30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The recipe was great. The cookies tasted wonderful and the recipe was clear and easy to follow. Thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy Buehrer September 30, 2002

Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. I baked these at 350 for 12 minutes. Very good and easy. Keeper file

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB August 21, 2009

Very good cookie, thick and chewy! I scaled down the recipe to make a dozen cookies and added chocolate chunks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj March 08, 2011

My family loved these cookies! The only thing I did differently than the recipe is substitute the South's favorite tree nut - pecans - for the rice krispies. Husband asked me NOT to include chocolate chips (I tend to do that a lot!) and these cookies were still - or even more so - delicious. Wonderful anytime cookie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pstrickland August 21, 2014

Delicious cookies just how I remember them when I was a kid. I added heath bits for a little extra crunch as well as chocolate chips for the chocolate lovers. This recipe will always be a staple in my kitchen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley N Madden July 04, 2013

I made these using Cocoa Puffs instead of the plain Rice Krispies because they were on sale. There is no great difference in the taste of cocoa and the regular cereal, mostly the color and a slight chocolate taste. I love my cookies, and this one is really good! I made half a recipe and got about 24 cookies. Make sure to watch the cooking time because these can easily become over cooked. I ate four and put the remainder in the freezer for safe keeping (from myself). Well, these are also great frozen straight out of the freezer! Mmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B April 07, 2013

These cookies are the bomb. Wow, did we enjoy these tasty treats. The first batch I made spread quite a bit and were a little darker; which is perfect because I prefer my cookies crunchy. I made the next few batches softer for the dh and kids, everyone loved these cookies. They were quick and really easy to make, using ingredients that are always in the pantry. Made exactly as written, but I used colored coconut in these treats because I made them on Valentines Day, it worked beautifully in this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe which I will make again. Made for Best of 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 17, 2013

I made a half batch of these cookies and they were delicious! I like them chewy and so under-baked them a bit and they turned out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird January 12, 2013

I make the basic recipe, but omit the rice krispies and add about 3/4 to 1 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder. Add chopped almonds if you wish. You have the best almond joy or mounds cookie ever. My kid's rating. OMG these are the best!. Make extra if you plan on having them for the next day. They truly disappear.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
devons18 July 15, 2012

A new favorite cookie recipe....sooo good! The basic ingredients are so balanced in flavor and lend themselves well to adjusting add-ins, depending on taste.

I omitted the rice cereal; added 2/3 cup mini chocolate chips; reduced the amount of coconut to 2/3 cup; and added 1 cup chopped pecans. I shaped them with a small scoop and then flattened them slightly. Once baked, they didn't overly flatten out like some all-butter recipes do. They were slightly crisp on the edges and moist and chewy on the inside. Like others suggest, I baked them at 350-degrees.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliadjulie April 16, 2012
Ranger Cookies