60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic cookie! I made it with raspberry preserves instead of jam. (not sure if it makes a difference) To keep your cookies from going flat when baking, make your balls with the indentations then chill for about 15 minutes before filling with jam and baking. I didnt use the glaze but melted white chocolate and drizzled over cookies. I got 40 cookies that didn't last long!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieCHopp December 05, 2009

Made these cookies for "Think Pink." I also refrigerated the dough for about a half hour before filling and baking. I wish I could give 10 stars. They are absolutely delicious!! I'm certainly going to add these to my holiday baking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine Forever October 06, 2012

Wonderful flavor and texture. Only loses a star because 1-1/2 inch balls are WAY to big. Typo perhaps? No way would you get 36 cookies out of that, and they spread out so much that it doesn't make a nice presentation (nothing like the pictures). I also learned the hard way that you don't want to make the indentation too large because the jam will soak through the cookie. But this is definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LWG July 01, 2007

Perfect! Mine turned out exactly like the pic. I did everything just the way the recipe says except I only put 1/4 tsp almond extract in the cookie and added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, for my personal taste. I put the dough in the fridge for about 15 min but in between batched I put the dough back in the fridge. I used preserves and had none of the problems mentioned about the raspberry soaking into the cookie. The cookie is buttery and soft but with a light crisp on the outside....just so yum! And pretty too :) My first taste was a reminder of Christmas and it's spring time lol but I love them and I will add them to my Christmas cookies for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
genicarlson March 01, 2014

Yummy cookie. I had to add a couple extra teaspoons of water to make glaze liquid enough to drizzle. Also, I increased cooking temperature to 375. The cookies did not caramelize at 350.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cshorrock December 21, 2013

absolute hit! I did not add the jam to save a bit of time. rolled into balls, baked and glazed as directed. Very good nice texture not too sweet perfect buttery taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dj.arnold December 01, 2013

These are probably our favorite Christmas cookie. I always get compliments and requests for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moore.davidkim December 10, 2012

Oh my,these are so buttery and delicous. I loved having the raspberry jam in them. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 25, 2012

What could be better than the buttery richness of shortbread coupled with the fruity tang of raspberry preserves? I made as directed and followed another's advise to chill the dough for at least 30 mins. My glaze consisted of confectioners' sugar, 1/2 tsp. almond extract, 2 Tbls butter and a "splash" of F.F. half and half. Delightful!!! I wish I could give 10 stars! Thanks, Amy Lee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llangrove December 24, 2011

Melt in you mouth goodness!! I had a plethora of raspberries and have tired just about every raspberry recipe I could find. After making jam (for the umpteenth time) I thought I would put some of that jam to use. I found this recipe and have made it twice. The first time the dough was very dry. Not sure what I did wrong, but the cookie still turned out great. Made it for the second time and the dough was soft. Still not sure what I did wrong. I did use the end of a wooden spoon and pressed it in the dough at least 5 times to form an indent in the dough. (About the size of a quarter.) Turned out great. I didn't add more jam after baking...it didn't need it. Also used the icing. A really pretty cookie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom_of_4 September 30, 2011
Raspberry Filled Almond Shortbread with Almond Glaze