89 Reviews

Great recipe. I used frozen raspberries and followed the directions exactly with the exception I didn’t use a rotary beater. I just mashed them at the beginning with a potato masher. The jam came out beautifully. As others had stated the seeds are dispersed perfectly throughout the jar. My jam didn’t set until the following morning (I thought I might have to use it as syrup but by morning it was solid). Just had a PBJ and it was delicious! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissCatFish June 27, 2010

So wonderful!! Now it's my standby. I used frozen raspberries and it turned out heavenly!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
niemannurses January 31, 2010

What a great jam recipe! I was leery of not using pectin, but after reading that raspberries have natural pectin and all the positive reviews on Recipezaar I just had to try it. The jam set up very well. I did cook mine for 4 minutes and it was the perfect spreading consistency - no jam running off my toast and down my arms! That said, I usually prefer jams that are lower in sugar, so I may try the recipe with less sugar next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluteplayer35 September 11, 2009

Wow,wow,wow!!This jam is great! I have a lot of golden raspberries in the backyard and didn't know what to do with them and I am so happy to come across your recipe. It's easy, so fast and delicious. I didn't change a thing on your recipe. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happysunflower36 August 11, 2009

Wonderful Raspberry Jam! We are having a heat wave here in the Northwest, so the raspberries are big and plentiful. Picked at Graymarsh Farms in Sequim, WA and made a batch of this jam. I used a Tbsp of lemon juice as another reviewer suggested. I did not use the rotary beater, just stirred for 4 minutes off heat with a wooden spoon. I had no foam to skim. The finished jam is beautiful in the jars, set up perfectly and SO delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karencooks August 04, 2009

Awesome, awesome, awesome jam!! I have made this twice now, and it's the best jam ever. My daughter just raves about it, not to mention she takes heaping spoon fulls. The recipe was easy to follow. I too boiled it a few minutes longer than called for and I used hot sterilized jars. After filling the jars I put them in a canner and boiled for an additional 5 minutes..came out wonderful. This recipe is a keeper, I won't be able to get away with not making this for my family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlthorne41 November 07, 2008

I've never made jam of any kind until this year when my raspberry hedge finally took off. I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. People are fighting over it. No kidding! I boil mine for 3-4 minutes though after adding sugar and it sets beautifully! Very intense raspberry flavor. Summer in a jar. I will never use another recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluesuede October 12, 2008

I have used this recipe once, and it will be my go-to recipe from now on! So easy and delicious! I did boil for a few extra minutes, and the texture/thickness was perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sillyelmo October 09, 2008

so easy, so wonderful! It tastes like summer. I would give more stars, if I could. My 3 year old helped stir, now she tells everyone that she made the jam!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moki October 07, 2008

This is a great recipe. I have canned for a long time. This is simple and tastes wonderful. I used yellow raspberries and a few red currants that were growing nearby. It is nice that the sugar and fruit are the same amount. It makes it easy to alter the size of the recipe (usually a no, no, with jellies or jams!). I only had 2 1/2 cups of raspberries so it worked great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rdegraaffus September 21, 2008
Raspberry Jam