16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are great but I decided to make some changes and it worked for us.They turned out like the canned ranch style beans.I added 2 tsps.cumin,1 smoked ham hock,and a can of enchilada sauce.I think the enchilada sauce did it.Great with cornbread.Thanks,cher

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nesbitt929 November 12, 2007

This was AWESOME! I have tried many of your recipies and they are all so good! I switched the the pinto beans to red kidney and served over rice. They ate the whole pot. Thanks for your amazing recipies.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryann9604_9456560 June 29, 2010

Absolutely wonderful. I tripled the recipe and made them in a 18 quart roaster oven.. The amount fed 60 people. Everyone loved them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgandezign August 17, 2007

I've made this recipe twice. Once I pressure-canned the beans after cooking them, and they have been great - 5-star. The other time I served them immediately after cooking and I thought they were missing something, as if the flavors hadn't had time to blend. I just don't think 30 minutes is enough time for the Rotel to cook with the beans. Since most people won't pressure-can these before serving, I can only give this recipe 4 stars (which still means a good pot of beans!).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply March 20, 2006

these were KILLER. Really, really good. Big hit with the family, and a definite "do-again." The only change that I made was to add a bit of diced ham, because I knew that with this big batch, we'd be eating them for a few days. These beans are strikingly similar to our favorite little Mexican joint's Borracho Beans. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Elissa* July 24, 2005

Very good bean recipe! Definitely a keeper! We ate some plain, some with rice, and froze some for later. Will be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlaskanAmateur August 10, 2013

I will be trying this tomorrow. All of the reviewers think it is great with 'to taste' modifications. However the rater that put 1 pound of weenies in her recipe for 150 people definitely had more beanie than weenie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda13thjd May 06, 2012

Great beans! I made it in a pressure cooker. Soaked the beans overnight, added everything in the cooker but only 2 cups of beef stock and cooked it 15 minutes on high. Released pressure slowly. That's all, no fuss.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare January 30, 2012

My wife and I love different bean soups so I thought I would give these a try. I made these for a family get together, and they loved them. My wife, being a great cook thought they needed some sugar added. She makes Bar B Q beans all the time so I accepted her criticism. Added 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar and it kicked the beans up from very good to assume.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arbuck41 June 26, 2010

To Chef #1409787, REAL Texas chili DOES NOT contain beans.. I've lived in Texas since I was born and know that for a fact. You can look it up on the Internet too. Btw, this recipe sounds great! Gotta try it :) Thnx Just Cher

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmilyStrange June 17, 2010
Ranch-Style Beans (AKA Cowboy beans)