47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent flavor. Love the basil. I made this for DD and she didn't care for the texture of the eggplant (a new veg for her) so I'm going to puree some of it for spaghetti sauce and soups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario January 26, 2013

We made this recipe for a Disney-themed Halloween party where my husband dressed up as "Linguini" from the movie, "Ratatouille". I was happy with the short cooking time which allowed us to start preparing the dish in the afternoon and finish by the evening. The recipe is relatively healthy and easy to prepare, with the most work involving chopping vegetables and "sweating out the bitter" of the eggplant. While the crock pot was doing its thing we got dressed in our costumes, did my character makeup and hair. We used all fresh and organic ingredients from the farmer's market in the spirit of Gusteau!

This was even more delicious reheated the second day after the juices had time to marinate in the fridge! I recommend this recipe if you prepare your meals (or lunches) ahead of time or need something your family or kids can easily heat up or just eat cold.

Basil is supposed to be helpful in boosting mood, making this recipe a good option to that end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Atkins October 31, 2012

First time I've had Ratatouille and it was excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartfoodies October 20, 2011

I combined everything into slow cooker. The taste was a little bit bland. I would add more spices or spaghetti sauce next time to give it more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slobo80 September 25, 2010

This is a simple recipe that, in my opinion, needs a bit of jazzing up. If served with either feta or chevre and a nice, crusty bread, it works fairly well. However, I think a little more herb flavoring would be in order, although I'm not sure just which ones yet, so I will have to experiment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JifSorrell August 02, 2010

i had to make this in a covered stock pot on med-low since it wouldn't fit in my big crock pot but that seemed to work fine, just more like an hour and a half instead of three hours. i left out the fresh basil but it was fine without. topping with feta was a lovely touch. will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto April 10, 2010

Delicious and healthy to boot! I liked putting this on top of a baked potato with a little mozzarella. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly Morton September 21, 2009

Healthy and delicious recipe. We top it with a little goat cheese and add a side of whole grain bread. It is a wonderful, filling, and complete meal. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJ13 September 20, 2009

Tasty, easy and healthy. A wonderful recipe. I didn't have a crock pot so I cooked it on the stove on low heat for a couple hours and it still turned out great. We had it straight with bread the first night and then over noodles the second night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy September 13, 2009

I put it together in the crock pot in the morning and it was ready by lunchtime for a work potluck. Lots of compliments and recipe requests - all in all, an A+!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elastigirl July 20, 2009
Ratatouille (Crock Pot)