9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved this, especially as it relies on things I almost always have. I used my own no-sodium broth, but canned beans as I did not have time to cook from dried, and I felt this needed no additional salt. I did add pepper and a pinch of red pepper flakes. The picky one wanted more seasonings, but I thought it did not need it, although I might try a little Italian seasoning next time. I stirred a little parmesan into the soup, but then garnished it with big flakes of shaved parmesan, which looked pretty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte December 18, 2011

This is very good. I made half as we can never eat all that soup. It was quick and delicous. I like the simplicity of the ingredients. Sometimes I just don't feel like all those spices and flavors competing. It's nice to be able to taste each vegetable's flavor. I did not add the parmessan cheese into the soup because I was serving it with cheddar cheese toast. Thank you for a nice recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 March 29, 2011

This is is so easy and wonderful. I have made this several times over the last couple of months. DH really likes this and requests this often. Although there is only the two of us and this makes a good size pot DH likes to takes the leftovers for lunch the next few days after I make it. The only additions I have made to the recipe is to add Italian spice and additional garlic as we are big fans of lots of garlic. I have added this my winter menus. Thanks for posting. Reviewed for Green Tag month March 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUGARBAKER03 March 17, 2010

Mmmm Mmmm Good, but mucho better than that canned stuff! I halved the meatballs after cooking. That way there was some in every mouthful. I used frozen spinach (if you do, cook soup for 5 minutes more to make sure it is tender) Next time, I think I will try chicken or turkey meatballs. This is a great soup that is destined to become a favourite around my house! Made for Heart Healthy Cooking (Diabetic Forum) Feb'10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet PQ? February 04, 2010

Delicious soup! I used some beef and some chicken broth and this worked well. It was a very pretty soup as well as being tasty! I made to use up some homemade meatballs. This was a quick recipe and one I would even serve to company! I made a half recipe and it made about 4 servings. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 March 25, 2009

I loved this soup. So easy to put together. I used frozen meatballs and regular chopped onions and left out the cheese to lighten it a little. Loved the addition of the spinach. Thanks so much for sharing. I'll make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ December 15, 2007

This is a truly outstanding soup that sooths your soul! We loved this soup, and I'll make it again and again I'm sure. I used homemade chicken broth because it was what I had, I also made homemade meatballs because I had the stuff for them and I wasn't going to the store to buy frozen ones. I ended up just baking them off in the oven until just about done and then adding them to the soup. I also used a box of frozen chopped spinach because I forgot the spinach at the store. I truly loved this soup and I know it will be come a favorite in our rotation. Thank you so much for sharing such a wonderful, delicious recipe with all of us. This was made for Fall Pac 2007.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmxmama October 12, 2007

A very delicious soup that I served with some Italian bread. It is very filling and flavorful! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 March 14, 2007
Rapido Meatball Soup