30 Reviews

I made these for a cookie exchange at work and they were a hit! I also used my food processor to grate the frozen dough and made life much easier! Thank you for such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarlaM January 05, 2008

These are outstanding!! It's seems redundant to repeat what's been said already, but they are light and scrumptious. I cut the recipe in half - big mistake! They came out of the oven half an hour ago and are more than half gone, I hope I get to try one at room temp. I baked them in an 8x8 pan, and used a little more than a 1/2 cup of jam since that seemed a little skimpy. I used my Cuisinart to grate the dough - I can't imagine doing it by hand. Thank you Evelyn for another amazing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet December 11, 2007

These were absolutely fabulous! Everyone who ate them kept coming back for more. I only used a 9" square pan so I just used one ball of dough and saved the second for another batch. It was extremely difficult to grate the dough by hand - I will use my Cuisinart next time - but it was definitely worth it. Thanks so much for a recipe that I will make over and over again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adie April 15, 2007

i canNOT wait to make this - freezing the dough and then grating it is a Stroke of GENIUS...this is what i love about recipezaar - learning little tricks that make ALL the difference in how fabulous something tastes...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carrie sheridan April 04, 2007

the best thing you will ever eat...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovelucy 1 March 25, 2007

Heavenly!!! This is one of the best cookies I have EVER tasted! I substituted half the white sugar with brown sugar (Because I have a brown sugar shortbread recipe that is pretty good). Makes it a bit nuttier in taste. It is important to press the grated dough fairly well (but not too much) otherwise I think it could be too crumbly when cutting. I used a favorite raspberry jam (Danish Orchards) that has 25 percent less sugar than most. I also forgot to sprinkle the powdered sugar immediately after coming out of the oven but it still turned out nice and white and wonderful. Thank you for sharing Evelyn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
concretegirl January 16, 2007

I liked the shortbread part of it, but I think I would have preferred it without the jam - either that or it was the jam I used, which was just too sweet. These taste especially good when warm. The texture is very good and it wasn't too too difficult to grate and make. Thanks for posting. PS I gave some away for a gift and got a very nice thank you note. My Secret Sister absolutely raved about them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom September 19, 2006

This is a must try recipe. Mine fell apart when I took it out of the pan, so I had to try and salvage as much as I can and cut them up into little squares before serving. Even so, as messy as they looked, everyone raved about them. I reread the recipe again, and realized that you were supposed to let it cool IN THE PAN. I am going to try again for the taste is really fantastic. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids July 07, 2006

Melt in your mouth DELICIOUS!!!After I tasted these even the "grating" was okay!They tasted like they came from the most exquisite bakery in the world! A keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dina01 January 10, 2006

Wow..I am so glad I tried this cookie recipe. It is a keeper. I followed the directions exactly. I used a glass 9 X 13 ungreased baking dish. I baked them about 35 mins and they came out just perfect. The only thing I would recommend is to use a seedless raspberry jam. I used raspberry preserves with seeds in it, but next time I will use the seedless kind. I grated most of the frozen dough, but I did have about half of the second ball left over. The grating was a bit tedious, but the result is definitely worth the effort. The flavor of this cookie is really nice and it presents well. I will definitely be making these again. Thank you for a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenS99 December 21, 2005
Raspberry Shortbread