Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ranger Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ranger Cookies

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2002

      The recipe was great. The cookies tasted wonderful and the recipe was clear and easy to follow. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. I baked these at 350 for 12 minutes. Very good and easy. Keeper file

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Very good cookie, thick and chewy! I scaled down the recipe to make a dozen cookies and added chocolate chunks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2014

      My family loved these cookies! The only thing I did differently than the recipe is substitute the South's favorite tree nut - pecans - for the rice krispies. Husband asked me NOT to include chocolate chips (I tend to do that a lot!) and these cookies were still - or even more so - delicious. Wonderful anytime cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      Delicious cookies just how I remember them when I was a kid. I added heath bits for a little extra crunch as well as chocolate chips for the chocolate lovers. This recipe will always be a staple in my kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      I made these using Cocoa Puffs instead of the plain Rice Krispies because they were on sale. There is no great difference in the taste of cocoa and the regular cereal, mostly the color and a slight chocolate taste. I love my cookies, and this one is really good! I made half a recipe and got about 24 cookies. Make sure to watch the cooking time because these can easily become over cooked. I ate four and put the remainder in the freezer for safe keeping (from myself). Well, these are also great frozen straight out of the freezer! Mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      These cookies are the bomb. Wow, did we enjoy these tasty treats. The first batch I made spread quite a bit and were a little darker; which is perfect because I prefer my cookies crunchy. I made the next few batches softer for the dh and kids, everyone loved these cookies. They were quick and really easy to make, using ingredients that are always in the pantry. Made exactly as written, but I used colored coconut in these treats because I made them on Valentines Day, it worked beautifully in this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe which I will make again. Made for Best of 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      I made a half batch of these cookies and they were delicious! I like them chewy and so under-baked them a bit and they turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      I make the basic recipe, but omit the rice krispies and add about 3/4 to 1 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder. Add chopped almonds if you wish. You have the best almond joy or mounds cookie ever. My kid's rating. OMG these are the best!. Make extra if you plan on having them for the next day. They truly disappear.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      A new favorite cookie recipe....sooo good! The basic ingredients are so balanced in flavor and lend themselves well to adjusting add-ins, depending on taste.

      I omitted the rice cereal; added 2/3 cup mini chocolate chips; reduced the amount of coconut to 2/3 cup; and added 1 cup chopped pecans. I shaped them with a small scoop and then flattened them slightly. Once baked, they didn't overly flatten out like some all-butter recipes do. They were slightly crisp on the edges and moist and chewy on the inside. Like others suggest, I baked them at 350-degrees.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2011

      These were wonderful cookies. I baked at 325 degrees for 15 minutes. I really flattened the buggers since I like small, darker cookies. Hubby is taking these to work and I know I'll get requests for the recipe. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Made today. Excellent cookie. Had no trouble keeping the mixture together. Only thing I did differently was add 2 cups mini chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I don't know what happens to the rice krispies when you bake the cookies...maybe magic. I'm a chocolate chip cookie person, but this might be my favorite cookie, with or without chips. Definitely, 350 degrees, not 375. Thanks, YungB, for the tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I used to make these all the time then I lost the recipe anf forgot the name. I made a double batch today, split it in 1/2 and added chocolate chips to the second half. They will be thrown in the freezer to take to the lake at the end of the month. Thanks for a great cookie, I won't lose this recipe now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I thought this recipe was great! I followed this recipe exactly for half the batch and added chocolate chunks to the other half. The cookie is great as is and super easy. However it also lends itself well to almost anything you want to throw in it such as chocolate, fruit or I think possibly even nuts. This is one of my new favorite cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      These are AWESOME! Just like I wanted! Moist, chewy inside, a nice crispy outside, a perfect blend of everything! It made 80 small cookies for me. I think that a nice addition to this recipe would be a teaspoon of lemon zest. I will try it next time I make these, and I WILL definitely be making these again! My search for the perfect ranger cookie is now over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

    • on October 25, 2008

      These are very tasty and easy to make. I made them with the kids I babysit and they thought they were great too! We used 1 cup of chocolate chips in place of the coconut and Special K instead of Rice Krispies. Those were the only adjustments we made. We got 51 cookies out of the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Very easy. I made only two changes one by accident and one by need. I used 1 tsp of baking powder and dropped my oven down to 300 for 15 minutes. They were browning to fast on the outside and still raw at 375. After the drop they came out perfect. Thanks for the wonderful cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      I have been on a quest to find the best ranger cookie, and while this doesn't quite get there, it is the closest yet. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg for a bit of flavor, along with some choclate chips, but otherwise followed it as written. My major complaint is that the dough does not hold together well at all after the first dozen are formed. I do not like a dough that won't hold together. I had to really work to get these to stay together enough to bake them off, but once I did, they tasted great. I am going to make these again, but tweek them a bit to try to get the dough to hold together better. If I get better results, I'll change my review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ranger Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1314 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1424.2
     
    Calories from Fat 589
    41%
    Total Fat 65.5 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 42.7 g
    213%
    Cholesterol 215.0 mg
    71%
    Sodium 1197.5 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 196.5 g
    65%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 106.9 g
    427%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites