78 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Dave says that this is the best raspberry jam he's ever tasted - my son says it's the best JAM he's ever tasted! Excellent, uncomplicated & a stunning colour. Thanks so much! Update: am just about to make my fourth batch of the year - this is such a successful recipe, thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina and Dave September 25, 2009

I actually created an account just so that I could review this recipe. It is fantastic! I just started learning how to make jam and thought I needed Pectin. I found this recipe quite by accident, but decided to follow it since I sincerely believe that fewer ingredients called for in a recipe allows the full flavor of your main ingredient to shine. This is how all jams should be made :) I did follow others suggestions and boil for 1-2 additional minutes, since I do like it thicker, but that's only if you truly like your jam thicker. The original 2 minutes works out great as well. For a sugarless version of this, which I've started making for my dad-in-law, substitute the sugar with Splenda and do use the pectin. I only usually use about half of what they recommend on the package, but it turns out great! Thanks Pam!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T.S.C. August 02, 2008

I've been making this easy and delicious recipe for three years. I sell the jam at a small farm stand in front of my house and people tell me they LOVE it. It sells out every year...I can't make enough! People can't believe it's just sugar and berries...because it's plenty thick. It's great on ice cream and can be used to make a wonderful raspberry vinegarette. This was one of my first attempts at canning and was extremely rewarding. THANK YOU PAM!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charleneschiller September 01, 2006

I have done this recipe twice now, once with raspberries and once with blackberries. It worked beautifully both times. Here are a couple of things I have noticed:<br/><br/>1. It always seems really runny when you put it in the jars and when the jars come out of the canner. Don't worry, it will thicken up just fine after a while. The blackberries thickened within the hour, and the raspberries took longer but they were perfect by the next day.<br/><br/>2. The rotary beater stage is unnecessary. Haven't bothered either time, and the jam is perfect.<br/><br/>3. I boiled the raspberries for 2 minutes after adding the sugar (and returning it to full rolling boil), and boiled the blackberries for 4 minutes. Processed both in the canner for 10 minutes. Guess what -- they came out identical in thickness, though the blackberries gelled faster. But when opening a jar to try the next day, they were basically the same. Perfect spreadability.<br/><br/>I am not sure why some people had it come out too runny or hard as a rock. It might be that some folks are misinterpreting "full rolling boil" and not boiling enough, and others might be over-boiling... but who knows? Every batch of berries is different and sometimes it's just one of those things that happens. So far for me, this recipe has been flawless.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
litlnemo August 17, 2013

All our rasberries are in season and since I've frozen a LOT, wanted to try jam and so glad I did. This is easy and so pretty when it's done. I didn't mash the berries as we too like chunks but other than that followed the recipe, this is easy and so good. I'll be using this from now on and may even do a second batch just to have on hand. Liked the other reviewers idea about adding some lemon juice and may try that next time too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 24, 2012

I made this recipe this morning and loved it. It was simple and great tasting. I will be making this whenever possible. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marridie September 05, 2011

Wonderful, easy recipe. I cut the sugar by about 1/4 cup and it still came out perfect. I used only two cups of berries and will just store it in the fridge until it's gone (which will be shortly with how good it is!) I'm planning on trying other types of berries with it as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozenstiffinmn September 03, 2011

Yep, perfect! I followed this exactly, boil for 2 minutes (after first boil) add sugar, boil for another 2 minutes, stirring. Use mixer for 4 minutes. Absolutely perfect. This recipe really works, and....since there are so many variables (ripeness of berries) you can feel good that you won't be wasting fruit. On the way out the door (the jars of love) to be sold at a farmers market. Very much enjoyed this recipe on many accounts. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 23, 2011

Very easy! Couldn't have been better. Really!

We've made it 3 times already.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jb Tyler, TX May 26, 2011

Great recipe. I used frozen raspberries and followed the directions exactly with the exception I didn’t use a rotary beater. I just mashed them at the beginning with a potato masher. The jam came out beautifully. As others had stated the seeds are dispersed perfectly throughout the jar. My jam didn’t set until the following morning (I thought I might have to use it as syrup but by morning it was solid). Just had a PBJ and it was delicious! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissCatFish June 27, 2010
Raspberry Jam