48 Reviews

I have been looking for well seasoned vegetarian recipes for my parents to try. This one was excellent. Very easy to make and didn't have to stand over a hot stove all day. We love the flavor of basil and this recipe really highlights it. Thanks Bev, my parents, husband and I really enjoyed this one.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenna Naquin April 12, 2003

Excellent basic recipe for ratatouille. Those that did not find it flavorful enough just add come hot pepper flakes (or whatever your choice is) and it does make a difference. Also, you can add hot Italian sausages (simmered for 5 mins. and skinned) cut in 1/2 inch lengths. There are many variations.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 August 17, 2010

This is a wonderful dish to serve when here in August when tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants are coming in and zucchini is still going strong. Loved using so many garden fresh veggies!

I've made this a few times now, once as stated which is great. I've also used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato paste and served over pasta. It's worked both following the instructions and glopping everything together and cooking on low while I was at work.

I don't bother with preparing the eggplant...I thought that was usually done when frying to reduce the amount of oil that's absorbed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vigilant20 August 10, 2011

When it's to hot to cook go for the slow cooker. I was a little skeptical about the 3 hours but it was right on target. I did follow the advice of a couple of reviewers and added in a sprinkling of red pepper flakes. Japanese eggplant fresh from my garden was used so no need to peel the eggplant. It has a delicious richness in flavor. This was served on top of polenta and topped off with shaved parmesan cheese.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 03, 2011

A winner! I used oven-dried tomatoes (see Mirj's recipe) and this had a great flavor. My guests dug into this with gusto. I added the feta just before I served it, that really made the dish, IMO. I can see having this alone with crunchy bread for supper. I'm hoping the family doesn't wipe out the leftovers before I can pack some up for tomorrow's lunch! Thanks, Bev!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie January 11, 2004

This was so good. I had a hard time not picking at it after dinner. I did add some chicken breast and a little sugar to help cut down on the acidity. This will be fixed often in our house.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannah lantzer January 07, 2004

Delicious! Even my kids loved it! They insisted it remain in my repretoire and that it be rated 5 stars!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greg Gardner June 05, 2003

This is an excellent recipe. It can be a hot main dish, with some crusty french bread, a side dish, or it makes a great appetizer, served cold on rounds of little rye or pumpernickel bread or some interesting crackers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alan Moylan March 01, 2004

This is the first time I've made ratatouille in a crock pot, and I'd definitely do it again. Olives are a nice touch (I'm used to mushrooms) and I used a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. Had to use my 5.5 qt. crock pot, because the veggies are bulky before they cook down. It could use a bit more garlic imo, and a bit more salt, if you don't garnish with feta or Parmesan. I had fun prepping the veggies (except the eggplant) with a mandolin and a Vidalia Chop Wizard!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shields.a May 28, 2015

I have never made ratatouille before; this version is certainly easy. I omitted the eggplant and halved the recipe. And unfortunately, the finished dish was much too acidic for us. I added smidgens of sugar in an attempt to tone it down, but it didn't help too much. If I make it again, I will try with canned tomatoes to avoid a repeat of the problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn September 05, 2013
Ratatouille (Crock Pot)