23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice summer salad and great to take to cookouts. It was very easy to make. I used real bacon bits instead of Bacos and also used grape tomatoes slice in half instead of the roma tomatoes. The flavors were a little more subtle than the Ranch Bacon Pasta Salad that I usually make. Made for 2011 All You Can Cook Buffet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 August 09, 2011

My company loved this salad. I made it with bow tie pasta and left out the bacon and olives (personal choice) and I added cut up rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. I heard words like "awesome" and "fabulous". GREAT RECIPE.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robertasimes July 23, 2010

I gave this recipe 4 stars. I got mixed reviews on this recipe. My hubby thought this was good while my 9 yr old nephew and I thought this was very good. I loved how the onion flavor really came out. I made this as directed except I used whole grain pasta. I opted to use the shredded cheddar as that's what I had on hand but I plan to try this with the chunked cheese. My salad only chilled for 30 minutes so, I felt it needs more ranch and if so I will add more tomorrow. Otherwise I plan to make this again and take to gatherings! Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut May 20, 2012

This was a easy side pasta salad. I used bow tie pasta. I used red onion and skipped the tomatoes. I also added a little bit of feta cheese. Was excellent. Made for Photo Forum "Side Dish Event

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 November 07, 2009

Made this for tomorrow. I know I just made it but it is sooo good. Cant wait to eat more of it tomorrow once all the flavors have set in. I also used spicy Ranch as well. This is my new pasta salad! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonjovi4ever September 06, 2009

I was planning on giving this 3 stars as it stood the night I made this for dinner. While it was good...it was just fine. Not great. Had nice colors and nice flavor but kinda lacked some "oomph". We proceeded to eat the leftovers over the course of the following two days and the salad was actually a bit better...thus the 4 rating. Held it's own and was actually better on day 3 than day 1. I followed the recipe exactly but used my favorite ranch dressing (not fat free), increased the tomatoes and increased the olives. I did not find any need to add water and let it chill for 3 hours the night I made it. It was good...I'm glad I tried it. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl September 23, 2008

mreh. It was OK. I used vidalia onions and a ranch mix with sour cream instead of a bottled dressing. Added cracked black pepper. It was pretty bland. Won't be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veriance August 16, 2008

made this over the week end it was a hit. i used elbow noodles and tossed in some celery. Like another reviewer i think broccoli or cauliflower would add some more great flavor and crunch. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules211 July 08, 2008

I am a pasta salad expert, and have had a very hard time finding one that isn't too rich, or too bland. This one was PERFECT. I omitted the bell pepper and tomato. It was sooo delicious the next day for lunch. Could probably do with some broccoli florets, otherwise, this is probably the best recipe I've found. Thank you for adding it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BabyMama13 May 03, 2008

I love this pasta salad, for a change you could use speghetti noodles as well which provide a great texture, I also add chopped cucumberss, yellow and red bell peppers, and broccoli too. SO GOOD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiny_Toodles December 28, 2007
Ranch Pasta Salad