30 Reviews

Pretty and delicious. I baked these for a Valentines dessert tray. Everyone loved them! Despite the grating of the dough being necessary for the texture and an excellent way to build your arm muscles, they were quite easy to make. Due to the richness - I cut them into 24 smaller bars. They also seemed to have a bit more contrast of crispy-outside to soft-center on the second day so I will age them next time I prepare them. I made two batches; one in a glass pan and the other in metal. The metal pan yielded an crisper textured crust on the bottom (which I prefer) while the ones in the glass pan had a soggy bottom in the center of the pan. Great and elegant treat! Thanks Evelyn

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast February 15, 2009

These are the most amazing shortbread cookies/bars I have ever eaten!! Directions are awesome, I used homemade seedless raspberry jam. I used the food processor to shred the frozen dough and shaped it into four equal pieces that would fit into the tube. Mine baked up in 42 minutes. I would like to try these with cranberry filling. These make a lovely addition to our holiday goodie tray, thanks so much for sharing this one!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee December 12, 2008

I halved the recipe and baked it in an 8x8 pan. the dough was a pain to grate by hand so I definitely will keep halving the recipe until I get a cuisinart, but it was so worth it! the shortbread was light and airy and I loved the different consistencies between the base layer and the top layer. I mixed my raspberry jam with lemon rind and some fresh ginger, so I guess it became lemon raspberry ginger shortbread, but it was fantastic nonetheless :) thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigmused April 23, 2007

Remarkable!!!! I also used my Cuisinart with the shredding blade and divided the dough into 8 feeding tube sized portions prior to freezing. I quickly microwaved my fillings for ease in spreading. I didn't have enough raspberry jam on hand so I divided my 9 X 13 pan into thirds and put raspberry on 1/3, apricot jam on 1/3, and chocolate chips on 1/3. It took 1 hour for the baking time. I sliced each third into 8 pieces; a nice assortment of 24 good sized morsels. The raspberry was the best and I will definitely prepare in advance next time. I love this technique and really appreciate the ease, flavor, and elegance of this shortbread. Thank you soooooo much for this truly sensational recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CobraLimes January 25, 2005

One of my all time favorite cookies. This recipe is fabulous! Grating the dough makes for a light and airy cookie. Follow the directions exactly. They are very well written.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon January 25, 2004

: ( I followed the recipe exactly, which is really difficult for me, and they turned out WAAAAY too sweet. I love sugar, but these were diabetes in cookie form. I also baked them until they looked beautifully golden brown on top but the bottom was soggy and under cooked. Very sad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
INARIWARRIOR April 25, 2016

I froze the dough overnight & let it sit on the counter for about 15 mins before I grated it. I did do it by hand, it isn't as hard as everybody makes it sound. Either that or I have a really sharp grator..lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trista86 July 21, 2011

I made these last night and I dont know if I didnt cook them long enough or let them cool enough, but mine were soggy. I liked them but they were not as crispy as I would have liked. I had one this morning and it was much nicer, firm and it hardened a bit...even the fruit flavor was brought out much better. I will probably make again, but make them the day before I want to serve them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommy5 April 12, 2010

Ok, let me just state that if I knew how difficult/time consuming it would be to grate the dough for this recipe I would never have made it. I ended up only grating one of the balls. I lost patience after that. I just spread my layers a little bit thinner. But after all is said and done, these tasted great and I really enjoyed the flavor. I know I will never be making these again but I would definitely eat them often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 December 23, 2008

There is a reason that after 23 reviews this recipe has 5 stars! So delicious, thanks for posting evelyn/athens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean October 19, 2008
Raspberry Shortbread