35 Reviews

These muffins were awesome. We eat a lot of muffins so I am always looking for something new. These were wonderful. I made these last night and my family really liked them. They were really easy to make. I did make a couple of changes - I used whole wheat flour since that is what I mostly use and I substituted oil in place of the butter. I just added it to the dry ingredients with the egg and buttermilk. They turned out great. This is a keeper. Thanks for a great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drlnkrncrnt78 July 26, 2005

These muffins are wonderful. They smelt so good that we could hardly wait until they were done. They are not crumbly and very moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyce F. May 02, 2016

Excellent recipe. The batter looks sort of dry but I'm glad I resisted the urge to add more liquid because they turned out great. Will do this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ava D. August 04, 2015

Excellent, I have been making strawberry muffins lately with the in season berries but wanted to try something with fresh raspberries. I added just a little vanilla extract and these were perfectly moist, fresh and filled with raspberries. Thanks for sharing, this recipe is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau June 10, 2015

I'm a beginning baker that is obsessed with making muffins and cupcakes and i always experiment with different recipes and this is a nice base recipe. I made a few changes to this recipe as I was set on wanting to use of some Almond milk i had, but i wanted to keep some moisture so I decided to use sour cream about 1/2 a cup and then one full cup of Almond Milk (Vanilla), I also took another reviewers advice and added about 1/2 t of vanilla extract. I also added in two ripe bananas pureed which made my mixture make 18 instead of 12. It was also a little more wet than the original mixture. Great and will make again, family and boyfriend love them! I got a little over excited and ate straight out the oven so make sure you wait for them to set about 10 minutes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 23, 2015

These were very moist and yummy. I made a few changes: I used half whole wheat, half white flour, 4 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of oil, and they came out very well. I expected them to be smaller than they were, from photos and comments, but they came out to a nice "normal" muffin size to me. Also, for any newbie chefs like myself, to "cut in" butter means to cut the butter with a knife into small pieces, then use a fork (I used my hands not knowing any better) and blend it in. Another side note, be careful when stirring in the raspberries, especially if they're fresh. Too many stirs and you'll get red muffins! Thanks again for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook August 08, 2013

These muffins were terrible. Maybe it's my baking skills, but they came out dense. I think I do better with recipes that have more leavening in them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serndpty August 01, 2013

These muffins did nothing for me. A gooey consistency and other than the berries, no flavor at all. I was looking for a great muffin recipe and I'm honestly disappointed I wasted my time with this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheri July 04, 2013

While they are moist, but we all felt the muffin part was a bit bland. (We did not put any additional butter on them.) I wish I had cut the raspberries up to distribute them more throughout the batter. The addition of some vanilla or almond extract or maybe lemon zest might help too. Spreading cream cheese on them definitely improved the flavor. Obviously, based on the other reviews, it is just personal preference that we think they need a little more flavor. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) July 01, 2013

These muffins are so yummy and smells great while baking. Thanks Charlotte :) Made for Name that ingredient tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 27, 2013
Raspberry Buttermilk Muffins