Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ras El Hanout - Moroccan Spice Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ras El Hanout - Moroccan Spice Mix

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2011

      This is an outstanding blend of spices! Aromatic when cooking, and with layers and layers of flavor from sweet to spicy (but not overwhelmingly so) when eating. Have used it twice on Moroccan Tomato Chicken With Couscous; once with chicken as called for, then again braising with lamb. With grilling season starting can't wait to try it as a rub.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Wonderful blend of spices, a perfect blend of sweet and spicy! I love that I can make such a complex spice mix with spices I already have on hand. I have used this in some of your delicious tagines and look forward to trying it as a dry rub for meat as a previous reviewer has suggested. Thanks for posting, I will use this frequently! Made for Spring 2010 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      Can't believe I didn't review this right off the bat the first time I made it. Noticed while making a huge batch for the six children for Christmas ( along with my special kashi pilaf recipe). Anyway this is a fabulous blend for use on lamb, pork , chicken. I like to rub it into lamb shanks and braise slowly for 3 hours or so. Then I pull the meat, add a little more seasoning and incorporate in pilaf finished with a brown butter sauce ( also seasoned with R-E-H) to which I have added scallion, pistachios, garlic and some preserved lemon among other things. My children go wild over this so each is getting a pilaf starter set for Christmas...this spice blend, some pistachios, a box of Kashi and a jar of preserved lemons. Thanks so much for turning me on to Moroccan cuisine !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Thank you for sharing this version of Ras El Hanout, Nasseh. We really enjoyed all the flavors in this spice mix. You could taste all the different spices easily, nothing over powered. Made exactly as written but omitted the cumin as both dh & I both react poorly to it. I used this to make Ras El Hanout Roasted Potatoes #505620 which was wonderful, partially because of your excellent spice mix. Made for Name That Ingredient Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      Great spice blend -- one I will enjoy keeping on hand. Used this mix on Batata Harra With Ras El Hanout tonight and it really added a great depth of flavor to the potatoes. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      This is a great recipe.. the best for Ras El Hanout that I have found. I have been experimenting with it, invited friends over.... and now I am handing out gifts of Ras El Hanout, as they all loooove it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      We used this spice mixture on a whole roasting chicken - and we just loved the flavour it brought to the chicken. Another great thing about the recipe is that the spices needed are generally ones you already have in the spice rack, so easy to mix up in a flash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      This is a very hot spice mix. Although it is a bit too hot for my personal tastes...it does have a lovely flavor. I was surprised that I liked it as much as I did. DH really liked it. Made for ZWT#6 - 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      ZWT6: Excellent, unique combination of spices! We rubbed this on pork chops - YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      A wonderful blend of Middle Eastern spices. I am so pleased to have a supply of ras el hanout on hand. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This is really great! I can't wait to find more ways to use it. I know versions of this can include a list of spices a mile long, so this was just about right...had everything in the pantry already. Thanks for posting! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This is lovely and fragrant as I toasted the cumin and would do the same to the other spices next time. I did not use nutmeg as it is an intoxicant and "Every intoxicant is haram. Something that intoxicates only when consumed in large quantities, is not allowed to be taken even in a lesser quantity." I used white sugar left out the cayenne and cloves out of preference. I can't wait to try this in different recipes. So far I have used this spice mixture in Moroccan Ground Beef Kebab / Skewers which was very delicious! Made for Ramadan Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Great spice mix! Rich and warm and just spicy enough. I used this in your Moroccan Ground Beef Kebab / Skewers and I think it will be great on chicken and pork as well. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Loved the deep, complex aroma that came from this mixture as I blended it together. I used it to make burgers from your kebab recipe, and I am very glad I did. I am also glad I made a lot more -- I used tablespoons for all measurements instead of teaspoons, so now I have this wonderful spice mix in my pantry to use again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      Really a wonderful spice mix. We used last night in Moroccan Ground Beef Kebab / Skewers but love the suggestion to use on chicken which I think I will do later this week. We have an awful lot of spice mix to use up and I'm not exactly sure what to do with it just yet. EDITED TO ADD: I put this rub on a pork roast tonight for Easter dinner and it is out of this world.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      I halved this recipe because I wasn't sure what to expect, but wish I'd doubled it instead. I love the way the flavors blend and present themselves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I used this to rub on some chicken to bake in the oven. The blend of flavors both spicy and sweet were very nice on the chicken. We really enjoyed having a new chicken recipe to try. We will have this again, and I may try it on pork the next time! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe with us Nasseh! Made for Zaar Stars 1/08 Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Such a rich and complex mix! I used this to make Chicken & Lentil Tagine (Lentil & Chicken Tagine). Could be added to many things to add depth and intensity to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      A terrific spice mix! I used it in Moroccan Ground Beef Kebab / Skewers. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This mix is beautifully rich and complex; perfect for so many dishes. My first use was as an ingredient in your Moroccan Ground Beef Kebab / Skewers. Sheer perfection. Thank you, Nasseh, for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ras El Hanout - Moroccan Spice Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (56 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 19.1
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    30%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 583.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites