9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious cake that was loved by everyone in this house. I would have given this 5 stars except all my raspberries stuck to the pan and I ended up with big holes in the top. Next time I make it I will smear a thin layer of the mix (prior to adding raspberries) and then drop raspberries into the mix so they have a barrier between them and the pan. I did use a bundt pan otherwise I'd have just used baking paper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phil the kiwi November 07, 2013

I found this recipe, and my oldest sister made it for (one of) my little sister's birthday, who requested a "raspberry cake". I made a vanilla glaze and poured it in streams on top. It was Delicious! (The fresh raspberries made it especially good) Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chloethecook October 30, 2009

This cake was so yummy! We went raspberry picking and I was looking for a recipe that uses fresh berries. This cake was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madcook October 14, 2008

This cake was very good. My sister thought the cake was to dense and heavy, but the rest of us thought it was soft and moist one complaint out of 5 adults and 3 kids is good in my book! everyone else loved it. I did use 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda and while folding in the raspberries i had the great idea of tossing in some chocolate kisses scince they were right next to me! it was a great addition to the raspberries in the cake. Thanks for sharing this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Genevieve July 31, 2008

I used a bundt tin to make this recipe. Also, I used 3 cups of fresh (pitted) cherries completely mixed in with the batter. I didn't have any lemon juice to hand, but it didn't matter. The cake turned out beautifully. It made a lovely shape with the bundt tin, and the cherries stayed moist and tasty. A great recipe to adapt to whatever you have available. I baked my cake for 1 hour 10 minutes (non-fan oven) I have posted 2 pictures (cake by a lake!). Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Sunshine July 26, 2006

Another recipe with the wrong cooking time - needed one hour to cook cake. Then , could not get out of pan, despite spraying, etc. The fruit was almost burnt and hard on bottom, and cake tasted funny! It looked awful right from oven!!!! Defintely not looking to make this recipe again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duke1981 July 12, 2004

I made this cake yesterday and was very pleased with the results. Moist, flavourful and very easy to put together. Served it to two hungry missionaries, a very appreciative son and a husband with a sweet tooth. It went down a real treat! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr July 05, 2004

This upside down cake is delightful. I made it for a father's day picnic and it was gone in no time. The only change I made was I used 2 cups blueberries and raspberries mixed together. This recipe is going to be a family favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carly75 September 09, 2003

If done right; this cake is beautiful! It almost tastes like a raspberry bread as opposed to a cake. I used a heart shaped T-Fal pan to bake it in. It couldn't have baan more visually appealing! No one wanted to cut into it, and several pictures were take. (none by me) Afterwards, I was offered money to make it again for someone to take to a party with them. They said it went over magnificently! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jillicious May 13, 2002
Raspberry Upside Down Cake