40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OK, I loved how this turned out. But that was only after I added salt (1 1/2 teaspoons) and ground coriander (1/2 teaspoon), upped the tomatoes (3 cups) and fresh basil (1/4 cup), and looked at a couple other recipes to figure out how much olive oil to use (1/3 cup). I think this would have been a bit bland as written. It was great with some changes, though. Thanks for the basic recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook August 02, 2008

I have a house full of guests for the Fourth and a garden bursting at the seams. We had this last night and it was a delicious vegetarian meal. I added a touch of salt. The herbs accentuated the flavors of the fresh vegetables. I served it over rice. So delicious. Thanks MEP.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' July 02, 2003

Mm!mm! I added extra tomatoes, and gave the eggplant a head start in the frying pan, 'cause if there is anything I can't stand it's al-dente eggplant. I also used three big but pretty mild Jalapeno peppers as I can't eat green peppers. This is so delicious, the ultimate comfort food.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Sanders October 15, 2003

I loved this recipe but I took a shortcut and used canned crushed tomato with Italian seasonings. This was delicious and I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Flo in SeMo July 02, 2014

I forgot to review this, but it's always my go to recipe for Ratatouille. I love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AwShucks September 21, 2013

This turned out well, but when I reheated it, I added a little salt, one small chopped chile pepper and one cup of chick peas. Then it was really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbmidura July 10, 2012

Great recipe. Just like I remembered from when my mom made it. It was the dish that really got me loving veggies...so glad I can recreate it with this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fayster March 30, 2012

I liked this dish. A nice, healthy side-dish even the little one likes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAFFY TAFFY November 24, 2011

Very yummy, thanks! I made this and added some ziti pasta to it, was awesome with parmesan cheese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita September 18, 2011

Awesome! I made a few changes. I used extra zucchini instead of the eggplant and used petite diced tomatoes instead of crushed. The result was fantastic! I also added a 1/4 tsp salt. I tried to use the bottled garlic but found the taste a bit boring. So I minced fresh garlic and added it after it was fully cooked. I allowed it all to sit covered on the stove, off heat, for about 5 minutes and it made a HUGE difference. Fresh garlic is a must with this recipe! I loved it, as did my family. I will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wind in the Canyon October 02, 2010
Ratatouille