23 Reviews

Can't believe I didn't review this right off the bat the first time I made it. Noticed while making a huge batch for the six children for Christmas ( along with my special kashi pilaf recipe). Anyway this is a fabulous blend for use on lamb, pork , chicken. I like to rub it into lamb shanks and braise slowly for 3 hours or so. Then I pull the meat, add a little more seasoning and incorporate in pilaf finished with a brown butter sauce ( also seasoned with R-E-H) to which I have added scallion, pistachios, garlic and some preserved lemon among other things. My children go wild over this so each is getting a pilaf starter set for Christmas...this spice blend, some pistachios, a box of Kashi and a jar of preserved lemons. Thanks so much for turning me on to Moroccan cuisine !

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CampChatsworthCook December 17, 2009

This is an outstanding blend of spices! Aromatic when cooking, and with layers and layers of flavor from sweet to spicy (but not overwhelmingly so) when eating. Have used it twice on Moroccan Tomato Chicken With Couscous; once with chicken as called for, then again braising with lamb. With grilling season starting can't wait to try it as a rub.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catte Nappe May 27, 2011

Wonderful blend of spices, a perfect blend of sweet and spicy! I love that I can make such a complex spice mix with spices I already have on hand. I have used this in some of your delicious tagines and look forward to trying it as a dry rub for meat as a previous reviewer has suggested. Thanks for posting, I will use this frequently! Made for Spring 2010 PAC.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway April 04, 2010

Thank you for sharing this version of Ras El Hanout, Nasseh. We really enjoyed all the flavors in this spice mix. You could taste all the different spices easily, nothing over powered. Made exactly as written but omitted the cumin as both dh & I both react poorly to it. I used this to make Ras El Hanout Roasted Potatoes #505620 which was wonderful, partially because of your excellent spice mix. Made for Name That Ingredient Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 20, 2014

Great spice blend -- one I will enjoy keeping on hand. Used this mix on Batata Harra With Ras El Hanout tonight and it really added a great depth of flavor to the potatoes. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry July 22, 2013

This is a great recipe.. the best for Ras El Hanout that I have found. I have been experimenting with it, invited friends over.... and now I am handing out gifts of Ras El Hanout, as they all loooove it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AfricanMama January 22, 2013

We used this spice mixture on a whole roasting chicken - and we just loved the flavour it brought to the chicken. Another great thing about the recipe is that the spices needed are generally ones you already have in the spice rack, so easy to mix up in a flash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini February 14, 2011

This is a very hot spice mix. Although it is a bit too hot for my personal tastes...it does have a lovely flavor. I was surprised that I liked it as much as I did. DH really liked it. Made for ZWT#6 - 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ June 15, 2010

ZWT6: Excellent, unique combination of spices! We rubbed this on pork chops - YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose June 14, 2010

A wonderful blend of Middle Eastern spices. I am so pleased to have a supply of ras el hanout on hand. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy June 13, 2010
Ras El Hanout - Moroccan Spice Mix