30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were wonderful cookies. I baked at 325 degrees for 15 minutes. I really flattened the buggers since I like small, darker cookies. Hubby is taking these to work and I know I'll get requests for the recipe. YUM!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty November 09, 2011

Made today. Excellent cookie. Had no trouble keeping the mixture together. Only thing I did differently was add 2 cups mini chocolate chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jorgydee February 20, 2011

I don't know what happens to the rice krispies when you bake the cookies...maybe magic. I'm a chocolate chip cookie person, but this might be my favorite cookie, with or without chips. Definitely, 350 degrees, not 375. Thanks, YungB, for the tip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
radleybobins February 06, 2011

I used to make these all the time then I lost the recipe anf forgot the name. I made a double batch today, split it in 1/2 and added chocolate chips to the second half. They will be thrown in the freezer to take to the lake at the end of the month. Thanks for a great cookie, I won't lose this recipe now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn July 11, 2010

I thought this recipe was great! I followed this recipe exactly for half the batch and added chocolate chunks to the other half. The cookie is great as is and super easy. However it also lends itself well to almost anything you want to throw in it such as chocolate, fruit or I think possibly even nuts. This is one of my new favorite cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackshoe July 10, 2010

These are AWESOME! Just like I wanted! Moist, chewy inside, a nice crispy outside, a perfect blend of everything! It made 80 small cookies for me. I think that a nice addition to this recipe would be a teaspoon of lemon zest. I will try it next time I make these, and I WILL definitely be making these again! My search for the perfect ranger cookie is now over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duck2031205 September 06, 2009

These are very tasty and easy to make. I made them with the kids I babysit and they thought they were great too! We used 1 cup of chocolate chips in place of the coconut and Special K instead of Rice Krispies. Those were the only adjustments we made. We got 51 cookies out of the recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominique353 October 25, 2008

Very easy. I made only two changes one by accident and one by need. I used 1 tsp of baking powder and dropped my oven down to 300 for 15 minutes. They were browning to fast on the outside and still raw at 375. After the drop they came out perfect. Thanks for the wonderful cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana in KS January 24, 2008

I have been on a quest to find the best ranger cookie, and while this doesn't quite get there, it is the closest yet. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg for a bit of flavor, along with some choclate chips, but otherwise followed it as written. My major complaint is that the dough does not hold together well at all after the first dozen are formed. I do not like a dough that won't hold together. I had to really work to get these to stay together enough to bake them off, but once I did, they tasted great. I am going to make these again, but tweek them a bit to try to get the dough to hold together better. If I get better results, I'll change my review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks November 05, 2007
Ranger Cookies