Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ratatouille (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ratatouille (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2003

      I have been looking for well seasoned vegetarian recipes for my parents to try. This one was excellent. Very easy to make and didn't have to stand over a hot stove all day. We love the flavor of basil and this recipe really highlights it. Thanks Bev, my parents, husband and I really enjoyed this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      Excellent basic recipe for ratatouille. Those that did not find it flavorful enough just add come hot pepper flakes (or whatever your choice is) and it does make a difference. Also, you can add hot Italian sausages (simmered for 5 mins. and skinned) cut in 1/2 inch lengths. There are many variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      A winner! I used oven-dried tomatoes (see Mirj's recipe) and this had a great flavor. My guests dug into this with gusto. I added the feta just before I served it, that really made the dish, IMO. I can see having this alone with crunchy bread for supper. I'm hoping the family doesn't wipe out the leftovers before I can pack some up for tomorrow's lunch! Thanks, Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2004

      This was so good. I had a hard time not picking at it after dinner. I did add some chicken breast and a little sugar to help cut down on the acidity. This will be fixed often in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      Delicious! Even my kids loved it! They insisted it remain in my repretoire and that it be rated 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      This is a wonderful dish to serve when here in August when tomatoes, peppers, and eggplants are coming in and zucchini is still going strong. Loved using so many garden fresh veggies!

      I've made this a few times now, once as stated which is great. I've also used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato paste and served over pasta. It's worked both following the instructions and glopping everything together and cooking on low while I was at work.

      I don't bother with preparing the eggplant...I thought that was usually done when frying to reduce the amount of oil that's absorbed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      When it's to hot to cook go for the slow cooker. I was a little skeptical about the 3 hours but it was right on target. I did follow the advice of a couple of reviewers and added in a sprinkling of red pepper flakes. Japanese eggplant fresh from my garden was used so no need to peel the eggplant. It has a delicious richness in flavor. This was served on top of polenta and topped off with shaved parmesan cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2004

      This is an excellent recipe. It can be a hot main dish, with some crusty french bread, a side dish, or it makes a great appetizer, served cold on rounds of little rye or pumpernickel bread or some interesting crackers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      I have never made ratatouille before; this version is certainly easy. I omitted the eggplant and halved the recipe. And unfortunately, the finished dish was much too acidic for us. I added smidgens of sugar in an attempt to tone it down, but it didn't help too much. If I make it again, I will try with canned tomatoes to avoid a repeat of the problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      This is the first time I've ever made (or eaten) ratatouille, and it was very tasty! What a great fool-proof recipe. The only thing I did differently was mince the garlic instead of running it through a press. I've been trying to add to my vegetarian repertoire and this will have a permanent spot in my cookbook. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      Excellent flavor. Love the basil. I made this for DD and she didn't care for the texture of the eggplant (a new veg for her) so I'm going to puree some of it for spaghetti sauce and soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      We made this recipe for a Disney-themed Halloween party where my husband dressed up as "Linguini" from the movie, "Ratatouille". I was happy with the short cooking time which allowed us to start preparing the dish in the afternoon and finish by the evening. The recipe is relatively healthy and easy to prepare, with the most work involving chopping vegetables and "sweating out the bitter" of the eggplant. While the crock pot was doing its thing we got dressed in our costumes, did my character makeup and hair. We used all fresh and organic ingredients from the farmer's market in the spirit of Gusteau!

      This was even more delicious reheated the second day after the juices had time to marinate in the fridge! I recommend this recipe if you prepare your meals (or lunches) ahead of time or need something your family or kids can easily heat up or just eat cold.

      Basil is supposed to be helpful in boosting mood, making this recipe a good option to that end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      First time I've had Ratatouille and it was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      I combined everything into slow cooker. The taste was a little bit bland. I would add more spices or spaghetti sauce next time to give it more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      This is a simple recipe that, in my opinion, needs a bit of jazzing up. If served with either feta or chevre and a nice, crusty bread, it works fairly well. However, I think a little more herb flavoring would be in order, although I'm not sure just which ones yet, so I will have to experiment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      i had to make this in a covered stock pot on med-low since it wouldn't fit in my big crock pot but that seemed to work fine, just more like an hour and a half instead of three hours. i left out the fresh basil but it was fine without. topping with feta was a lovely touch. will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Delicious and healthy to boot! I liked putting this on top of a baked potato with a little mozzarella. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Healthy and delicious recipe. We top it with a little goat cheese and add a side of whole grain bread. It is a wonderful, filling, and complete meal. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Tasty, easy and healthy. A wonderful recipe. I didn't have a crock pot so I cooked it on the stove on low heat for a couple hours and it still turned out great. We had it straight with bread the first night and then over noodles the second night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      I put it together in the crock pot in the morning and it was ready by lunchtime for a work potluck. Lots of compliments and recipe requests - all in all, an A+!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ratatouille (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.7
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    48%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 433.9 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 13.0 g
    52%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes