Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ranch-Style Beans (AKA Cowboy beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ranch-Style Beans (AKA Cowboy beans)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2007

      These are great but I decided to make some changes and it worked for us.They turned out like the canned ranch style beans.I added 2 tsps.cumin,1 smoked ham hock,and a can of enchilada sauce.I think the enchilada sauce did it.Great with cornbread.Thanks,cher

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This was AWESOME! I have tried many of your recipies and they are all so good! I switched the the pinto beans to red kidney and served over rice. They ate the whole pot. Thanks for your amazing recipies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful. I tripled the recipe and made them in a 18 quart roaster oven.. The amount fed 60 people. Everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I've made this recipe twice. Once I pressure-canned the beans after cooking them, and they have been great - 5-star. The other time I served them immediately after cooking and I thought they were missing something, as if the flavors hadn't had time to blend. I just don't think 30 minutes is enough time for the Rotel to cook with the beans. Since most people won't pressure-can these before serving, I can only give this recipe 4 stars (which still means a good pot of beans!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2005

      these were KILLER. Really, really good. Big hit with the family, and a definite "do-again." The only change that I made was to add a bit of diced ham, because I knew that with this big batch, we'd be eating them for a few days. These beans are strikingly similar to our favorite little Mexican joint's Borracho Beans. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      Very good bean recipe! Definitely a keeper! We ate some plain, some with rice, and froze some for later. Will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      I will be trying this tomorrow. All of the reviewers think it is great with 'to taste' modifications. However the rater that put 1 pound of weenies in her recipe for 150 people definitely had more beanie than weenie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Great beans! I made it in a pressure cooker. Soaked the beans overnight, added everything in the cooker but only 2 cups of beef stock and cooked it 15 minutes on high. Released pressure slowly. That's all, no fuss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      My wife and I love different bean soups so I thought I would give these a try. I made these for a family get together, and they loved them. My wife, being a great cook thought they needed some sugar added. She makes Bar B Q beans all the time so I accepted her criticism. Added 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar and it kicked the beans up from very good to assume.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      To Chef #1409787, REAL Texas chili DOES NOT contain beans.. I've lived in Texas since I was born and know that for a fact. You can look it up on the Internet too. Btw, this recipe sounds great! Gotta try it :) Thnx Just Cher

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      1st, what ever this recipe is, it's not Ranch Style beans 2nd, "Of course I changed it a bit and the title cause we all Know there are no beans in "chili" Well that statement right there tells me you ain't from Texas, Cause down here we don't make Chilli with out beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      We all really liked this recipe. The only change I made was adding some cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Liked this recipe. I put all the ingredients in the crock pot on low for 5-6 hours and added some liquid smoke. They were really great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      My husband is a vegetarian and loves beans so I'm always on the lookout for new recipes. I have made these beans twice now and we absolutely love them. I made mine with canned beans (I used soy beans and black eyed peas once and soy beans and lentils the second time) I just put them in a pot with their liquids, added the vegetables and spices and let that simmer for 30 minutes. I then added the tomatoes (I used plain tomatoes without the chilis) and let it simmer for another 30 minutes. Yummy and great on rice! This recipe is going in my "keeper" file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      This is a great base recipe for my Beenie Weenies, when I had to cook for 150 people. I spiked it up a bit with BBQ Sauce, 1 TB. Coriander, 1 TB. Mexican Oregano, and 3 dried Chipolte Chilies(soaked and chopped) Then I added a pound of beef Weenies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      Being from New England I most often make a Boston style of baked bean but I must say I LOVED these! I love things with loads of flavor. I did add a bit of chopped pickled jalapeno chili to this when I made it for me though have to omit if my dad is going to be eating it. What a pain as my husband, mother and I like heat! Easily solved by serving some of the hot pepper on the side or hot sauce. In the cookbook already and thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ranch-Style Beans (AKA Cowboy beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (485 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 76.3
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    12%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 587.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes