42 Reviews

I have made these four times this past week. I love respberry anything, so I knew I had to try this. One of the comments was that they were not sweet enough, and another said she was going to try chocolate chips. So here is what I did. I follwed the amount of resberry jam that the recipe asked for and it seemed to be fine, only oozed a little bit. I found Hershey has a special dark chocolate chip, so after the jam layer I sprinkled on some of the chips. Whith chips added, they don't roll up as "pretty", but they still look great. After they were cooked a cooled a short while, I put a glaze (powdered sugar, milk and vanilla) over the whole thing. I can't tell you how many times I got asked for the recipe. Whith glaze it almost gave them a "professional" appearance. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right January 01, 2008

First and foremost, I love how easy these are - yet they look SO impressive.
I did half seedless raspberry - which were delicious, and half orange marmalade. I'm not a fan of marmalade, but my grandma loved those because they aren't too sweet. I think a cinnamon sugar mix would be great too. What a sweet recipe. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelissaO' January 14, 2011

Fabulous. I used strawberry jam and made as directed. I love how easy this is to make plus it's good enough for company. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario August 25, 2010

Made these during a major snow storm yesterday. Used my homemade raspberry jam and WOW. Needless to say since it only makes 16 cookies, my wife and I finished the whole plate yesterday. Now I have to make more!!! This is my now on the top of my Christmas cookie list. Thanks for a great new and EASY recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim December 20, 2009

5 stars for easy and 5 stars for taste!! This wasn't messy for me at all for some reason. I used 6 tablespoons Raspberry Preserves (worried that it would run out so used extra) and a cold pre-made pie crust. Baked on shelf that is one up from the middle, thinking then it wouldn't get too brown on the bottom. Perfect! These didn't run out and it wasn't messy. Maybe the trick is to use cold crust, cold preserves? Baked for 18 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KadesMom December 11, 2009

Wow, made these for work and they were gone before you could blink. I did spread some whipped cream cheese over the pie crust before adding the jam, then adding the mini chocolate chips. It had a very nicce taste to it. Instead of the sugar topping I added a little milk to the sugar and mafe a glaze.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krazynthekitchen January 03, 2008

These are quite easy to make, and pretty... I made raspberry ones and chocolate ones, but they just weren't very sweet. I think next time I'll have to pick milk chocolate instead of dark, or a sweeter jam. I'm thinking a mix of cinnamon, sugar and butter would be awesome. **update - softened about 2 tbsp butter mixed with some white and brown sugar and cinnamon and then sprinkled a bit more cin/sugar on top. they were awesome and bumped this up to a 5 star.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzieP December 09, 2007

I made these last Christmas and totally forgot to review them, I’m sorry. After reading this recipe I put it in the back of my head, in a pinch of needing something fast I remembered reading this recipe off the fly I whipped them up, always having jam and pie crust in the frig. I made apricot and raspberry up. Almost didn’t not have enough to take to the party because my husband kept popping them in his mouth singing the mmm yum yum song. Now after reading all the reviews I too think that solo would be better because mine too leaked a bit and while I don’t think that it would change the flavor any bit, it would keep form getting messy hands. But they are finger licking good and I would make them with jam aging even knowing they might leak a little and get my fingers sticky. I am going to make them this year too! PS Thanks for the nutella idea we love nutella!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia December 06, 2007

I love dough and pie crusts so expected to love these, but I couldn't get the crust golden brown without burning the jam. I would try these again brushed with egg and sprinkled with coarse sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana J. August 28, 2015

Wow! Fast, easy and delicious! What more could you want. I bought frozen pie crusts from Costco and had no idea what to do with them all. Now I know. I didn't have any issues with burning or oozing. I used a cold crust and cold strawberry jam. I think I'll try adding chocolate chips and or nuts next time. I'm looking for to experimenting with these. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview February 15, 2011
Raspberry Pastry Roll-Ups