47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good! I made the recipe almost exactly as written ( I put the tomato paste and olives in at the beginning as did another reviewer). I too added about a teaspoon of sugar and a pinch of cinnamon (a trick from my Grandma) to reduce the acidity. It was great as a main course and I can see where it would work well in a rollup (burrito style) with some cheese. Yum! Thank you Bev, for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B January 31, 2009

I made this for my son becuase of the movie. I did everything except add the olives. He said it tasted like spaghetti without the noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plumshadow October 07, 2008

This recipe was great, even the 3 kids loved it. I made a double batch that we served first on its own then the second night with some leftover pesto pasta. It was great even for lunch the third day over some leftover white rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momto3 September 26, 2008

Maybe my expectations were too high since this had a 5 star rating. Unfortunately I have to give this recipe just 3 stars, because it was just okay, j that was my family's conclusion. I will not be making this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carryberry August 07, 2008

Healthy and so easy! I left it cooking (about 4 hours) and came home to a wonderfully smelling house! I probably cooked it too long, but it was still delicious. I also have to admit that I didn't have fresh basil, which I'm sure really adds to it. Thank you for posting a fantastic healthy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Elizabeth May 27, 2008

Made this for my vegan girlfriend, who raved about it. I found it pretty good, but nothing fantastic. Was very easy to make and I added capers to give it a little more salty taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrikesAgain May 26, 2008

Very easy to make. I made a mistake and put everything together even the tomato paste and the olives (kalamata), added some sugar as suggested, and it was Great!!!!. Tasted better the next day

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zuly Z May 07, 2008

This was the best ratatouille recipe. I added some thyme and capers. The feta was a very nice touch. Delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sparklebaby April 19, 2008

I had never prepared eggplant before, so this was a new thing for me (I ended up peeling it like a potato...). I scaled this down for 3 servings which is just about right for the two of us. It was a very tasty dish! Before serving, I transferred everything to a casserole dish, topped with some mozzarella, and put under the broiler for a few minutes. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven March 30, 2008

My husband wanted me to make ratatouille after he saw the movie. He was a little upset that it wasn't layered the way "Litlle Chef" did but after he tasted it he didn't care. He loved it even though it had the dreaded zuchinni. I added feta like suggested to the second helping and it really added to the flavor. Next time I will add red pepper flakes as suggested. Just a heads up, take into consideration the size of your crockpot (I had to squish it all in to get it into my little one.) Thanks for a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosiegirl February 16, 2008
Ratatouille (Crock Pot)