51 Reviews

I made this morning for our church food distribution, all of the people loved it. I made it a bit healthier, used 1/2 wheat flour, low fat cream cheese, non fat sour cream and left out the salt. I also used a full 12oz jar of jam. I used a 9 x 12 pan instead, but the cook time was pretty much the same. Will make again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lollie February 21, 2009

This coffee cake looks like it was bought from an expensive bakery. Instead of making one, regular sized coffee cake, I split the batter into two smaller sized springform pans. I kept one for myself and gave the other to my mother-in-law. It makes a great dessert and should be eaten again in the morning for breakfast if there is any left. I have made this many times with different jams, jellies, and preserves. It's wonderful every time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jinburger January 02, 2009

I made this for a neighborhood get-together and it was a hit. It is not difficult to make, either. I used strawberry jam. Thanks so much, Marj, for sharing this keeper recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin mimi May 17, 2008

Thank you Marg, for making my mother's day brunch such a hit with this wonderful coffee cake! My mom said it was the best coffee cake she has ever had, and I have to agree. She begged me to make another one so my Aunt could try it too. I used seedless black raspberry jam, and it was wonderful! Will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasprite May 15, 2008

I really thought this was a lot easier than I'd expected...how could anything that pretty be that easy?! I was wrong! So easy to make, very impressive appearance, and darn tasty. I thought the "cake" layer was a bit dry as I was mixing, so I added a tablespoon or two of buttermilk. I wish the cake layer had been a bit sweeter, but that's an easy fix. Can't wait to make this again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend March 03, 2008

I am disappointed in this coffeecake. I expected much more flavor. I actually thought it was bland. I would add more extract to the batter. It was a bit time consuming to put together, but it baked in the time allotted. Give it a try, you might like it better than me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beth November 26, 2007

I can't believe that I forgot to review this recipe. I have prepared this several times and have gotten RAVE reviews. It is just unbelievably good. Not low in calories, but you have to splurge once in a while. This is so impressive for brunch or for company. I only make it when I have lots of help to eat it. Thanks Marg.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 February 10, 2007

In a word, outstanding. I have already made two because the first one disappeared so fast. It was very easy and quick to prepare.The only change I made was to increase the amount of almonds to 1/2 cup. I have been told by DH and DS not to serve it to guests so there will be more left for them! Thanks for a recipe that makes me look good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becca- B February 09, 2007

Yes, this was the best! I too used a food processor, substituted 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour, used Splenda and sugar free jam, and used low fat cream cheese, and even with all these heresies the coffee cake was delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo August 24, 2006

This is a wonderful coffee cake.It is so simple and looks very pretty.I omitted the salt(I don't use salt in any desserts)and I also added vanilla extract into the cream cheese layer. I would definately make this again.I would like to try blueberry jam next time.Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny May 20, 2006
Raspberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake