9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe needs all 5 stars! Especially good since we grow our own raspberries. Freezes well, too.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen Poehlman February 06, 2003

My family really enjoyed this. I did make a few minor changes. I used 1/2 tsp each of vanilla and almond extracts and added a crumb topping (sugar, flour, butter) instead of almonds. I also omitted the icing. I'd like to try doubling it as it didn't last very long in a family of five.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Christmas June 29, 2011

Very moist. This is a good coffee cake if you are looking for a coffee cake that is not super sweet. The directions do not specify the amount of sliced almonds to put on the top of the cake. I used 1/3 c. and that covered the top nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon April 20, 2011

So good! I've actually made this twice, the first time with fresh raspberries as called for, and the second time with thawed (and very well drained) frozen blackberries. I also used equal parts vanilla and almond extracts, as I thought that this would be a nice way to enhance the almond flavor. Both times the end result was very tasty and eagerly devoured by my fiance and our guests, although my fiance actually thought that the flavor of the fruit *almost* overwhelmed the rest of the coffee cake (which he declared wonderful on its own). A winner that I will make again. Thanks for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne the Pirate Queen September 29, 2008

I liked it the first day I baked it, but enjoyed it even more the next day. I will make it again soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FunWorld123 June 21, 2008

this is like a cobbler to me its really good i dont think you need the almonds

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. October 25, 2005

This was very yummy. I used blueberries and added some almond extract to the dough. Excellent!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duck_man September 27, 2004

This recipe is from the COOKINGLIGHT website. I have made it before with satisfied results. I think this would have tasted better with some lemon zest and/or juice added to it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mallina Cashew August 12, 2002

This was great! I'll eat raspberries before any other fruit. I have to remember that all-purpose flour in Canada is harder than in the US. I had to make some liquid adjustments but didn't affect the outcome. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dragoness May 21, 2004
Raspberry Almond Coffee Cake