79 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent jam!!! I added a tablespoon of lemon juice as well (we like our jam a bit tarter). And I didn't mash the berries or use a rotery beater (I like chunks in my jam). Skimmed the foam (there was hardly any) and sealed in hot sterilized jars. Jam is a BEAUTIFUL jewel tone with seeds evenly suspended throughout. I have tried many different recipes and they were either too sweet or cloudy or the seeds floated to the top. This recipe yields INCREDIBLE results with minimum fuss. This is my new, and ONLY, raspberry jam recipe. On behalf of my family and myself- THANK YOU!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex July 13, 2003

This is really an excellent recipe. As a previous reviewer pointed out just match the cups of berries to the cups of sugar. I also added the juice of half a lemon to each 2 cups of berries used. I also boiled the jam for 4 minutes after adding the sugar. So far I have made raspberry, strawberry and blueberry jams - all tucked away in my freezer. I am usually most fond of raspberry jam but the strawberry jam made with this recipe will blow you away!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbh July 19, 2010

Great!!!!!!!! I am a first time canner and this Jam came out perfect. I did find that if you like it a little thicker you just have to boil it after you add the suger for about 4 minutes instead of 2. Thanks Pam!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Demink August 31, 2003

Thanks for the great recipe! My only question is why didn't I know about it earlier. I always thought I needed to add Certo to make jam and this turned out fantastic without. I had some frozen raspberries that I wanted to use them up, but didn' want freezer jam as my freezer is already too full. I followed advise of another poster and added 1 Tblsp. lemon juice, but otherwise followed the recipe. My husband thought it was much better than the freezer jam I usual make. Thanks Pam!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaytie Did March 31, 2010

super easy recipe. i needed to cook a little longer than the recipe said to get it to gel. i also made some seedless by removing the seeds after cooking the berries, but before adding the sugar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pschmiedel August 06, 2011

One major problem with this receipt. It disappears too fast.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jnenis August 15, 2010

Let me add another great review to the pot! I just made my third batch this weekend. We have many wild black raspberry bushes on our property and now I am so glad! My family adores this jam and it is truly the easiest jam I have ever made. I have made it both with and without using the mixer and have had good results with both. Thank you so much for posting this keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonesies July 26, 2010

Outstanding!!!! I've had terrible luck at jams without Surejell or Certo. I don't know what the mixing does but it definitely contributes. Would love to try this with blackberries. You gotta try this! You will never buy a jar of jam again!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charmd July 08, 2010

This was my first attempt at jam and it was soo easy. Initially, the jam was thin but really thickened up in the fridge.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wittlebit83 July 06, 2010

Easy Easy Easy!!! This was my first canning experience. I thought it was going to be so much harder, and was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to make! I picked up a $6 canning utensil kit at our local *mart, used my regular pots (no fancy canning devices), wooden spoons, and voila'!!! The best jam ever, in minutes!! I had 3 1/2 cups of mashed berries, used 3 1/2 cups of sugar, and boiled it for the 4 minutes at the end as suggested by many, and it turned out spectacular! The kids will be picking more berries for me first thing in the morning so I can make more!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mglgracie July 01, 2010
Raspberry Jam