50 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This coffee cake is truly exceptional! I have made it 3 times in the past week and it has been loved by every one who has tried it. The last time I made it, I used cherry jam as I was all out of raspberry from the 2 times prior I'd made it.LOL I expect it would be good with just about any jam in the filling. Next time, the only change I will make is not to incorporate any sugar in the cream cheese mixture - the jam is really sweet enough and sits directly on top. Thank you so much for this recipe, Marg. I can tell it's going to become a classic in my kitchen.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens November 08, 2010

Delicious! I used a square pan instead of a round one, and it came out great! Thanks, Marg!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit February 05, 2011

I'm giving this 5 stars because what I ended up with was delicious and amazing - but I didn't exactly follow the recipe. Here are the changes I made: I reduced the 3/4 cup sugar to a 1/2 cup; I reduced the sugar in the cream cheese mixture to 2 Tblsp; I used a can of cherry pie filling instead of jam (just because that's what I had on hand). The results were awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ezzie's Mama December 18, 2012

I eliminated the almonds and almond extract and added 1 tsp of fresh lemon zest to the batter. I also did not add sugar to the cream cheese as some of the other reviewers suggested. It came out well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snkeith June 16, 2012

Fabulous recipe! Will definitely be making this one again! I used half plain yogurt & half sour cream. I think my hubby ate half of it in one day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in KY June 03, 2011

I had some fresh raspberries and plain Greek style yogurt that I wanted to use up, so I thought I'd try this recipe - it's pretty great!! It seemed to work just fine to substitute the yogurt for the sour cream, and I just added about a cup of berries to the jam before I spread it over the cream cheese layer. I used a silicone/ceramic base square springform pan, and didn't have much patience to be neat about spreading it evenly up the sides - I just kinda' made a little "curb", and it worked great! Couldn't wait until it cooled completely before I cut a little piece, and even at luke warm it was good, but I would imagine it would be better cold so the cream cheese layer is more solid. Love the almond/raspberry combination, but would also like to try different fruits/jam. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
threehand November 19, 2010

Great recipe! All the reviews I read prior to making it were correct. I substituted several ingredients (like chopped pecans instead of sliced almonds) to accommodate what I had on hand. It turned out great! I love it, my family loves it, I will be making this one again and again. I look forward to experimenting with different flavors too. I'm thinking about trying something with pumpkin. YUM!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali2nc84 October 13, 2010

Absolutely delicious! I used lemon extract instead of almond, also added a little to the crumb topping. For the crumb mixture I reserved 1 TBSP of the butter and added it just to the reserved cup of topping for larger buttery crumbs. Brought it to work for a co-workers last day. Not one little bit was left! Very, very good, this will be my coffee cake recipe from now on. Will try again with different variations. Thank you for sharing Marg!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sapowell July 30, 2010

Great! I used strawberry jam instead of raspberry, and it turned out fantastic! next time i will use a springpan though

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2baker July 09, 2010

Love it! This was easy to make but came out looking like I really went to a lot of trouble....it was beautiful. And it tasted great. This one is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinablue July 04, 2010
Raspberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake