is awsome even without my changes! Thanks so much!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elliemae Clampet February 17, 2003

The is the best ratatouille recipe I have tried. Smelled really good as it cooked. I made this with vegetables from my garden and used everything the recipe called for. Plus I added 1 jalapeno pepper and 1 hot Hungarian pepper. And instead of 4 zucchini I used 2 yellow squash and 2 zucchini. Also used 1 T dried parsley instead of 2 T fresh, and 1/2 t red pepper flakes. It came out with a bit of heat just how we like it. Served it over rice. Thank you for sharing this great recipe - Easy and Delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyldflower August 04, 2011

My whole family loved this! I did makes changes based on some reviews and my own personal taste. Added celery, baby bella mushrooms, red pepper, fennel seed, and some balsamic. I think it would be great with a bit of sherry or maybe some red wine as well. Thank you so much for an easy tasty dinner!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charps July 22, 2011

Turned out great. I did all of the prep the night before and put the crock (inner part) in the fridge over night. All I had to do was take it out and plug it in the next morning and dinner was pretty much ready when I got home. I used it to make mini pizzas, with whole wheat pita bread and cheese. Yumm. Looking forward to using the rest for some type of pasta dish. Added a lot of red pepper flakes and a splash of balsamic vinegar. Thanks for this great recipe, it's a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker January 19, 2006

I absolutely love ratatouille, but not quite like this. For me it lacked flavor. This made a lot. Will not make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative October 17, 2011

Loved it! This was my first experience with ratatouille and it was amazing. It's super easy to follow though the prep is a bit of work. Worth all the dicing and mincing in the end!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riah1984@yahoo.com September 01, 2011

Great recipe! The grocery store had all the ratatouille veggies half price so I had to buy them and then threw them in the crockpot. This is definitely the way to go with this. No more stovetop ratatouille for me. I followed the recipe except I cut the recipe in half. It was delicious. I served it over noodles. YUM!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty March 27, 2011

So easy to make and very flavorful. Our family loves this and it's so versatile - on pasta, rice, flatbread, naan, or pizza crust. It's great to freeze part of it for another time. Will make this time and time again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanieK February 24, 2011
Ratatouille in the Crock Pot