13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This salad has excellent flavor. I used garden blend Radiatore pasta and it was very colorful. As a personal preference, next time, I think I will cut the bacon bits in half because I felt that they made the salad very salty. We use very little salt in anything, if at all. Also, as in the other review, I do think I will add either red onion or some scallions, again as a personal preference. I did dice the tomatoes to about the same size as the pasta and quartered the cucumber slices (easy to do with the cusinart) so the salad was all very uniform in bite size pieces. I also want to try it with the cheese that your husband favors. Thanks for posting Misty...this is a keeper in our household. Actually I made it to take to a cookout that got cancelled. Their loss!! Our gain!! LOL!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tweeky July 25, 2002

This was sooooo good, what great taste. The bacon bits just added so much flavor. I took this to a pig roast tonight and as you know this makes a ton and there was none left. I will be making this again soon!! THANKS!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH July 28, 2002

Made this tonight and it was so good. I made it with light Hellmans and a little sour cream. Didn't have any bacon bits, so added some peppers and onions. Thanks for a great pasta salad Misty!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in NH May 29, 2002

Very good! I did only use one tomato and about half a cucumber because my family does not like veggies so I can only sneak in a few. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coastiehoney October 14, 2009

One of my favorites. I make this all the time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bkozma June 27, 2009

This is an awesome recipe! I added a few sliced black olives. It was a hit at the bunco party!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
di-0215 October 18, 2008

This was really awesome! Thanks for a great recipe. I made it as is and was family approved on the first bite! The only thing that would improve this is fresh veggies from my garden instead of the store!:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 April 22, 2008

I made a few changes when I made this. Since it was just me eating on it for a couple of days, I halved the recipe. I also cut way back on the bacon bits, but still had that nice flavor they add. Had some sliced water chestnuts left over from the night before and sprinkled on some shredded cheddar. It definitely tasted better than the boxed ranch pasta salads - will be making it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misa January 27, 2008

I made this for my daughter's baby shower and I really loved it. Nobody raved about it but I had it for breakfast the next morning because I was craving it all night. Instead of bacon bits I fried up about 3/4 lb of bacon and chopped it. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy!! October 22, 2007

I made this with whole wheat elbow macaroni and fat free mayo. I was out of bacon bits but added some cooked peas and onion powder. Yum-oh.... a great summer time recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef RZ Fan June 03, 2007
Ranch Pasta Salad