50 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great coffee cake! Everyone in the house absolutely loved it. It also lends itself to great variations -- blueberry next time! Also, I guess you could use mascarpone or drained whipped ricotta instead of the cream cheese. Thanks for the great recipe. I'm not a baker, and you made me a star!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceil from NJ May 15, 2006

Stop - don't look any further for possibly one of the best coffee cakes you'll ever try. I made this wonderful treat for my mother-in-law for this morning's Mother's Day breakfast. She loved it. Very easy to make. My almond extract spilled so I substituted vanilla. Wonderful. A must try!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat's Favorites May 14, 2006

Let me tell you this is just so so GOOD! I didn`t warm the preserves just scooped them onto the cheese filling. I did sub 1/2 of the sour cream for yogurt because I ran out of sour cream. I made the whole recipe in the food processor. So this wasn`t just great tasting but easy to make. I will make again! And you all must make this! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ January 15, 2006

Awesome and easy. I made this exactly as written and it turned out beautifully. I did not measure the jam. but rather just spooned a little on. When reheated this tastes like it just came out of the oven. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada January 04, 2006

Love, Love, Love this cake. I try to find excuses to make this delicious desert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kelly Lawmert March 22, 2013

This is a "very" forgiving" and adaptable recipe. I put it in the wrong size pan (too small) for my first cake try. I did follow the cake directions. I did have cake overflow but evenso, while I did have to bake it 15 min. longer, it still looked great, was great and I had to mail the recipe to family members that loved it. Just made another cake for a Memorial weekend picknic. Another success. (I used a 10" pan this time.) I had to add yougurt to the sour cream I had to make the required amount.
I used a little less sugar for the cake mixture. Added 1 Tsp Vanilla to the dough mixture. Put 1 tsp. grated lemon rind in the cheese mixture used a blue berry spread with less sugar than jam and added frozen blueberries. (thawed and drained, about 1/2 cup) over the jam layer. It worked great! Thank you for the best ever recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gypsygal December 19, 2012

This is so good. I used black raspberry jelly as that is what I had and it was exceptional. It is moist and tender. A keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. December 18, 2012

Oh boy, what a breakfast treat this was this morning. I am going to experiment with the fruits and will try blueberry jam next time. We just love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~KissTheCook~*~ July 19, 2011

This was fabulous. I made it with black current jam and we loved it. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. January 30, 2011

My first review. Simply put, EXCELLENT, moist and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Only The Best Recipez December 05, 2010
Raspberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake