16 Reviews

Very nice muffins, will definately make again while the bush is giving us berries. I had Lemon Meringue yogurt so I used that and added a tsp of vanilla extract. I left out the lemon rind because I didn't have it but would add it in the future. I used 2 whole eggs and only 1/2 cup sugar, changed it to whole wheat flour and added an extra 1/2 tsp of baking powder, added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans. I always find with raspberry recipes the berries end up being few and far between so when I added the raspberries I broke them all in half.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ecilas July 13, 2011

delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynettie February 11, 2013

Yum! I was looking for a different muffin recipe and happened to have the ingredients on hand for this one. I've never used yoghurt in cooking before but decided to give it a try. I'm glad I did! The muffins taste wonderful - sweet and a bit tart.
I reduced the sugar to 1/2 C, left out the lemon rind/zest, used a whole egg and added some vanilla essence as my yoghurt was plain. The mixture was very thick so I also added a little water along with the raspberries. Even the uncooked batter tasted delicious!
After cooking for a little bit too long, some muffins had black bottoms. But they were crispy on the outside and soooo good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Cookie October 15, 2011

These are pretty good muffins. I used frzn blackberries (what i had on hand), butter instead of oil, two whole eggs, and whole milk yogurt because I was making these for my 10 month old as well as my SO and me. Even with my full-fat subs they tasted like lighter muffins. I think I might like them a little better with at least 1 cup of sugar. But my SO and baby loved them, so thanks, KelBel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz July 25, 2009

these are perfect muffins! I used dannon light and fit vanilla yogurt- so yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erica.print June 03, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed these muffins! Made as directed with a small change. I too, added more zest, and used frozen raspberries from my garden. Thank you Kelbel for giving us a muffin recipe that is low sodium!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n February 26, 2009

I followed Kitencal's recommendations and use 2 whole eggs and 1 C sugar. I think I would have preferred the muffins less sweet. Frozen blue berries & raspberries used. I could not taste much lemon. Next time I will use more zest. Made in honor of KeBel's DH Cookathon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour February 04, 2009

The ,uffins themselves were good, but the process of making them was... an odd one. First off, i added additional yogurt so they weren't dry like another reviewer said... but they were still unmixable! I ended up adding milk in to thin it out, but the end result was tough. Good taste, but not good measurements.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy November 27, 2008

I want to give these 3.5 to 4 stars because they are almost fantastic, but something is just a tiny bit off. I used one large egg, which might have been part of the issue, but my batter was too dry to even mix properly- I added one more tbsp of oil and another small container (100ml) of yogurt before it came together properly. The lemon and raspberry together is lovely, and I liked the sprinkle of sugar on top. They were good right out of the oven, but the lemon flavour was better the next day- but by then they were already getting to be a bit on the dry side. I think with just a touch more oil or fat these would be just perfect, so I'll keep tweaking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Len23 June 28, 2008

Thank you for the recipe. I brought these into work and they received rave reviews. The lemon juice and zest are an absolute must. I will definitely make these again, but next time I'll try using a different berry and a different flavor of yogurt to mix it up a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura_brehm May 30, 2008
Raspberry Lemon Muffins