55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good sauce, but a tad too sweet and starchy for our taste. I made it a second time and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup, cut the cornstarch to 1 tablespoon, and added about a teaspoon of fresh squeezed lemon juice and it was just perfect.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizwendy August 18, 2011

Taking into account of other reviews comments, I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup and that was perfect for us. I also added about 2 T of Grand Marnier. It turned out wonderful over ice cream.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl July 26, 2009

This sauce is amazing! Usually I have to tweak recipes to fit my tastes, but this is the perfect blend of tart and sweet. Leftover sauce chills well in the fridge for a couple of days, too. I use it for cheesecake and sometimes over ice cream. For cheesecake, I've let the sauce cool to room temp and then swirled it into the cheeesecake batter, or simply drizzled it over a piece of cheesecake when I'm ready to eat it. I've also mixed the sauce with regular chocolate syrup, zapped it in the microwave, and used it as an ice cream topping.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dancerchick1005 November 08, 2008

This is delicious. I use it for a cheesecake topping. Today, I mixed it with a blueberry sauce recipe http://www.recipezaar.com/Blueberry-Breakfast-Sauce-Quick-and-Easy-81232 because I had both fruits and just made a berry sauce to serve over New York cheesecake for New Years Eve. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
decarli1 December 31, 2009

Quick and easy and yummy on frozen yogurt. I used Splenda instead of sugar and didn't strain it because we like the seeds.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinca April 27, 2009

My daughter wanted angelfood cake with rasberry sauce for her birthday cake this year(2007). I used a box for the cake, and did this lovely sauce in the microwave. I used a 12 oz package of frozen raspberries. I mixed the cornstarch thoroughly with the water, then popped it and the still frozen raspberries in a big microwave safe bowl with the sugar and microwaved it for about 10 mins total. I stirred it every 1-2 minutes until it was a nice consistency. I didn't strain the sauce or mash the berries completely, as we like our fruit sauces a little chunky. Thanks for a great easy recipe. I'm going to try it with some other fruits as well! UPDATE: I have made this sauce many times, with other fruits. Since I often buy berries in bulk, I found that 3 cups of fresh fruit is a good amount to use in this recipe. I tried bluberries and fresh peaches-wow, that was good! Also, it freezes exceptionally well! Thanks again for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann1wp February 20, 2009

Hello, I made this sauce to accompany Mirji's Nutella Cheesecake for Valentine's day and what a hit it was. My husband loved it and kept asking me to give him some more. It really went well with the chocolate cheesecake. Thanks so much for sharing!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie Conde February 15, 2004

Well, I'm finally getting around to actually reviewing this recipe that we've made several times already. Do you think maybe we like it? ;-) The only thing I might change would be to add in the instructions to make clear that you add the cornstarch BEFORE heating it. My daughter did not do this one time, got it to a boil & then put in the cornstarch. Lumps, lumps, lumps. Fortunately, we've usually got tons of berries in our freezer if we don't have fresh ones (they grow wild here) so we tossed it and made a new batch. I just made a huge batch of this and canned it, because I needed room in the freezer. Oh, and we don't usually take the seeds out - we don't mind them, and it gives you a bit extra "roughage" in the diet. Thank you MizzNezz

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatBobbieGirl January 14, 2004

This was good. I added a few blueberries I had left over and we ate it over waffles.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grunig July 07, 2007

I have found this to be a wonderful addition to my chocolate chip cheesecake, the raspberry and chocolate are a wonderful combination

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shezashark February 07, 2004
Raspberry Sauce